Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 140

Thread: Dear Newtek, where's 9.6.1?

  1. #46
    Super Member jburford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Frankfurt
    Posts
    908
    Personal attacks removed - user sent to the sad corner for 7 days.
    Last edited by Paul Lara; 05-08-2009 at 01:01 PM.

  2. #47
    Registered User Kuzey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    5,262
    Personal attacks removed - user sent to the sad corner for 7 days.

  3. #48
    Pancakes! IMI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Right Here
    Posts
    7,124
    Quote Originally Posted by jburford View Post


    perhaps i wait first at my plate for days while my diaper fills. . . ..
    I wouldn't recommend that, but if you feel it's necessary, go for it.

    ************************************************** ************

    I would like to second Kuzey's reply.

  4. #49
    Registered User adamredwoods's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    2,030
    Please do not feed the trolls.
    // To draw is to think and discover.

  5. #50
    Not doing nothing.... Tranimatronic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Posts
    496
    Quote Originally Posted by Kuzey View Post
    the announcement also said the Core Members will be the first to get their hands on the Cocoa version Yes...they get to use the Cocoa version first, but how long would it take for it to trickle down to non Core members...a month...3 months...a year...
    Kuzey
    Core members will be the first to get their hands on a Cocoa version of Core. Non core members will not get a cocoa version of core because they havent paid for it. Current version of Lightwave was not written in Cocoa therefore doesnt exist. You want a Cocoa version you buy Core.

    Or am I totally missing the point ??

  6. #51
    Quote Originally Posted by Tranimatronic View Post
    Core members will be the first to get their hands on a Cocoa version of Core. Non core members will not get a cocoa version of core because they havent paid for it. Current version of Lightwave was not written in Cocoa therefore doesnt exist. You want a Cocoa version you buy Core.

    Or am I totally missing the point ??
    Where he says 'cocoa' he means 9.6 cocoa.
    There'll be only one version of core anyway -
    Confirmed -
    No Weapons of Mass Destruction
    or links to Al Queda or 9/11. (Sep. 2003)

  7. #52
    President, 3D Product Division
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    2,438
    Quote Originally Posted by Kuzey View Post
    Well, I have a different experiences on that matter. One that was reported fixed twice but wasn't until a sample scene was supplied...which is fine.

    Kuzey
    Yes, and I hope you understand why that is. Without content that explicity illustrates the issue, the report is up to interpretation. Many times, bugs can exhibit themselves in a variety of ways. The engineer fixes the case that they encounter following the report, but that may not yield all cases of the actual bug. Content really helps to rectify this.

    In some cases, bugs can be hard to kill even with content. This occurs when the system config is so unique, or the user neglects to say that a third party app or plug in was involved (likely because the reporter did not understand the impact that such had on the actual bug.)

    Note that each time you resubmitted the bug, headway was made, but not actually resolved until you submitted the actual content...
    Jay Roth
    NewTek
    www.lightwave3d.com
    http://twitter.com/jaymroth

    "Everything I write is forward looking -- specifications are subject to change without notice..."

  8. #53
    Not doing nothing.... Tranimatronic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Posts
    496
    Quote Originally Posted by toby View Post
    Where he says 'cocoa' he means 9.6 cocoa.
    There'll be only one version of core anyway -
    www.newtek.com/core
    "LightWave CORE™ is multi-platform. LightWave CORE™ operates under all modern Windows flavors, from XP to 7, from 32 to 64. LightWave CORE™ is also a Macintosh COCOA application, and last, but certainly not least, Linux."


    If you have a look there are currently FOUR versions of Core.

    Macintosh COCOA applications do not run under windows. It will have to be its own version. Windows 32 and 64 bit applications will be different versions. To get a Cocoa version of lightwave9.6 you would have to totally re-write lightwave from the ground up. Sound familiar ?
    Last edited by Tranimatronic; 05-08-2009 at 02:26 PM. Reason: update

  9. #54
    Quote Originally Posted by Tranimatronic View Post
    www.newtek.com/core
    "LightWave CORE™ is multi-platform. LightWave CORE™ operates under all modern Windows flavors, from XP to 7, from 32 to 64. LightWave CORE™ is also a Macintosh COCOA application, and last, but certainly not least, Linux."

    Macintosh COCOA applications do not run under windows. It will have to be its own version. Windows 32 and 64 bit applications will be different versions. To get a Cocoa version of lightwave9.6 you would have to totally re-write lightwave from the ground up. Sound familiar ?
    Wow, relax, I meant there'll be only one version of Mac core, and that's the cocoa version. Kuzey was talking about 9.6 cocoa.

    http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=98479
    Confirmed -
    No Weapons of Mass Destruction
    or links to Al Queda or 9/11. (Sep. 2003)

  10. #55
    Not doing nothing.... Tranimatronic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Posts
    496

    Doh !!

    okay i get what you meant now..... sorry !!

  11. #56
    Super Member JonW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    2,235
    I have found 9.6 Modeler crashes a lot more than 9.5, using XP64 on E5450 V8, But only my Mac is connected to the internet.

  12. #57
    Super Member Captain Obvious's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4,502
    Dear NewTek,
    Please stop calling it "COCOA." It's not an acronym.

    kthnx
    Are my spline guides showing?

  13. #58
    Not doing nothing.... Tranimatronic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Posts
    496
    Quote Originally Posted by Captain Obvious View Post
    Dear NewTek,
    Please stop calling it "COCOA." It's not an acronym.

    kthnx
    maybe theyre SHOUTING ?

  14. #59
    Super Member Silkrooster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern New York
    Posts
    5,254
    Quote Originally Posted by Captain Obvious View Post
    Dear NewTek,
    Please stop calling it "COCOA." It's not an acronym.

    kthnx
    Am I misunderstanding you?

    http://developer.apple.com/iphone/li...02974-CH3-SW16
    Silkrooster.com - temporarily offline due to updating...
    Spinquad Forum - Closed Sorry...
    lightwave-resources.pdf - - temporarily offline due to updating...

  15. #60
    Not doing nothing.... Tranimatronic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Posts
    496
    Cocoa not COCOA

Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •