Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Now Time to Try VT[5] on 64-bit Vista?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,301

    Now Time to Try VT[5] on 64-bit Vista?

    If any brave soul has success with VT[5] on the 64- bit version of Vista OS, we'd sure like to hear how you're faring, and how you pulled it off!



    To date, NewTek indicates VT[5] is OK with 64-bit Win XP, not 64-bit Vista. If that's changed, would love to hear some particulars. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Editor Audio/Video ottis41's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Royal Oak MI
    Posts
    114
    I am trying it tonight, but think i will dual boot the system one woth 64bit vista and another partician with 32 bit. will keep you posted
    EZ dose it, but do it!


    GSC
    N-Media.net

  3. #3
    Registered User ted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    4,216
    Quiet, sorry for not responding sooner. Must have scanned too quick one day and then it's deep down the list.

    Yup, we've been running VT-SE on Vista 64 for a long time now. No problems other than one day everything went poof! Computer was acting retarded. After a week of failing to diagnose a specific problem we found UAC somehow got turned back on???
    We're confident that wasn't the problem but something got messed up that we somehow fixed. UAC got turned on by the fix. Then VT needed to have UAC off and that added another day to our confusion.

    Other then that one PC incident we've been really pleased with our performance.
    Sorry for ignoring you.
    Ted R. Ruiz Sr.
    Ad-Venture Video Productions
    Elite NewTek Dealer
    www.editbay.tv
    TriCasters, Most All Models
    Cameras-Mostly HVX 200's

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,301
    Quote Originally Posted by ted View Post
    Yup, we've been running VT-SE on Vista 64 for a long time now. No problems other than one day everything went poof!
    Sorry for ignoring you.
    Naw, never thought for a second that I was being ignored. I'm glad you got your system back, with User Account Control turned back "OFF"; and that you're enjoying VT[5] on a 64 bit version of Vista.

    Now, for two queries, relating to that:
    1. Which version of Vista 64: is it Ultimate 64, or Home Premium 64?
    2. Are you running VT[5] in the x86 mode of Vista 64, right (certainly, you don't have a way to run VT in the 64-bit mode, do you?
    3. If the answer to "2" is Yes, you're running in 64-bit mode, what must one do to permit that??

    Curiously grateful for any replies, and whenever you can get around to it.

  5. #5
    Registered User ted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    4,216
    Vista Ultimate 64.
    Almost certain installed in the x86 side.
    At least it didn't take a month to get back to you this time!
    Ted R. Ruiz Sr.
    Ad-Venture Video Productions
    Elite NewTek Dealer
    www.editbay.tv
    TriCasters, Most All Models
    Cameras-Mostly HVX 200's

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Jackson, MS
    Posts
    18

    VT5.2b with XP64

    We have been running VT5.2b on a HP8600 with XP64 Pro. The only problem is that the streaming option will NOT work. We made sure that Newtek blessed this system before we built it however, Newtek can't seem to figure out why streaming can't be made to work. The system is a screaming system however. Just wish all of the other things like the LC-11 worked as advertised.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,301
    Dennis, what aspect of LC-11 is currently problematic, when using it with XP-64 (or with your system in particular, at least)?

  8. #8
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,649
    Quote Originally Posted by Dennis O'Neal View Post
    Just wish all of the other things like the LC-11 worked as advertised.
    Drum roll, please ..............
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •