Thread: Problem with Lightwave work disappearing...

Problem with Lightwave work disappearing...

Hello, everyone.

I am new these forums, and am not very tech savvy when it comes to 3D, but I have been using Lightwave for about 3 years- so hopefully someone can help me with my problem. ;-)

Has this ever happened to anyone?
    Once in a while-- I will be working on a character model in Lightwave for about 3 or 4 hours in a sitting, and in that sitting I will have hit shift + S saving increments all the way up to version .005 or so and then close it. Then, I come back to it later (like the next day) and all of those versions from that sitting have disappeared! The only thing that exists is a version from the prior sitting from the day before.

And it gets weirder--
    Recently when this happened, it was a model that I was building using an imported .OBJ character as reference cut up into sections put into different layers, in between my actual LW work layers.

Once again-- saved incremental to about version .003 and closed it. A couple of weeks later, I re-open it and all of my LW work is GONE. The only thing left is the .OBJ reference layers, with blank layers in between where all of my LW work was. In all 3 files increments!

Anyone have any ideas?

Chris Scalf

Could it be saving in a different directory? Have you done a search for it?

I've never had that happen in all my years of using LW.
    UI / UX Designer @ NewTek

Yeah... I did the whole "search for .lwo" files thinking that was (hopefully) it. But nope.

My theory is that it is not the LW, but the machine.

Is it saving the file extension? This hasn't happened in a while, but occasionally I used to get that problem, it would save it as "fileX' rather than "fileX.lwo"
    shrox www.shrox.com
    -----------------------
    Heavy Metal Landing

-----------------------
    I build the best spaceships, the biggest spaceships, they're great, you'll love them.