Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: New TriCaster Model - coming soon

  1. #1
    It's ALL about the light Paul Lara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,830

    New TriCaster Model - coming soon

    We'd like to give you some advance notice about a new member of the TriCaster family that we will be officially announcing next month.

    The new model is called TriCaster PRO FX. It offers TriCaster STUDIO-like effects capabilities (virtual sets, new keying technology, etc.) in the the smaller, 3-camera TriCaster and TriCaster PRO form factor. Additional new features include a new "Edit Text" tab with fully integrated Character Generator, and more video storage capacity.

    There are a few differences from the TriCaster STUDIO (besides the smaller size). It only has one alpha-enabled DDR, there are no tally lights and only 2 XLR's on the front panel.

    NewTek will be posting more information about TriCaster PRO FX, including photos, a feature list, a FAQ and more. Please contact your authorized NewTek reseller for additional details and more information about the TriCaster PRO FX upgrade/trade-in program.

    Paul Lara

    Here are a couple screenshots to help you imagine a happier 2008!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	NewCG-ProFX.png 
Views:	632 
Size:	881.8 KB 
ID:	53056   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	NewLive-ProFX.png 
Views:	618 
Size:	897.0 KB 
ID:	53057  
    Last edited by Paul Lara; 12-12-2007 at 05:44 PM.
    Don't stream it - TriCast it!

  2. #2
    Registered User sbrandt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Back in the Moutains on the Canadian border surounded by Deer, Quail, little Bunnies, clean water, air with real oxygen, the toe-headed offspring of the pioneers who settled up here, the neighbor's Milk Cows and Jillions of tiny Chipmunks. Whoo Hoo
    Posts
    794
    I'm already thinking about taking on extra sidework toward this. ...how much?

  3. #3
    He said "member" Kurt_Henning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Larrytown, KansASS
    Posts
    296
    Wow.

    I use the TCP, and the larger pICONs in the CG are very welcomed.

    Adding CG capabilities to the TCP is a great idea.

    As far as "Edit Media' goes, will that be the original TCP editor, or will that be SE under the hood?

    For the VT crowd, the toolset will be familiar, and appears to be nicely streamlined from the pics.

    Looking forward to more announcements and information.

    NAB isn't until next year, I guess you guys are getting prepped early.

    I predict 08 will hold big changes for video producers in order to survive. I hope tools like these will keep us competitive and above water for a bit longer.

  4. #4
    Octopus Switcher D3Cast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Marblehead, MA
    Posts
    307
    Wow. CG functionality looks great. And "support for monitors with resolutions higher than 1280x1024 for user interface"!

    Just curious -- what is the "VCR/Pic/Text" selection in the "Overlay" for?

    Can't wait to hear more...

    -s

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by D3Cast
    Just curious -- what is the "VCR/Pic/Text" selection in the "Overlay" for?
    That is to choose which source you want to use for overlay.

    For instance, you can now overlay a scroll or animated lower third from the VCR.
    John Perkins
    Software Engineer

    "No, it's my natural color..."

  6. #6
    It's ALL about the light Paul Lara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,830

    TriCaster PRO FX Pricing

    Thanks for asking. TriCaster PRO FX retails for $8,995 with an educational price of $8,495.
    Don't stream it - TriCast it!

  7. #7
    It's ALL about the light Paul Lara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,830

    Compare Features

    How is TriCaster PRO FX different from TriCaster PRO?

    • 20+ hours video storage capacity
    • Supports both 4:3 and 16:9 aspects
    • LiveSet and LiveMatte technology
    • iVGA offers multiple inputs
    • Improved Overlay (supports Text, Picture and animation)
    • Improved streaming with VC-1, better de-fielding, etc.
    • Improved VGA output with image enhancement controls.
    • HD file and camera support in Edit Media.
    • New Title Templates
    • Five tabbed transitions banks
    • Extended file format support
    • Brightness/Contrast controls on monitors
    • New Edit Text tab includes:

    o Complete Motion Title/CG application
    o Make LiveSets from CG pages
    o Make Title Templates from CG pages
    o Render scrolls and crawls for LIVE (VCR) or Edit Media
    • Improvements to video quality and calibration
    • Many improvements to the editor
    • System Restore feature
    • Preview for setting up LiveSet effects before going live
    Last edited by Paul Lara; 12-13-2007 at 02:37 PM.
    Don't stream it - TriCast it!

  8. #8
    I am disappointed that it costs $8995 because its only 2k difference with Studio. Buy Studio with 6 inputs which it will be a long term investment. Why don't Newtek give the Tricaster interface as "skin" to VT users?

    I am investing in Jef's lunchbox setup with VT5 and Bob's newest plugin to use without SX8 so I could use the machine for post production with different software than a machine that is too dedicated to Tricaster.

    Since Newtek continued to improved Tricaster hardware and software more frequently than VT5 so will they shift their focus on Tricaster to make more money in hardware and software altogether? Maybe it's time for Newtek to improve VT hardware/software in a lunchbox computer which it comes with monitor and keyboard together.

    I'll buy a tricaster anyway for my studio and using lunchbox computer with VT5 as portable studio

  9. #9
    It's ALL about the light Paul Lara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,830

    UPGRADE to TriCaster PRO FX

    Quote Originally Posted by jedbarish
    I am disappointed that it costs $8995 because its only 2k difference with Studio. Buy Studio with 6 inputs which it will be a long term investment.
    Every TriCaster owner can upgrade to TriCaster PRO FX.



    Upgrades

    Both TriCaster and TriCaster PRO systems are enhanced here at NewTek with powerful new titling creation, animated titles, live virtual sets, greater storage capacity and professional connectors (with a TriCaster trade-in).

    Your TriCaster must be properly packed (original shipping box preferred) and the customer pays for shipment of the unit to NewTek. NewTek then pays return shipment at the same service class as was received. (So, if the unit ships overnight, NewTek will return the unit by the same service.)

    NOTE: The original hard drive will be replaced with a larger drive, so content must be backed up before shipping your TriCaster back to NewTek World Headquarters. NewTek will not return the original hard drive.

    How long does it take for the factory upgrade?
    It will take about 2 business days at NewTek to complete the transformation.

    Will NewTek still offer the original TriCaster PRO?
    Yes. This doesn't replace TriCaster PRO, but adds another production option to your facility.

    • TriCaster PRO upgrade to PRO FX is just $1,995

    Can a TriCaster be upgraded to FX?
    Yes. NewTek is offering a trade-in on TriCaster 100 systems for PRO FX systems. This replaces a TriCaster 100 with a new TriCaster PRO, giving you component video in/out, balanced audio, increased storage and the ability to simultaneously stream and record an .avi to disk.

    • TriCaster 100 trade-in for PRO FX is $3,995


    Are ‘FX upgrades’ downloadable online?
    No. You must contact your NewTek Authorized Reseller to purchase this upgrade, so call today.
    Last edited by Paul Lara; 01-08-2008 at 09:44 AM.
    Don't stream it - TriCast it!

  10. #10
    The regular Tricaster to Pro FX upgrade is tempting! But six inputs is better. Is there an upgrade path from regular TC to TC Studio or have I missed it?

    Are there any planned (software) upgrades to regular ol' Tricaster?

    The Pro FX upgrade would be ideal for us with if it had the 6 inputs like Studio. Seems like a software solution could allow you to input 6 separate sources and reassign them (like you can on VT using the SX84).

  11. #11
    Registered User sbrandt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Back in the Moutains on the Canadian border surounded by Deer, Quail, little Bunnies, clean water, air with real oxygen, the toe-headed offspring of the pioneers who settled up here, the neighbor's Milk Cows and Jillions of tiny Chipmunks. Whoo Hoo
    Posts
    794
    If I do this, as long as you have the box open, can I get a CPU and memory upgrade at the same time.

    The current TCPro processor is only 1.86GHz and there's only a single Gig of memory.

    I'll buy the processor and memory myself and drop-ship them directly to your work bench!

  12. #12
    Registered User sbrandt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Back in the Moutains on the Canadian border surounded by Deer, Quail, little Bunnies, clean water, air with real oxygen, the toe-headed offspring of the pioneers who settled up here, the neighbor's Milk Cows and Jillions of tiny Chipmunks. Whoo Hoo
    Posts
    794
    It's getting close to the middle of "next month".
    Perchance any release news ???

  13. #13
    It's ALL about the light Paul Lara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,830
    Quote Originally Posted by sbrandt
    It's getting close to the middle of "next month".
    Perchance any release news ???
    Have you placed your order? They're shipping!
    Don't stream it - TriCast it!

  14. #14
    Registered User sbrandt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Back in the Moutains on the Canadian border surounded by Deer, Quail, little Bunnies, clean water, air with real oxygen, the toe-headed offspring of the pioneers who settled up here, the neighbor's Milk Cows and Jillions of tiny Chipmunks. Whoo Hoo
    Posts
    794
    WOOT!

    Okay, so when I send my Caster in for the upgrade, what are the chances of a memory and/or cpu upgrade with it?

  15. #15
    We Make Effective FX! DiscreetFX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    998
    By the way Tricaster Pro FX is a highly recommended upgrade/new purchase. DiscreetFX loves the one we purchased.
    DiscreetFX Team
    http://www.discreetfx.com
    Making Your Digital Films More Effective!
    DVE's & LiveSets for VT[5], TriCasters & SpeedEDIT 2.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •