Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 42

Thread: Which is better Two 24 inch or one 30 inch LCD monitor?

  1. #16
    Member SCS5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Schroon Lake, NY
    Posts
    277
    I went from dual 21" ViewSonics at 1280X1024 to 1 24 " Dell at 1900X1200the higher res on the dell is nice, but I still miss the screen real-estate of the dual 21" monitors. Remember when you go with a single 16X9 you loose half of the second monitor on a dual 4X3 setup. It doesn't matter if it's 24" or 30" you still loose real-estate. Go Dual

  2. #17
    24'' all the way for me
    friend of mine that works as lead artist in one of game companies tryed to work on 30" and he switched back on 24''
    new web page up www.null.hr

  3. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by SCS5
    I went from dual 21" ViewSonics at 1280X1024 to 1 24 " Dell at 1900X1200the higher res on the dell is nice, but I still miss the screen real-estate of the dual 21" monitors. Remember when you go with a single 16X9 you loose half of the second monitor on a dual 4X3 setup. It doesn't matter if it's 24" or 30" you still loose real-estate. Go Dual
    Hmm can you explain this little better ? I don't get it. What is the problem with 2560*1600 resolution on 30" * What would you loose comparing to old CRTs or 21" 4:3 LCD ??? I don't remember any 4:3 format monitor who can have 1600 pixels vertical ? I have my old 22" CRT iiyama on 2nd computer and it can go to 2048*[email protected] so 30" LCD still "leads" by 64 pixels vertical .

    maverick - read the question again :P, it's Dual 24" vs Single 30", you friend then would need to switch to 2*17" then if he thinks that 30" is too big .
    RAM-Studio
    WS - Dual Xeon E5-2698v4/128GB/Win10x64/x TitanX(M) + 2x GTX 1080Ti + GTX 1080
    My LWM Video Car Modeling Tutorial

  4. #19
    CG Generalist akademus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Dubai, UAE
    Posts
    1,606
    I was kidding of course. I always work on dual monitor setup, just because i can always put references and such on the secondary monitor. And I'd rather go for 2x24 than one 30", not because simple math proves it but because you can put "other" stuff there. Just drag and maximize there or whatever. Now 2x30" seems nice (that makes 60" haha) but I bet you'll have pain in the neck twisting your head from side to side. It is a bit extreme...
    Senior CG Artist, Optix Digital Pictures
    Demo Reel
    Behance
    Web folio
    LinkedIn

  5. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by akademus
    I was kidding of course. I always work on dual monitor setup, just because i can always put references and such on the secondary monitor. And I'd rather go for 2x24 than one 30", not because simple math proves it but because you can put "other" stuff there. Just drag and maximize there or whatever. Now 2x30" seems nice (that makes 60" haha) but I bet you'll have pain in the neck twisting your head from side to side. It is a bit extreme...
    Hehehe that's true but it depends on Table setup/distance (ask Gregg, he is on 2*30" and stil healthy ). I agree it's nice to have references on 2nd monitor (i do have that setup here a work) but then agian i like when i model on 30" (at home) and i don't have to resize windows or go into single window mode, it's all nice and each of Quad view windows is big enough . Also Lightwolf have god point - what if you are editing Full HD video on 24" . You cant see full (100%) video on 24" resolution with interface buttons of Editing program while on 30" you have plenty of space for 100% zoom . There is always pros and cons and it's just user preference . Me personaly i use both ways each day (work/home) and I still can't say that one is 100% better .
    RAM-Studio
    WS - Dual Xeon E5-2698v4/128GB/Win10x64/x TitanX(M) + 2x GTX 1080Ti + GTX 1080
    My LWM Video Car Modeling Tutorial

  6. #21

    what to get

    I have a 30" cinema for use at home and have two 24's at work. If the 30 inch takes a dive for whatever reason, I get to tread water till its fixed or replaced. If one of the 24's goes sour, I can still keep working till the problem is fixed.
    So, two monitors is a nice insurence policy.
    Chris

  7. #22
    May the sauce be with you starbase1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    5,592
    As someone currently planning to upgrade to one 22 inch, I think everyone else in this thread is horrid.
    Faith is the opposite of Intelligence.

    Touched by his noodley appendage!
    My Lightwave Graphics & Downloads!!!

  8. #23
    AeroAnimator 4dartist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    1,065
    I have a 19" 4:3 on my left and the mac 23" HD on my right. I love it. When modeling i really only use my 23" but when animating i have layout filling up the 23" and the graph editor filling up most of the secondary. I haven't tried a 30" though. But what i have works perfect for me.

    Ben

  9. #24
    I have 2 24' (1920x1280) monitors next to each other and a 19' (1680x1050) vertical.. cost a lot less than the 30'.. plus with the 30' you have to make sure you have the right video card to drive it..
    I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates - "I Drank What??"

  10. #25
    Rasterbator Bog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles, USA
    Posts
    4,096
    Quote Originally Posted by Lightwolf
    One more reason for a 30" - depending on what you do: F you do compositing or work with HD res images, a 30" will leave some space around your image at HD res for the application.

    Cheers,
    Mike
    That's the killer point for me. It's worth the price of admission to be able to work on a 1920x1080 frame and still have all my toolbars up. Everything else is gravy.

    Also, the sheer res (2560x1600) makes working at ludicrous detail levels a joy.
    Mark Hennessy-Barrett
    www.imaginetix.co.uk
    www.shaxam.com
    ...and then I was on fire.

  11. #26
    Interesting reading this, I thought to myself only yesterday I could do with a bigger screen........I’ve been running a 30" for some six months now and it’s starting to feel too small LOL, role on the 40”ers

  12. #27
    Heheeh gerry_g that's almost true and me too feels like I'm ready for 3000*2000 reslution or so on possible 40" . I just wonder what GFX card we will need to push it on that resolution if is going to happen any time soon
    RAM-Studio
    WS - Dual Xeon E5-2698v4/128GB/Win10x64/x TitanX(M) + 2x GTX 1080Ti + GTX 1080
    My LWM Video Car Modeling Tutorial

  13. #28
    Registered User Andyjaggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    4,327
    yeah it's pretty sad when a 30" or even 2 30"....... start to seem too small.

  14. #29
    CG Generalist akademus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Dubai, UAE
    Posts
    1,606
    true, true... everything said here. hehe...
    Senior CG Artist, Optix Digital Pictures
    Demo Reel
    Behance
    Web folio
    LinkedIn

  15. #30
    Dazed and confused lilrayray77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Bucks County, PA
    Posts
    693
    Id say 2 24" as I had to make the same choice and have not regreted going with the 24". Plenty of space. Also, if you put it into perspective 30" = 2560x1600 and 2x24 = 3840x2400 - just a we bit more space, and honestly, you get used to having the desktop divided. Just my opinion though. I dont do any professional work, so that should be taken into account when reading this.
    -Andy Michaels

    + =


    ____________
    PD 2.8ghz - 2gb 667mhz ram - Nvidia 8800 GTS

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •