Thread: Compositing

Newbie Member

Compositing

Hello

I am new to lightwave and wanted to know if i can do blue/green compositing in Lightwave.

Sinner Saved by Grace Larry_g1s's Avatar
    I'm not sure, but check out the composting videos in the training center: http://www.newtek.com/lightwave/24hours_training.php
    Larry Vasquez | Genesis One Studios | company showreel

Someday, I will be a CG animator (student at iAnimate.net).

Lightwave does very basic green screen removal. Just for lining up objects. You will still want to export your animations with an alpa channel and do final compositing in something like After Effects, Fusion, Nuke, Shake, etc.

Quote Originally Posted by rohan1020 View Post
    Hello

I am new to lightwave and wanted to know if i can do blue/green compositing in Lightwave.
    You're going to want something like After Effects, Combustion or Shake for that sort of task or a good video editor like Premier Pro, Sony Vegas or Final Cut. Reason being that pulling good keys takes a variety of tools, including a keyer. It's not just a one step process. You first get as good a key as you can, then use color spill suppression, and choke/edge matte tools on top of that. You won't find these kinds of tools in a 3D package (except XSI has a good compositor added, and it may have some of these tools)...it's way beyond it's scope.

Also, it would be helpful, if you're new to green-screening, to learn some techniques that will help during the actual setup and filming (such as keeping a decent bit of distance from the green screen material, otherwise there will be a good deal of green-colored secondary light bounces reflected onto the subject...it can make it hard or impossible to get a professional looking key when that happens). Getting a decent amount of resolution helps considerably.
    Last edited by AbnRanger; 03-20-2009 at 04:22 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by realgray View Post