Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: non-additive light?

  1. #1

    non-additive light?

    is there any way to make a non-additive light?
    or maybe there is a plugin?

    i'm trying to achive the effect to the right of this picture...

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	light.jpg 
Views:	292 
Size:	38.9 KB 
ID:	78076  
    Last edited by erikals; 10-06-2009 at 02:57 AM.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  2. #2
    obfuscated SDK hacker Lightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,585
    The lighting itself is computed within the shading, so you'd need a special shader as opposed to a special light.

    Basically, instead of adding all lighting, only use the maximum.

    Do you need it for a whole scene or just for a single surface with a specific set of lights?

    Cheers,
    Mike

  3. #3
    true, it more about the shading i guess, would've been nice to just add a light though.
    simple...

    i didn't quite understand... "Basically, instead of adding all lighting, only use the maximum."

    usually for this i only need 1 surface that is affected.

    i'm trying to use this for a non-GI sss trick i will post in the "Radiosity, animated" thread
    http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthr...=98861&page=28
    getting closer, but not quite there just yet...
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  4. #4
    obfuscated SDK hacker Lightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,585
    Quote Originally Posted by erikals View Post
    true, it more about the shading i guess, would've been nice to just add a light though.
    simple...

    i didn't quite understand... "Basically, instead of adding all lighting, only use the maximum."
    The former is what the shaders do internally, the later is how you'd like to see them behave.
    Quote Originally Posted by erikals View Post
    usually for this i only need 1 surface that is affected.
    Using how many lights?

    Cheers,
    Mike

  5. #5
    ...3 lights should do i think,
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  6. #6
    obfuscated SDK hacker Lightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,585
    Quote Originally Posted by erikals View Post
    ...3 lights should do i think,
    In that case... use three single light illumination nodes from the db&w tools, one per light, run the results through a colour to scalar, then max them together and use the result to modify your plain surface colour.

    I just checked, unfortunately there is no max node for vectors or colours

    Cheers,
    Mike

  7. #7
    LightWave Engineer Jarno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    597
    Or fake it with a single spotlight with a mask in front of it?

    ---JvdL---

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Jarno View Post
    Or fake it with a single spotlight with a mask in front of it?

    ---JvdL---
    nah, the problem is GI is too slow using SSS (unless it's Sigma2)
    http://www.newtek.com/forums/attachm...4&d=1254816678
    so i simply exclude the GI from the SSS sphere...
    however that creates zero light in the shadow, looking unreal

    -------

    so now, i add a second light, good, but it also adds light while it's in the light, making it look funny...
    hm, think i have an idea, adding a 3rd light... and excluding objects...
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  9. #9
    nope, can't this to work.

    there might be a way using nodes, maybe Gerardo would know...
    it would probably have to be some sort of buffer node... or difference node, if such exists...

    hmm,...
    http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=71751
    http://imagic.ddgenvivo.tv/forums/PFconfig.png
    Last edited by erikals; 10-10-2009 at 11:51 PM.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  10. #10
    Super Member gordonrobb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,323
    Or render each seperately, then comp them in Photoshop with a layer blending type that does what you want.

  11. #11
    ...yes, i kinda thought about it, but no blending type works... (tested all)

    ...but even if i did, it would in this case, as i'm rendering sss, make previewing the sss very tricky, going back and forth between PS - LW to see the effect.

    so, a good idea, but i'm finding it tricky at the moment.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  12. #12
    Dance Commander WCameron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wilmington MA
    Posts
    546
    I think the old Lume somethingorother from Dynamic Realities did this sort of thing. maybe G2 can?

    - Will.
    "All those with Psychokinesis, raise my hand."
    - The Doctor.
    The Room With No Doors
    by Kate Orman.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •