Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: retopologize for LW - 3d-Coat or ZBrush?

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    989

    retopologize for LW - 3d-Coat or ZBrush?

    I saw discussion on bringing complex models from Poser and other sources into LW where 3D-Coat was mentioned as a very good solution.

    I notice that ZBrush also has retopologize capabilities.

    Which makes it easier to do this?

    If you had to choose one and price were not a consideration, which would you choose (keeping in mind the other features that would be useful when working with LW)?

  2. #2
    Super Member Silkrooster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern New York
    Posts
    5,254
    To be honest (and that is with my limited knowledge) I would say that 3d-coat is the best for that at the moment. But Zbrush 3.5 and 4 will be coming out soon. The best part of Zbrush is once you buy in so far you don't have to pay for any upgrades. But how long that lasts, who knows.
    Silkrooster.com - temporarily offline due to updating...
    Spinquad Forum - Closed Sorry...
    lightwave-resources.pdf - - temporarily offline due to updating...

  3. #3
    Super Member SplineGod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Hastings, New Zealand
    Posts
    7,731
    Then again I bought 3dcoat originally for 75 bucks and have only very recently had to pay a modest upgrade.
    Sensei has a LW plugin thats 50 bucks that allows you to retopo meshes in LW.

  4. #4
    Registered User borkus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    augusta, me
    Posts
    675
    The Zbrush option wasn't very helpful to me. It is there, and some say they like it. But, I found it to be a lot of work and not very intuitive.

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    989
    I spoke to zBrush pre-sales, and they said:

    draw major poly loops on model with poly paint, then go into retopologize.

    Might take a few hours for a detailed model.

    Do you still have to do a lot of work by hand in 3d-Coat?

    BTW - I could not believe zBrush's copy protection. Currently will NOT work with a RAID, and newer version coming out won't work with swapping out internal drives on MacPro (not the boot drive) - which I often swap out to a safety deposit box (without de-activating, and re-activating). What a bloody pain!

    How is 3d-Coats protection, is it workable? Why can't they just be like Apple where FCS3 ($1000) has just a serial number? I dislike being treated like a criminal.

  6. #6
    Unregistered Guest Sarford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    1,187
    If its just for retopology and some basic sculpting you might wanna take a look at Silo, it has both and is (in my opinion) the sleekest modeler around.
    And it just has a serial number for protection, no online activation skemes. You are alowed to install it on 5 computers and it runs on Mac and PC.

    http://www.nevercenter.com

    It has some minor bugs (which software hasn't) but no real showstoppers and there is rumour that there might be a bugfix in the works after all.
    MacBook Pro quad core 2,6Ghz, 8Gb ram
    Mac Pro dual Intel quad core 2.8 Ghz, 8Gb ram, Quadro 4000

    my website and 2011 showreel
    http://www.simonglas.net

  7. #7
    Registered User Rayek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,443
    If you do not want to spend any money, you could try Blender's retopology tools...

    http://www.cgcookie.com/articles/200...s-with-blender

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    989
    Rayek - Price is really not that much of a consideration.

    I'm really just after the best solution. I'd like to learn just one program, if I can get away with it. I own so many different pieces of software, and only have so much time.

    I was thinking that zBrush could be used to actually create things, whereas 3d-Coat seems to excel in what I'd need it for at the moment.

    But, as I get more into graphics, the rabbit hole just gets deeper, and I find I need more tools for things I didn't really know existed (I'm still trying to get my head around 'retopologize' even after watching a few videos on it from zBrush and 3d-Coat).

    I'm just not sure how many different interfaces I can become even slightly proficient in, there has to be a limit?

  9. #9
    Registered User Rayek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,443
    True, the more you delve in 3d modeling/animation, the more software 'gems' are to be discovered. I started creating simple models/animations of space ships in Sculpt 3d (Amiga, long LONG time ago) and now use a veritable library of tools to get the job done. At the moment I use Lightwave, Cinema4d 8.5 and Blender. And at times Hexagon. Not to mention 3d Coat; I am getting into that myself at the moment.

    I really like 3d coat - just make sure you have a CUDA supported video card and a fast 64 bit system: on my OC'd 3.6ghz I7 920 and gtx 280 the voxel sculpting mode flies; it's loads of fun and almost too easy to work in. Being a Wacom user, I have to say 3d Coat adds some brilliant small interface touches - such as rotating the view when you click in an empty spot in the view and easy brush control.

    I tried getting to grips with zbrush for a while, but personally found it extremely 'irksome', to say the very least. 3d Coat was a breath of fresh air in that regard, with me up and running in an hour. The one thing I feel is missing in 3d Coat is diffusion channel support. That's the main reason why I still use BodyPaint for texture painting - more material channel control.

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    989
    Rayek - hmmm. Unfortunately with 3D-Coat, you can't have both Mac & PC licensing.

    I'll be running on an 8 Core Mac Pro with an ATI Radeon 3870 HD.

    If I can ever get boot camp working, I guess I'll have to decide which platform to go with, OS X or PC?

    The positive support on 3D-Coat is moving me in that direction.

  11. #11
    Registered User Rayek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    1,443
    Your mac is more than enough for 3d coat. CUDA is not required; I may have overstated its importance (it does really speed up sculpting, though!).

    Yes, support is amazing.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •