Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Distort 3D textures?

  1. #1
    Super Duper Member kopperdrake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,132

    Distort 3D textures?

    Hi - this is as far as we've got making a wood texture using 3D procedurals in the nodal editor. We'd like to add some 'wobble' to the main grain rings but I've no idea how to do it. Any suggestions? Still trying to get my head around nodes and though the Christmas hols could be a good time to play!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Wood_Nodes_v001.jpg 
Views:	282 
Size:	163.9 KB 
ID:	67335  
    - web: http://www.albino-igil.co.uk - 2D/3D Design Studio -
    - PC Spec: Intel i9-7940X @3.1GHz | 64Gb | 2 x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb | Windows 10 Pro -

  2. #2
    Cow Orker cagey5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    3,273
    Try feeding another procedural into the position input of your wood texture. It gives the same type of effect as a texture displacement layer when using the layer system.

    edit: And don't forget to adjust the opacity to control the degree of adjustment.
    Last edited by cagey5; 12-19-2008 at 01:26 PM.
    Forum Tips
    If English is your first language, you should know it's 'losing' and not 'loosing'!

  3. #3
    Super Duper Member kopperdrake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,132
    Cheers Cagey - will give it a go
    - web: http://www.albino-igil.co.uk - 2D/3D Design Studio -
    - PC Spec: Intel i9-7940X @3.1GHz | 64Gb | 2 x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb | Windows 10 Pro -

  4. #4
    What do I know? JBT27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Chester, England
    Posts
    2,250
    This is one of those key trip-up points between layered and nodal, which I reckon still needs a good section in the docs for seasoned layered people to get their heads around; there's alot of nodal methods that need to be explained for their equivalents in layered.

    Fairly obvious once you know how, as are all obvious things

    Julian.
    LW 2015.3 Win 10 Pro 64bit

    http://www.take27.co.uk

  5. #5
    Super Duper Member kopperdrake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,132
    Yep - works a treat!

    As you say Julian, there are a few aspects to nodes I'm coming across as I start to explore them that seem un-LightWave in the way my brain is hard-wired to perceive a typical LightWave way of doing things. But I'll get there - nodes are proving to be amazing in the possibilities although they do seem to be not as quick and dirty as layers
    - web: http://www.albino-igil.co.uk - 2D/3D Design Studio -
    - PC Spec: Intel i9-7940X @3.1GHz | 64Gb | 2 x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb | Windows 10 Pro -

  6. #6
    What do I know? JBT27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Chester, England
    Posts
    2,250
    I'll be very keen to see if layered still features in LW10. Another point is that some of the procedurals are just better in their layered incarnation - I don't mean usage, I mean quality and result. I still go with layered in many cases because of this, even though my tiny brain is evolving to cope with nodal.

    One very big thing, and doubtless I am behind the times with this, is that nodal almost demands a dual-monitor setup, something I have, sadly, still to sort out. There's enough on my desk already, with two 19" LCDs - where the devil another would go is beyond me, for now.

    Julian.
    LW 2015.3 Win 10 Pro 64bit

    http://www.take27.co.uk

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •