Thread: refraction of light problem

Question refraction of light problem

Hi,

I'm a relative newbie to lightwave and need a little help with light refraction problem. It seems I teach optics and am trying to illustrate light passing through a thin lens and being focused. While using a spotlight to pass through the lens object I notice that the light beam itself does not bend or come to a focal point at
    a set distance as it should. I've tried this with a volumetric light source as well as a non volumetric source. Neither brings the parallel beam to a focus as it should. Any tutorials out there or help? I do have render options refraction turned on, as well as raytrace and background on the surfaces. Help!

Mitch Loftin

Newbie Member
    To get the focus effect turn on set the refraction indexof the surface, enable ray trace refraction, and on the global illumination panel, my must enable caustics.

In order to get an accurite refraction, you have to take into account for the refractivity of the object, as well as the air between the viewer and the caustic focus... this can get a bit complicated, and there are a bunch of tutorials on this, or you can just pump the refractive index of the lens... I'd try starting at 2 or so.
    They killed Kenny!

thank you - I'll try that

Thanks for taking the time. Any guidance as to where these tutorials might be found?

Try the mother of all Lightwave... Flay.com... search for glass under the modeling or texturing tutorials...

Here's 2:

Jack Daniel's bottle

Southern Comfort bottle

Newbie Member
    There is a refractive index chart in the manual, but as I said, unless you go for the more complex method, including the "air polys" it doesn't yield a good looking result. Like I said I usually just play with the value until I get the result I want to see.