Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Rounding a simple shape

  1. #1
    May the sauce be with you starbase1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    5,585

    Rounding a simple shape

    I have a simple shape and I want to round off the edges.
    Rounder gives technobabble errors and threatens to shut down modeler entirely...

    Anyone got any ideas? I think its the bit on the inside of the step it doesn't like.

    Nick
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rounder-issue.jpg 
Views:	114 
Size:	20.5 KB 
ID:	51582  
    Faith is the opposite of Intelligence.

    Touched by his noodley appendage!
    My Lightwave Graphics & Downloads!!!

  2. #2
    May the sauce be with you starbase1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    5,585
    Argh! Now this one is doing it too...
    What does it take to smooth off edges?!?!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rounder-2.jpg 
Views:	114 
Size:	195.5 KB 
ID:	51584  
    Faith is the opposite of Intelligence.

    Touched by his noodley appendage!
    My Lightwave Graphics & Downloads!!!

  3. #3
    Engineer/Entrepreneur Sekhar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Pasadena, CA
    Posts
    2,124
    Usually, doing a merge points shuts the thing up for me.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Wisconsi USA
    Posts
    134
    I found that using rounder but with only one or two polys selected works best for me . There is then some patching to be done . Or try edge bevel.

    for that shape I would have made the end poly of the step, used fillet plugin to round the edges, then extruded it , then maybe used rounder or bevel to round the sides .

    I am a relative beginner though , so if theres a hard way , thats what I probably do

  5. #5
    May the sauce be with you starbase1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    5,585
    Quote Originally Posted by Sekhar
    Usually, doing a merge points shuts the thing up for me.
    Thanks, that did not help in these cases... I can see how it might help though...
    Nick
    Faith is the opposite of Intelligence.

    Touched by his noodley appendage!
    My Lightwave Graphics & Downloads!!!

  6. #6
    May the sauce be with you starbase1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    5,585
    Quote Originally Posted by markschum
    I found that using rounder but with only one or two polys selected works best for me . There is then some patching to be done . Or try edge bevel.

    for that shape I would have made the end poly of the step, used fillet plugin to round the edges, then extruded it , then maybe used rounder or bevel to round the sides .

    I am a relative beginner though , so if theres a hard way , thats what I probably do
    I gave edge bevel a go, but that made a bigger mess than rounder!
    Faith is the opposite of Intelligence.

    Touched by his noodley appendage!
    My Lightwave Graphics & Downloads!!!

  7. #7
    I tried it using a few different ways to create the original shape and it worked both times. As much as I haven't liked rounder, it performed as expected this time. The first is using an ngon and the second is all quads. Rounder didn't seem to know the difference and rounded both of them. Recheck all your points and make sure they're connected.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rounded.jpg 
Views:	89 
Size:	86.9 KB 
ID:	51594  

  8. #8
    Should be a piece of cake for Rounder.

    One thing I have noticed and finally think I can repeat is this:

    Based on this tool functionality;

    -drag up and down for a larger or smaller offset distance.
    -drag left and right for number of segments.

    if I drag all the way down to 0 on the offset I start to get an error message when I click in the window.

    If I manually enter a number into this field the message goes away and the tool works if I click and drag again.

    Don't know if this has happened to you or if it is even widely repeatable but you can also try to delete your rounder config and see if that helps or even your modeler config perhaps.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	SimpleObject.gif 
Views:	109 
Size:	24.8 KB 
ID:	51603   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	SimpleObjectError.gif 
Views:	102 
Size:	19.5 KB 
ID:	51604  

  9. #9
    May the sauce be with you starbase1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    5,585
    Thanks for the time and suggestions guys - I think I maybe need to reboot to get everything reset, and start again...
    Faith is the opposite of Intelligence.

    Touched by his noodley appendage!
    My Lightwave Graphics & Downloads!!!

  10. #10
    Member TheDAve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Guildford UK
    Posts
    229
    The best tutorial I have found to explain how you have to fight rounder to round even the simplest shapes can be found here

    http://www.stevewarner.com/Freeview/01/

    DAve

  11. #11
    May the sauce be with you starbase1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    5,585
    I finally got round to checking this out - thanks Dave, it makes a LOT more sense now!
    Faith is the opposite of Intelligence.

    Touched by his noodley appendage!
    My Lightwave Graphics & Downloads!!!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •