Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Memory matters?

  1. #1
    Newbie Member Talc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Leicester
    Posts
    93

    Memory matters?

    Before we start can i say don't take the piss out of my spelling please. I'm kind of crap. I know it, you know it. Ok "get over it" now on to what matters!

    2 gig seems to handle about 2 point million somthing polys as i've found out recently. There's a reg trick to take your system to 3 gig. You can go 64 bit and load your mother board with tons of ram. HDinstence will clone almost infinite objects in your scene.

    What is a reasonable poly count for your main characture? Using Catmul setting 3, mine just came in at 2.5 million & i knew i'd done something wrong! His partner came in at about the same, i knew i needed to do some drastic culling.

    I know anything is forgivable if you can get the animation & all animations are different however im after your rule of thumb here?
    Win7 64Bit
    Packard Bell IPowerX G5800
    i7 860
    8GB Ram
    Nvidia GTX 460

  2. #2
    Fórum áss clówn Hopper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    3,393
    Quote Originally Posted by Talc View Post
    Suck if i can't spell. Wouldn't it be great if we where all perfect!
    Suck if i can't spell. Wouldn't it be great if we where all perfect!

    Suck if i can't spell. Wouldn't it be great if we were all perfect!

    Hey .... but you spelled it right.
    Playing guitar is an endless process of running out of fingers.

  3. #3
    Newbie Member Talc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Leicester
    Posts
    93
    Replace the "S" with an "F" that's my frustration! Anything to say about the mem situation though?
    Win7 64Bit
    Packard Bell IPowerX G5800
    i7 860
    8GB Ram
    Nvidia GTX 460

  4. #4
    Newbie Member Talc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Leicester
    Posts
    93
    Just to correct the signature... Hows this? Still would like to here about the mem matter!


    That didn't work bugger! Hang on i'll try again.....
    Win7 64Bit
    Packard Bell IPowerX G5800
    i7 860
    8GB Ram
    Nvidia GTX 460

  5. #5
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,891
    Quote Originally Posted by Talc View Post
    What is a reasonable poly count for your main characture? Using Catmul setting 3, mine just came in at 2.5 million & i knew i'd done something wrong!
    What is wrong? You got what you asked for.. CC level 3 is 64 polygons from each patch.. (2^level)^2..

  6. #6
    Use SubPatches level 4-5 and you will have less polygons than with Catmull-Clark and faster responese while modeling/thumbling viewports. Only "downside" is that SubPatches will work with Tris and Quads only (preferable quads as much as you can make traingle free character).
    RAM-Studio
    WS - Dual Xeon E5-2698v4/128GB/Win10x64/x TitanX(M) + 2x GTX 1080Ti + GTX 1080
    My LWM Video Car Modeling Tutorial

  7. #7
    Newbie Member Talc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Leicester
    Posts
    93
    Thank you for a sensible response. My early days of 3d educated me as to the necessary discipline of memory management but with cheap ram & the falling prices of hard drives i'd forgotten. It amazes me that with virtual addressing we still have to work within the limet of 2 gig. Even more when catmull (so nice for curves) forces your poly count to go through the roof. Anything more than 2 reasonable characters (not talking about gaming design) breaks the memory limet. This is why i wanted to know if other people used a poly count rule for designing characters?
    Win7 64Bit
    Packard Bell IPowerX G5800
    i7 860
    8GB Ram
    Nvidia GTX 460

  8. #8
    2GB limit is windows problem, actually not windows only but ALL 32bit systems and that's "normal" thing. So 64bit system is your best friend if you want to use large polycounts . I'm on 64bit windows for 2 years now and using 8GB ram and still can spend all that on some scenes - basically you can't have too much memory .
    RAM-Studio
    WS - Dual Xeon E5-2698v4/128GB/Win10x64/x TitanX(M) + 2x GTX 1080Ti + GTX 1080
    My LWM Video Car Modeling Tutorial

  9. #9
    Member stevmjon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    137
    hello

    i recently bought a new computer, 6 months ago, and it will use 4 gig on 32 bit windows. actually, when i looked at my total ram from the task manager, it read 3.66 gig total ram. close enough.

    stevmjon
    Windows 10 , i7 Quad Core 3.5Ghz , GTX 970 4Gig graphics , 16 Gig RAM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •