Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Disappearing Grid: Not cool!

  1. #1

    Disappearing Grid: Not cool!

    I'm reading "Essential Lightwave v9"--awesome book btw!!! --....and am experiencing a strange phenomena with LW. (I mention the book because one of the first "tutorials" had me pre-setting the NumPad keys to different views, eg. Texture, Wireframe, etc.)

    The problem is, when I change the view, the grids disappear. I have to hit "D" and re-enable them. I've gone for far as to remap the pre-sets, making sure that Grid is indeed enabled. To no avail: the darned things keep disappearing.

    I'm running the Trial of v9.3 (I think that's it).

  2. #2
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    8,227
    Try opening Display Options 'd' key, and GL tab, turn on Legacy OpenGL..

  3. #3
    Fórum áss clówn Hopper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    3,393
    and if that doesn't work, rename your config file to something else temporarily, so Modeler won't find it, thus creating a new one with all defaults set.
    Playing guitar is an endless process of running out of fingers.

  4. #4

    Now cool! Sort of...

    Thanks for the replies, guys. I was able to figure the cause(s).

    The settings for whichever viewport you have the mouse pointer over is what gets saved in the keybind. I'm sure you gurus are well aware of that. Well, I was using my Perspective 'port in which I have grid off! DOH! So Modeler was just doing was I set it to do, just not what I wanted it to.

  5. #5
    Fórum áss clówn Hopper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    3,393
    Then there's at least two people who have done that then. I did the same thing even after JUST reading the part that informs you about the mouse location and the viewports.

    I actually stopped doing that little trick. Once it's in your config, there's no way to remove it. Then if you add more they show up in your drop down list forever. It also allows for duplicate names (bad programmers... BAD programmers).

    --
    I just finished the Essentials book and am now starting in on the Lighting book (and I say "the" lighting book ala Boughen). Ecellent books.
    Playing guitar is an endless process of running out of fingers.

  6. #6
    What's that book title, Hopper?

  7. #7
    Pancakes! IMI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Right Here
    Posts
    7,124
    The Lighting book I believe he's talking about is LightWave v9 Lighting, also published by Wordware. (I might not have the title completely right)

    Yes, Essential LightWave v9 is an outstanding book, with great videos as well.

    By the way, you can keep the Display Options panel open while you work in Modeler, to make changes for what to display and so on, instead of constantly opening and closing it.
    no comment

  8. #8
    Pancakes! IMI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Right Here
    Posts
    7,124
    Yes, that's the title:

    http://www.amazon.com/LightWave-Ligh.../dp/159822039X

    Heh. Hilarious. I Googled that and found the Amazon link. I thought the picture on the book cover looked awfully familiar...
    Looked up at my bookshelf and lo and behold...
    I totally forgot I bought that book about 3 months ago or so!
    no comment

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    S
    Posts
    3,511
    -

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    S
    Posts
    3,511
    Quote Originally Posted by tommyzDad
    I'm reading "Essential Lightwave v9"--awesome book btw!!! --....and am experiencing a strange phenomena with LW. (I mention the book because one of the first "tutorials" had me pre-setting the NumPad keys to different views, eg. Texture, Wireframe, etc.)

    The problem is, when I change the view, the grids disappear. I have to hit "D" and re-enable them. I've gone for far as to remap the pre-sets, making sure that Grid is indeed enabled. To no avail: the darned things keep disappearing.

    I'm running the Trial of v9.3 (I think that's it).
    What about the obvious, as in scaling? ie. if you have an object too big for the grid size in layout the grid gets clipped (along with the near distance of the object in any view port). In modeler, the near clip is fixed.

    -Make sure you don't have a 200 m wide toothbrush in a 1x1m scene kind of thing.

    Also, the grid settings in modeler have nothing to do with the grid in layout except for the scale.

    m

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    496

    problem - I am a newbie

    "I'm reading "Essential Lightwave v9"--awesome book btw!!! --....and am experiencing a strange phenomena with LW. (I mention the book because one of the first "tutorials" had me pre-setting the NumPad keys to different views, eg. Texture, Wireframe, etc."

    I am brand new to lightwave and am using that book to learn and i need help! I cannot find the select loop tool. I have 10.1 and I have no idea how to delete config files. Can someone walk me through to set everything back to default?

    I tried edit menu layout and changing presets and still have same problem.
    Thanks

  12. #12
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    8,227
    Configs are in something similar to
    C:\Documents and Settings\[user]\.NewTek\LightWave\10.1

    Select Loop should be in Selection tab.

    Maybe your problem is related to not adding all plug-ins? Try Edit Plug-ins > Scan Dir and pick up base directory where is everything..

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    496

    Smile

    Yeah! It was the plugin problem. I have never done that before. Thank you so much.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •