Thread: Lightwave 9.0 clone character

Newbie Member

Lightwave 9.0 clone character

Hi,

I got a scene file with two characters. For the animation I have to do I need three of them. Any character consists of bones and visual information (I don't know how this is called - in my case this is a person skin).

I have tried to create a third character by cloning one of the existing ones (using Clone Hierarchy option). However the problem is, that some points of the body used for moving legs and hands stayed referenced to the source character and not the new one created. I corrected the references in Motion properties window, but one problem existed.

The skin of the new character is not attached to the hand and legs of it. If I move a leg the bones move, but the skin stays in the same position.

I would be really thankful if someone could point me towards the right solution, as I am getting quit frustrated with this thing. I'm new to Lightwave and could find anything connected with my kind of problem on google or somewhere else.

Thank you very much.

How are the characters and the bones setup?
    Normally if you have a character rigged with bones and you clone the character the bones also get cloned so theres no need to clone the bones.

Newbie Member
    If I try to clone any node of the character, only this node is cloned and not the whole character. If picking Clone hirarchy on the first node the character is cloned with all the descendants, but the control points for moving the character in hand and legs are still attached to the parent one.

Could there be any specific cause why the thing is working like it is? Just to narrow the search area.

Newbie Member
    One another question. Is it possible to save an object hierarchy with corresponding surfaces so it could be added to a different scene.

When selecting the root node of my hierarchy the option File - Save object copy is greyed and not available. Am I doing something wrong?

Thank you for your help.