Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 97

Thread: Video Tutorial: Getting Ready to Theme Core

  1. #31
    Back from Monkey Island Weetos's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    France
    Posts
    943
    Amazing stuff Matt ! It's really promising, I can't wait to see what you come up with when Core is out

    Just one thing, nothing important, but I believe 'Qt' is supposed to be pronounced 'Cute', not 'Cutie' - see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Qt_(toolkit)

  2. #32
    Valiant NewTeKnight Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas, USA
    Posts
    13,057
    Quote Originally Posted by Weetos View Post
    Amazing stuff Matt ! It's really promising, I can't wait to see what you come up with when Core is out

    Just one thing, nothing important, but I believe 'Qt' is supposed to be pronounced 'Cute', not 'Cutie' - see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Qt_(toolkit)
    Yeah I knew that, but have got into the habit of calling it Q-T before I knew how it was meant to be pronounced!

    UI / UX Designer @ NewTek
    __________________________________________________
    www.pixsim.co.uk : LightWave Video Tutorials & Tools


  3. #33

  4. #34
    thanks for that video, Matt
    nice to see this css styling. It looks very promising.

    let's hope NT shows us some more soon so we can get a head start.
    www.bytehawk.net

    1 : Imac 27’ I7 mid 2017 8Gb ram

  5. #35
    cool video! I feel tempted to prepare an LW8 / 9 theme

  6. #36
    Super Member COBRASoft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Oudenburg, BEL
    Posts
    3,182
    Nice tutorial Matt.

  7. #37
    Free Radical Orimar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    109
    Great work as always. Thanks Matt.

    .O.

  8. #38
    Valiant NewTeKnight Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas, USA
    Posts
    13,057
    Something else I discovered after chatting with Antti, say you had two banks of buttons, one at the top and one down the side, and you wanted to use push buttons on both, but have them styled differently, you can put your buttons inside a frame, and have Qt style any buttons that are a child of that frame.

    You can then target each frame to style differently, I'll probably do a quick video to show this, but the CSS code goes something like this:

    Code:
    QFrame#NAME_OF_FRAME > QPushButton{
    
       /* Styling definitions go in here */
    
    }
    The # symbol then the name is how you target a specific item.

    The > symbol is 'saying' QPushButton is a child of QFrame (because you've placed them inside).


    Makes things easier and cleaner!
    Last edited by Matt; 02-16-2009 at 05:15 PM.
    UI / UX Designer @ NewTek
    __________________________________________________
    www.pixsim.co.uk : LightWave Video Tutorials & Tools


  9. #39
    Unregistered Guest Sarford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    1,187
    Realy nice stuff, easy as hell. They should have developed something like that for designing websites, would have saved me some hours.
    I guess the rest of the package is for tying the interface to your code (program code that is)?
    MacBook Pro quad core 2,6Ghz, 8Gb ram
    Mac Pro dual Intel quad core 2.8 Ghz, 8Gb ram, Quadro 4000

    my website and 2011 showreel
    http://www.simonglas.net

  10. #40
    Hey Matt! Great work!

    From the 3 designs you made I prefer the second one. Why?! Well, even if the other anes are also cool, and I even like the XSI interface, from those 3, the second one is a obvious choice for me becasue of the screen state! It takes much less space, in pixels, and thoose will be usefull for the display of viewports and/or windows. I'm all for smaller buttons... I even find the standard bars in Windows to be too damn large! Specially XP... I always make them as small as possible (in height).

    Quote Originally Posted by Larry_g1s View Post
    On a side note, why do people use rar instead of .zip, when .zip is built in to windows (thus free)?
    Well... because the zip format is to compression formats like the VHS was for video! Widelly spread, but not the better one.

    RAR *really* compresses files. If you try this very same file you will see that the RAR format compressed to 25% of the original size (186MB), making a 47MB file. Now if you try to compress it using ZIP, even at the "best compression" setting it will get you to a file wich is 89% of the original one (166MB). That's quite a difference, don't you think?!

    Besides, RAR reads 7Z files (an even better compression format in some occasions), LZH (also better than Zip but mostly used on the Amiga a long time ago. Still used here and there), ACE, (another one better than ZIP), ISO (try to read a ISO using ZIP! You would have to use some other application like ISO Burner to extract files form ISO files, RAR treats it just like any other archive), and ARJ (I really liked ARJ in the DOS times, and I miss it!) among others.

    And the way it handles multiple files is way better. Should I go on?! Oh, yes... it can create ZIP files for the poor bastards that don't use RAR. :-)
    _____
    /- /|/| 3D Animation and Special Effects

  11. #41
    Valiant NewTeKnight Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas, USA
    Posts
    13,057
    Quote Originally Posted by VirtualFM View Post
    Hey Matt! Great work!

    From the 3 designs you made I prefer the second one
    Just want to point out, I am not doing any of those UI's, it was just a test to show what you _can_ do!
    UI / UX Designer @ NewTek
    __________________________________________________
    www.pixsim.co.uk : LightWave Video Tutorials & Tools


  12. #42
    bmadigital.com Wickster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Fallbrook, CA
    Posts
    2,560
    Truly awesome Matt. Downloading now.

    Now I wonder if this will work for those who are learning Python and using PyQt to skin their plugins.
    ASUS G2S | T7500 C2Duo @ 2.20GHz | 4GB RAM | 256MB NVidia 8600M GT | Win 7 Home 64Bit

    AMD X6 1090T @ 3.20GHz | 4GB RAM | 1.2GB NVidia 470GTX | Win 7 Pro 64Bit

  13. #43
    Valiant NewTeKnight Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas, USA
    Posts
    13,057
    Quote Originally Posted by Wickster View Post
    Now I wonder if this will work for those who are learning Python and using PyQt to skin their plugins.
    No need to do that, Core will have an abstraction layer so plugin writers can access the controls using the Core SDK.
    UI / UX Designer @ NewTek
    __________________________________________________
    www.pixsim.co.uk : LightWave Video Tutorials & Tools


  14. #44
    Valiant NewTeKnight Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas, USA
    Posts
    13,057

    Arrow New Video

    Decided to do a quick video to show how you can target gadgets inside frames to change their style.

    It's a really handy way to change many gadgets at once, but allowing you to target certain ones.

    Video Tutorial: Targetting Gadgets in Frames (QT H.264 47MB RAR Achive)

    Cheers
    Matt
    UI / UX Designer @ NewTek
    __________________________________________________
    www.pixsim.co.uk : LightWave Video Tutorials & Tools


  15. #45
    Ninja Troll phillydee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    alucemeT
    Posts
    308
    Matt!!! I've been one of your biggest vX project fans--been anticipating this for a while... wooot!

    Thanks for the vids, I'm gonna have a good hard look....

    Cheers man. Props, mad mad props.

    Phil

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •