Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Broken link at newtek.com

  1. #1
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    1

    Broken link at newtek.com

    Hi there...just in case anybody cares, there is a broken link on your site that is very annoying. It is at http://www.newtek.com/products/lightwave/tutorials/. In speaking with a few people at a recent SIGGRAPH meeting, I'm not the first to run across it and people do notice (read that as it reflects in a negative way).

    Cheers,
    Frank

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    4,146
    Not sure where that link is but it should be
    http://www.newtek.com/lightwave/tutorials.php
    (no "/products/")

    http://www.newtek.com/lightwave/24hours_training.php
    is another page that works.

    but if they have that link posted somewhere they need to fix it or put in a re-direct.

  3. #3
    Modo User Marvin Miller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Everywhere
    Posts
    424
    How did you get to that link?

    (I have already informed our web master about it, but he needs to know where that link is found.)
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

  4. #4
    Can you tell me where you found that link please.

    As long as I have been here, I have not seen the ...com/products/ in our URL. HOWEVER.. we do have one in ftp.newtek.com/products/

    Maybe there is a mistake wherever this resides.

    thanks
    Andrew with a [B]Y[/B]
    Senior Creative Artist, Marketing
    [url]http://www.newtek.com[/url]
    Skype: denali5x
    ----
    [URL="http://www.greenkiwi.co.nz/footprints/mongolia/ghengis_history.htm"]Genghis Khan[/URL]

  5. #5
    NewTek Social Media Chuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    6,399
    Andrew, I don't find that link anywhere on our own pages, either. I can't even remember how long ago, but the site did used to path out from the root to /Products/lightwave, etc.

    Perhaps this obsolete link is actually posted at other sites and still being passed around, and the request is for us to account for that rather than to expect all those links out there to be corrected by their respective hosts. I'm not sure how practical that is.
    Chuck Baker
    Senior Manager of Communications
    NewTek, Inc., Vizrt Group
    NewTek.com
    LightWave3D.com
    NewTek USA Facebook
    Twitter
    LinkedIn
    Software Developer's Dilemma: The better the new feature, the more feature requests it will generate. - C. Baker
    Please note that any statements regarding future product development are forward looking and subject to change without notice.

  6. #6
    Heffalump
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Away
    Posts
    3,897
    Shoving that URL into Google shows lots of links dating from the LW6 era and seem to extend into LW8 material
    Inactive.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    4,146
    could you put in a redirect from that address to the proper one to make up for the outsourced/outdated info? So anyone using an old link gets bounced to the new page?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •