Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Files recorded with Tricaster

  1. #1
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    11

    Files recorded with Tricaster

    Recorded an event on Tricaster and need to edit the files on Final Cut Pro. I have tried transferring the video files from Tricaster to my Mac Pro and only the audio is showing up. Any suggestions? I have read that the AVI files recorded on Tricaster are not completely compatible with Mac or other editing programs. Any quick fix for this problem?
    Rob Piekarski
    Broadcast Specialist
    Channel 22
    Denver Public Schools
    Distance Learning Network/Television Services

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,301
    Quote Originally Posted by RPiekar View Post
    Recorded an event on Tricaster and need to edit the files on Final Cut Pro. I have tried transferring the video files from Tricaster to my Mac Pro and only the audio is showing up. Any suggestions? I have read that the AVI files recorded on Tricaster are not completely compatible with Mac or other editing programs. Any quick fix for this problem?
    Hmm. This one's ripe for the TriCaster -> General Support Forum, perhaps.

    Nevertheless, RP, you'll want to let users know which model TriCaster you have, so they can provide info specific to your need. Also state whether or not yours is equipped with the new 2.0 software version.

    Q1
    Last edited by Quiet1onTheSet; 07-30-2008 at 11:31 PM.

  3. #3
    Registered User ted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    4,216
    First off, everyone PLEASE state what model and version of TriCaster you are using when you are looking for answers.

    I'm assuming you are on the 2.0 version of TC??? If so, NewTek implemented the MPEG codec into TriCaster so it could be used with FCP as well as other applications.
    What method are you using to "import" the footage into FCP?
    Ted R. Ruiz Sr.
    Ad-Venture Video Productions
    Elite NewTek Dealer
    www.editbay.tv
    TriCasters, Most All Models
    Cameras-Mostly HVX 200's

  4. #4
    Registered User ted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    4,216
    Too funny Q1. Before I posted my reply my daughter needed tech support for her new laptop. by the time I came back and "sent" my reply you covered the important ground. Great Minds...
    Ted R. Ruiz Sr.
    Ad-Venture Video Productions
    Elite NewTek Dealer
    www.editbay.tv
    TriCasters, Most All Models
    Cameras-Mostly HVX 200's

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,301
    Quote Originally Posted by ted View Post
    Too funny Q1. Before I posted my reply my daughter needed tech support for her new laptop. by the time I came back and "sent" my reply you covered the important ground. Great Minds...
    Well, yeah...

    Q1

    p.s.: Bet she didn't get an HP dv-series like you - eh, I mean, like your Honey did...
    Last edited by Quiet1onTheSet; 07-31-2008 at 10:44 AM.

  6. #6
    We've got it simple. Jim_C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Thee cool evening breezes of Anytown, USA
    Posts
    4,028
    Quote Originally Posted by ted View Post
    First off, everyone PLEASE state what model and version of TriCaster you are using when you are looking for answers.


    Maybe the Support section of the TC forum could benefit from having different sections for each model.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,301
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim_C View Post
    Maybe the Support section of the TC forum could benefit from having different sections for each model.
    Wow. Ya' think?
    Good one, Jim.

    Q1
    :agree:

  8. #8
    Registered User ted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    4,216
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim_C View Post
    Maybe the Support section of the TC forum could benefit from having different sections for each model.
    Since there are so many similarities, I'd hate to spread the threads out even more.
    It already takes enough time to surf the forum looking for people with problems. Spreading things out further would make me less likely to spend any time.

    Maybe that's why I get so frustrated when people just say, "it's broke". It takes hours or days to GUESS all the variables that the problems owner didn't bother to reveal in the first place.

    Rpiekar, don't take my venting personal. Often people just don't realize how basic their information is. But trust me, you can usually have any problem solved by people here within an hour if they know enough info.
    Best of luck.
    Ted R. Ruiz Sr.
    Ad-Venture Video Productions
    Elite NewTek Dealer
    www.editbay.tv
    TriCasters, Most All Models
    Cameras-Mostly HVX 200's

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Malta
    Posts
    126

    Tricaster files for Final Cut Pro

    Quote Originally Posted by RPiekar View Post
    Recorded an event on Tricaster and need to edit the files on Final Cut Pro. I have tried transferring the video files from Tricaster to my Mac Pro and only the audio is showing up. Any suggestions? I have read that the AVI files recorded on Tricaster are not completely compatible with Mac or other editing programs. Any quick fix for this problem?
    I am a Final Cut Pro user too. I also found that the movie file created is not fully compatible with the Final Cut Pro expecially when it is meant to be used it in multi-editing editing mode. The file is ok when used on its own in a sequence but seems to find some incompatibility with multiediting function. I welcome any help from mac users who encountered this problem and solved it.
    Last edited by TIMECARE; 08-24-2008 at 04:19 AM.

  10. #10
    Paintball Video Geek billmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Palm Bay, FL
    Posts
    1,773
    Quote Originally Posted by RPiekar View Post
    Recorded an event on Tricaster and need to edit the files on Final Cut Pro. I have tried transferring the video files from Tricaster to my Mac Pro and only the audio is showing up. Any suggestions? I have read that the AVI files recorded on Tricaster are not completely compatible with Mac or other editing programs. Any quick fix for this problem?
    Assuming that you've got an earlier model Tricaster that is recording an AVI file (newer models record an MPEG file for improved compatability - though that has its own set of issues) the problem is that Final Cut Pro can't read NTHQ codec video, and because it's not running under Windows, you can't just load in the Codecs like you could with Vegas or Premiere Pro in Windows. All is not lost through. Take the recorded footage into the editor in the Tricaster, and use the prep for VCR function to render the clip out as a DV encoded AVI file. Final Cut Pro should have no problems reading that.
    Toasting with NewTek since 1991 - Corinthian Media Services
    Riding Quiet on an Electric Ninja.

  11. #11
    Adding my 2 cents to this:
    Reading these forums, seems that the PAL version is not quite ready yet.
    I updated my Studio to 2.0 and i cant open the MPEG file on my PC, or on the Tricster WMP even.... (didn try the TC editor yet).

    Also Flash encoding in PAL is having some pops in the sound.

    Is the 1 khz whining in all the Tricasters audio signals present?

    /s

  12. #12
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Fort Collins, CO
    Posts
    1

    Unhappy Editing with final Cut Pro

    Hi There,
    We have the new Tricaster Broadcast and have issues editing with Final cut Pro also. First off, with the .mov file that it creates. The Tricaster only does a 640x480 .mov file not the 720x480 that we need. I called tech support and they didn't have an answer as to why it only does 640x480. They said they would check in to it. That was a month ago. So, no luck there.
    Then we tried the MPEG file. that look terrible and I was told on the creative cow list serve that MPEG files are only meant for playback not to use for editing.
    So now we use the AVI files that work with Final Cut but what a hassle!
    Any ideas or updates would be helpful.
    Mountain Video

  13. #13
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,397
    Quote Originally Posted by Mountainvideo View Post
    We have the new Tricaster Broadcast and have issues editing with Final cut Pro also.
    Please note this post:

    http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthr...873#post757873

    Quote Originally Posted by Mountainvideo View Post
    First off, with the .mov file that it creates. The Tricaster only does a 640x480 .mov file not the 720x480 that we need.
    This seems to be primarily an Apple issue, and a common one at that. There are countless threads on this topic which have nothing to do with TriCaster - see:

    http://discussions.apple.com/thread....sageID=8127308
    http://discussions.apple.com/thread....sageID=6708528
    http://lists.apple.com/archives/Quic.../msg00314.html

    Apple apps seem to incline to show the 'recommended display size' as 640x480, which is the square pixel equivalent (perhaps because they think you want to display them on a computer monitor) ... but a close look at the files reveals them to be true DV files - 720x480 rectangular pixels.

    (This said, NewTek is still looking for some way to sidestep the confusion.)

    Quote Originally Posted by Mountainvideo View Post
    ... I was told on the creative cow list serve that MPEG files are only meant for playback not to use for editing.
    That statement is a bit out of date. There certainly was a day when that was more or less accepted, but it was equally true back then that MPEG 2 was not considered suitable for broadcast.

    Times (and formats) change. There are a lot of different flavors of MPEG out there now, and editing MPEG2 is fairly common. Further, with the latest TC update image quality should be superior to DV. If it's not for some reason, we'd like to hear about it, as noted in the post referred to above.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •