Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: visualization problem

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Catanzaro
    Posts
    6

    visualization problem

    hi i've some visualization problem,

    first: Modeler show my object with many multi color lines and nothing is select.

    second: sometimes Lightwave go crazy like in my second picture

    i've already reinstall the drivers of my graphic board (nvidia quadro fx 4500)

    some idea? thanx
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Cattura.JPG 
Views:	627 
Size:	102.3 KB 
ID:	70222   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Cattura2.JPG 
Views:	650 
Size:	69.9 KB 
ID:	70223  

  2. #2
    Newbie Member FredyN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Bratislava / SLOVAKIA
    Posts
    92
    1. in Modeler/Refine/Polygon/Sketch color

    2. if it Layout render corect, maybe a fault of Modeler

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Catanzaro
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by FredyN View Post
    1. in Modeler/Refine/Polygon/Sketch color

    2. if it Layout render corect, maybe a fault of Modeler


    thanx FredyN, now it 's ok , some ideas about my second problem?


  4. #4
    Looks like you have a broken Ngon somewhere, probably one of the one's which you cut the door threshold right near the floor. I suggest one at a time, you select each ngon then triple it (shift t) and merge it back again (shift z). Also open the polygon statistics panels (w) and check to see if there's any 2 point polygons, if there are (remember polygon mode) hit the little + sign next to them to select them, and delete. LWcad has an automated tool which actually does that, which is quite cool

    To try and and keep from getting more errors in ngons, you should always try and keep ngons without a 'hole' in them. Cut the polygon in half, so that it's just 2 irregular ngons, rather than one with a hole in it!

    Oh and also check for any 2 poly points, if you've been doing booleans. Go to point mode, hit statistics (w) and see if there are any 1 or 2 point one's.. Select them, and if they are in the middle of a edge (not on a corner of a loose edge, which is perfectly normal them) then you can delete them safely, and that should help with some polygon anomalies!

  5. #5
    Newbie Member FredyN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Bratislava / SLOVAKIA
    Posts
    92
    for the second problem:
    in Modeler / Display options (d) an try GL settings - Buffered, Legasy,...

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by CROMO3D View Post
    sometimes Lightwave go crazy like in my second picture
    I get this regularly in modeler with the newer Open GL implementation. It gets very annoying sometimes.
    Threadripper 2990WX, X399 MSI MEG Creation, 64GB 2400Mhz RAM, GTX 1070 Ti 8GB

    https://www.dynamicrenderings.com/

  7. #7
    Member pming's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Whitehorse, Yukon Territory, Canada
    Posts
    204
    Hiya.

    Just got LW on the 25th, and I can also confirm the 'second picture' problem. I get it when I switch layer views more than twice (like, say, when holding Shift to view 4 layers together; Shift, Click, Click, Click, Click). But for me, it's like a model's wireframe will get 'blown apart and then crumpled back together like a piece of paper'. (sorry, no screen shot).

    I figured it was an OpenGL problem because I'm using an ATI card (Radeon HD 4850). What kind/brand of card do you have, CHROMO3D?

    ^_^

    Paul L. Ming

  8. #8
    Same problem here! But it's only with .obj objects, with more than 250k polygons. (I know, 'big deal', but I'm doing lighting challenges from cg talk, and they're all hi-res and coverted from maya, which means obj.)
    I have an ATI card too (on a mac). If I switch to flat shade it goes away, but smooth shade and texture are useless.
    Confirmed -
    No Weapons of Mass Destruction
    or links to Al Queda or 9/11. (Sep. 2003)

  9. #9
    Correction, I get the display errors with any geometry, native or not, with over 300,000 polys.
    Confirmed -
    No Weapons of Mass Destruction
    or links to Al Queda or 9/11. (Sep. 2003)

  10. #10
    Member pming's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Whitehorse, Yukon Territory, Canada
    Posts
    204
    Hiya.

    I just imported a subdivided "demosoldier" from ZBrush (as .obj) that had just under 521k poly's. I didn't have any problems. Mind you, I did only rotate/zoom/move around (in 4-panel and single-panel), with Wireframe, Textured and Textrued-Wireframe. I even used point and poly selection and a Smoothshift + Multishift to get a rough 'lightwave logo' on his forehead. All with no problems.

    *shrug*

    Maybe it's a "over time" problem; indicating perhaps some kind of memory leak?

    ^_^

    Paul L. Ming

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •