Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 24 of 24

Thread: Recording on Tricaster -> edit on Final Cut Pro

  1. #16
    Toasting since 1990 edmellnik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Portland Oregon
    Posts
    634

    High Profile to MOV

    No unfortunatly the renderless wrap I find totally uselelss.

    I am talking about a script written by someone here on the forum that
    works with HIGh profile 422 and wraps them into .mov EXCAM

    Ed
    Toasting since 1990
    Tricaster 855 Owner

  2. #17
    Live Streaming pdxJoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    172
    Hey Ed,

    Here is the script: http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=111499

    This has been working great for my FCP editing needs. (Not tested on FCP X).

    Joe
    Blaze Streaming Media
    www.blazestreaming.com

  3. #18
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,333
    I'll 2nd what Joe wrote
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  4. #19
    Toasting since 1990 edmellnik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Portland Oregon
    Posts
    634

    Only works on Intel machines

    Well Darn.
    Looks like it only works on Intel Macs.
    I am still on Quad G5 machines.

    Ed
    Toasting since 1990
    Tricaster 855 Owner

  5. #20
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,333
    And you said you tried export media on the 850 and chose application, FCP and OK and the file was no good for you?
    This is in the Media menu after you are in a session by the way. It writes a MJPEG .MOV file which works well. I personally prefer the Apple Script for Intel Mac's but I have used the export media to FCP application and it does work.
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  6. #21
    Toasting since 1990 edmellnik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Portland Oregon
    Posts
    634

    renderless

    Interestting. I tried every imaginable way to get files into fcp and they all look like garbage.
    Toasting since 1990
    Tricaster 855 Owner

  7. #22
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,333
    Did you try the export media from the Manage Media menu? Its Live, Graphics, Media and Edit. You want Media then export media.
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  8. #23
    Video Producer, So Calif.
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    200
    Have you tried running your TC files through MPEG StreamClip and converting them? While I use the aforementioned scrip now, I used MPEG StreamClip for a long time to cross-convert for FCP with great success. It's a must-have tool for many uses!
    www.TakeOneDigital.com
    Live webcasting from concept to broadcast * OC/LA/San Diego and Nationwide
    TC's: 300, 455, 460, Mini
    Cams: Sony PXW-X200, Pany HE-120 PTZ
    Cxns: HD-SDI over coax and fiber

  9. #24
    Registered User bbailey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Odessa, Texas
    Posts
    499
    I do quite a lot of multi-cam work with my Tricaster Broadcast and, like you, I edit in Final Cut. Last year I bought an AJA KI PRO. The beauty is that I can record a full football game in SD, outputting from the TCB to the SDI input of the KI PRO and can get several games on a single drive. I also record in the TCB as a backup.

    All I have to do is pop out the AJA drive and connect it to my FCP computer, in this case an Intel Mac, and start editing. No fuss, no muss.

    The other cool thing is that when using my XD300 I can record HD with the Tricaster SDI out to the KI PRO SDI in and the AJA recognizes the format change and automatically switches to HD. Again, I pop out the AJA drive and connect it to my Mac and start editing.

    About that backup recording...One game I powered down the KI Pro improperly and fouled the Pro Res file. When I tried to open it in FCP it said it was an unrecognized file. I had some time so I just re-patched the KI PRO to receive audio from the Tricaster (the SDI was already connected from before) and played out the game while the KI PRO re-recorded it in real time. Once done, I poped the drive and connected to my Mac and edited the show.

    The KI PRO records in Apple Pro Res native to FCP. It's really a great solution.

    I really love my Tricasters!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •