Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 122

Thread: Heart Attack with Registration: Newtek hear this!!!

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Valencia
    Posts
    3,145

    Heart Attack with Registration: Newtek hear this!!!

    Hi,

    As I posted on other thread I needed to ask for another registration code for Speed Edit, simply because I updated my OS to Vista 64 Business.

    And yesterday I installed the latest Direct X for Vista version (9.19.1007).
    As well as the Microsoft Platform SDK and Visual Studio Express.

    I didn't opened Lightwave or Speed Edit after those installations. So I closed the computer and this evening I needed to do something in Lightwave, and I got a Nvidia message saying something about an incompatible component and that I need to close Lightwave. In fact I didn't even saw the LW screen after press ok to the message.

    Seeing that it was affecting LightWave, I tried to open Speed Edit. And then came the heart attack, it asked me for a Registration Code AGAIN?

    I knew I couldn't ask for another registration code for Speed Edit, Customer Service told me so. "We only provide 1 change of registration code".

    So I uninstalled the graphic driver, and installed it again (same 158.36 version). Open Speed Edit and gave it the same registration code. And THANKFULLY it accepted it!!!.

    Now, Who has think that linking the Registration Code of SE to the Operative System and Graphic Drivers is a good idea? I update them quite frequently so I am at risk of not beign able to use my copy of SE?

    So here it goes my petition that you link SE Registration Code to my LightWave Dongle. Kill two birds with one stone!!!

    I am sure than more than one user it is on the same situation as me, being of the verge of a nervous attack of what you install or not, just in case you broke your legal copy of Speed Edit.

    Not happy at all with the protection scheme you chose. It is ANNOYING for the user and not secure at all.

    I hope a Newtek representative of Speed Edit answer this post and give me / us a solution.

    Best regards,
    David


    Moderator sez: This was a bug in the registration code that is now fixed in version 1.2
    Last edited by Paul Lara; 07-26-2007 at 05:31 AM.

  2. #2
    you got my vote too,
    if they provide a way to register speededit with my lw dongle I will buy it.
    www.bytehawk.net

    1 : Imac 27’ I7 mid 2017 8Gb ram

  3. #3
    Registered User ted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    4,216
    I think the last time there was a poll, opinions were about split. And many of those voting for the dongle admitted there are issues, including losing Dongles.
    I personally would not want it tied to the LW dongle. Besides, not all of our systems have LW.

    But like every solution, there are downsides and not everyone will be pleased.
    No Dongle wanted here.
    Ted R. Ruiz Sr.
    Ad-Venture Video Productions
    Elite NewTek Dealer
    www.editbay.tv
    TriCasters, Most All Models
    Cameras-Mostly HVX 200's

  4. #4
    dynamics...so much fun ;) prospector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    state of confusion
    Posts
    6,973
    I don't even have SE installed because of this issue. I love SE and would use it daily, but getting new ser num after each hardware change is not my cup of tea.
    Skype...lost_in_3d_space

    Sager
    I7-4800 OC'd to 3.3 GHz
    12G 1600mhz mem
    GTX 765M , 765 cores 1.5 Gig mem
    256 gigs raided SSD drive

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Valencia
    Posts
    3,145
    Quote Originally Posted by ted
    I think the last time there was a poll, opinions were about split. And many of those voting for the dongle admitted there are issues, including losing Dongles.
    I personally would not want it tied to the LW dongle. Besides, not all of our systems have LW.

    But like every solution, there are downsides and not everyone will be pleased.
    No Dongle wanted here.
    Hi,

    Sorry to hear that Ted. But NOTHING stop Newtek to write a registration system that would allow me or you to have it locked to your hardware, to your VToaster or to your LW Dongle. Depending on your system configuration.

    Lately the BEST registration system I found is ZBrush3, because if you are online, you can deactivate or activate your license wherever you are. It is brilliant.

    I paid for a software that I want to use comfortably.

    And it is not only as Prospector noted that a hardware change screw up your use of SE.

    As my problem showed, install another programs or have a driver issue can screw your license number.

    And Customer Service was very insistent that we can have that number changed once? That is crazy.

    Best regards,
    David

  6. #6
    obfuscated SDK hacker Lightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,613
    Quote Originally Posted by dballesg
    But NOTHING stop Newtek to write a registration system that would allow me or you to have it locked to your hardware, to your VToaster or to your LW Dongle.
    Actually, apparently there is due to third party components that NT has licensed for SE (I assume video coded related). That was mentioned a few times.

    Cheers,
    Mike

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Valencia
    Posts
    3,145
    Quote Originally Posted by Lightwolf
    Actually, apparently there is due to third party components that NT has licensed for SE (I assume video coded related). That was mentioned a few times.

    Cheers,
    Mike
    Hi Mike,

    I didn't know that. I am not so active user of SE as LW. But I LOVE SE.

    What really annoys me it is these days the engineers are doing marvelous programs, but when they come to the registration system they completely forgot not annoy the user.

    I had a similar issue with xsTream and at the end e-on allowed to lock it to my LW dongle.

    But if Newtek has make the "mistake" of licensing third party components that those companies do not want you have installed on every computer you have, I can understand then the registration system.

    BUT I cannot understand the limitation of 2 changes of registration number.

    I am starting to be pissed of with ALL the companies whom you buy software and then you have a HELL of problems simply due to their obnoxious registration systems.

    By the way no one from Newtek has step here to give us a solution.

    Best regards,
    David

  8. #8
    Registered User KiloWatkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    New MexKilo
    Posts
    1,029
    As with LW, SE can be installed to another drive then C:\. What this does is only puts a Start>Programs>Newtek>SPedit in Program Files. If you change OS's ect.. you can just goto the slave drive and make a desktop shortcut of SPEdit.exe and the program should run.

    FYI
    GoodLuck KiloVideo

    Digitizing video since 1984
    HyMPG Designer since 1997
    Avatar says, 89.3 MPG Avg.
    [email protected]

  9. #9
    dynamics...so much fun ;) prospector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    state of confusion
    Posts
    6,973
    So I *should* be able to install it on one of those gigger USB pocket drives chippy things and run anywhere?
    Skype...lost_in_3d_space

    Sager
    I7-4800 OC'd to 3.3 GHz
    12G 1600mhz mem
    GTX 765M , 765 cores 1.5 Gig mem
    256 gigs raided SSD drive

  10. #10
    dynamics...so much fun ;) prospector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    state of confusion
    Posts
    6,973
    Arrg won't let me edit....flash drives?
    Skype...lost_in_3d_space

    Sager
    I7-4800 OC'd to 3.3 GHz
    12G 1600mhz mem
    GTX 765M , 765 cores 1.5 Gig mem
    256 gigs raided SSD drive

  11. #11
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Valencia
    Posts
    3,145
    Hi,

    KiloWatkins:

    I really doubt that will work, because if you try to run SE on a computer with a different OS where you installed it it will ask you AGAIN for a new registration code.

    Read my first post, even a fault with my NVidia drivers make SE ask you fro a completely NEW registration code.

    Best regards,
    David

  12. #12
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Valencia
    Posts
    3,145
    Hi,

    Thanks Neverko, I couldn't explained it better.

    Best regards,
    David

  13. #13
    Registered User rbartlett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    West Midlands, England
    Posts
    399
    If the licensing system is a problem for anyone considering purchasing SpeedEDIT then, fwiw (which isn't a lot!) I would recommend that you consider one of the other routes available to assure yourself that SE is worth the modicum amounts of anxiety and pain for the benefits it brings.

    SpeedEDIT is not yet the 'people's editor', IMHO. It is specialist, forward looking and innovative but not yet all encompassing. It can - Edit while you capture; has dual screen Storyboard/Timeline; has TGA-sequence-single-dropclick-markup; also HDV (pseudo) preview of edit session. Quite unique and I'm omitting plenty.

    I know I needn't, but I'm concerned for folks who raise their concerns over the licensing scheme and stand by the fact that they wouldn't buy anything that is set this way. When it comes down to it, you do need some sort of scheme to keep the honest people honest. DVD-Video protection is useless but it is still used for this reason. Perpetrators are also sued and sent to prison when they steal with no proof of license. So if the SE licensing scheme doesn't encompass what you visualize it should for modern software and becomes a sticking point pre-sales - then there is every chance that you'll be let down by some other aspect you use every day or by some nuance that causes it to lock or bomb if you are expecting to throw pretty well any stuff at it. SE just keeps getting better. In my limited experience, NewTek do listen but what they choose to use is their business and takes many hours of consideration and operationalisation to work at all. I see all copy protection as the dark side but the world would not be any better if we did without locks.

    I'd get a kick out of recommend SpeedEDIT to everyone but it isn't how I'm recommending it quite yet. The best endorsement is to try, borrow or demo on a system somewhere or to base your purchase on having owned NewTek VT. Try out your workflow to fruition. It is, not unlike LW and VT, in that it is quite a finicky young vixen at times. SpeedEDIT has also arrived just when the breadth of media types in popular use has exploded and this is compounded by the sway away from XP-32bit+SP2 being the de-facto media system . Each type has it's followers and those with certain leanings that makes the whole area of NLEs rather confusing and why the best solution varies so much. Some folks choose Windows, some Linux. SpeedEDIT is another one of these choices for people who particularly don't want to follow the others like sheep. IMHO, the pleasure and individuality that results comes at the price of some peculiarities.

    The copy-protection/licensing and format quirks are part of this price. As is not having oodles of non-"system"-based 3rd party hardware (by "system" I'm meaning other than that which appears as a graphics card to the OS, same for audio).

    VT was never about just live switching. Many post-production clients used it and some didn't even use the analog ports provided, especially in the later generations that had DV and VGA preview support. VT served and continues to serve the post community well. If a potential client is interested in SE but finds the software dongle too much from the consumer stable or might curtail the annual PC build then VT[5] with SpeedEDIT-VT is the place to invest your attention. It isn't out yet, so SpeedEDIT could be something that is ultimately turfed off onto a laptop and financially amortised into oblivion. I'm not of the opinion that NewTek won't do something subsequently. It might seem like a rash decision, but given that SE is almost everything a VT customer was served by who was predominantly post-edit based and who used that gigantic card as the dongle. It does seem that NewTek has given the crown jewels away with SE at the price it is at. It would be more than it is today with a more relaxed anti-copy/licensing scheme but how much more from the manufacturer's perspective. I'd say the investment should be into more formats in, enhanced workflows and to attend to more delivery options. That is plenty of work for these developers and I know what I'd expect a budding professional software developer would rather spend his next week doing. No, it isn't anti-copy protection and license enforcement.

    Here is Jim's offer that makes perfect sense for the customer that has no interest in jumping through any hoops to establish a workflow. That is no crime though, as one of the packages written by a company whose name starts with an 'A', Thomson or Sony will have diminished quirkiness but no single tool is right on the money for the money.

    A lot of words and opinions were thrown up back in December 2006 and we have what we have still. I think NewTek would have done something by now if they could. Same goes for the demo given that this is the crown jewels. The experience in the take-up of new business with the free/trial LightWave Discovery Edition may be the driving factor here?

    http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthr...&highlight=DVS

    quote:
    "
    There is not a demo Version but you can purchase it from us and if you do not like it return if for a full refund as long as you do not register it. So far no one wants to return it. We will even give you free ground shipping. You can't go wrong with that.

    here is a link http://www.dvsdirect.com/SpeedEdit.htm
    __________________
    Jim Davis
    DVS Direct
    Newtek Top 10 reseller 3 years in a Row
    PH 1 800 379 7267 "


    I'm beginning to wrap up on this now:

    If the dongle protection is a reason not to buy SpeedEDIT. Can I ask those who agree with this statement to say what reason or reasons they have for buying SpeedEDIT? It appears that the main emphasis is a response from those who also have another software-only product from NewTek. So one might expect that the answer is for brand loyalty. I'd say that is great but it would be better placed if folks found the NewTek philosophy the way they feel compelled to invest in. Most investments result in profitable business so SpeedEDIT should pay for itself. So the price and the model suggests that every 12 months you might well have to move on the old PC and the copy of SpeedEDIT with it. That spreads the word, assuming you can move the machine on to another individual who edits.... Spreading the word is good! That was what AuraDV attempted to do, perhaps successfully.

    If you want SE, or have been intrigued into a frenzy by a demonstation of it, you've got to take more steps than to reject it based on the protection. PLEASE DO RECONSIDER. Have your expectations set that this is one tool and you may still desire many and to blend them. I can't believe the pre-sales experience is completed for those who feel so strongly about the purchase given that there is a means to trial for up to 15 days, register electronically scheme that has some perhaps variable amount of opportunity to return the license back into the 15 day trial state where you could register electronically again from. This has to be a shadow that is cast, not a darkness - surely?

    Caveat emptor, and 'you pays yer money and takes yer choice'. SE is a fresh new face with some great genetic heritage. Yet it is fresh. Do you want to be part of something new?................ (the real salesman is sat opposite to where I'm sitting - as you may be able to tell? )

  14. #14
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Valencia
    Posts
    3,145
    Hi,

    I started this thread, and I think I never suggested to ANYONE to not buy SE due to the Registration System. I said that the registration system sucks.

    If it look so or was interpreted so from my posts, my sincere apologies to Newtek. I do not want to affect SE sales. It is very far away from my intentions.

    Me and others here are REALLY concerned about a registration system that FORCES you to ask for a NEW registration code when you change your hardware.

    IN MY CASE, SE has asked me the new code when my graphic card DRIVERS (i.e: software) went bonkers after install DirectX and a couple of Microsoft programs. I didn't changed any hardware. Even my wacom drivers were installed BEFORE SE asked me the new code a second time.

    As SBowie pointed to me, maybe it is a bug on the registration system, look on this thread:
    http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=71150

    SBowie said that it is NOT normal that SE ask you for a new registration number when SOFTWARE changes (my case), it is when HARDWARE changes (not my case).

    Best regards,
    David

  15. #15
    Registered User KiloWatkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    New MexKilo
    Posts
    1,029
    How many USB dogels/ports have laptop users broken? LOL Theft is something I'm very use to, happening to me! LOL Whatever haxxORed version is, I will not look up. But if someone is dumb enough to want to steal something, it will not be that hard to track them down.

    I am the first to admit, if I did not know Tedit, SpeedEDIT would make a LW user quiver. Why, not sure. But the powers of SE you've pointed out Richard, should give a non VT user a hint. This is not your grand dad's StandAlone video editor.

    Though my standalone is a VT feed, just like my T/F will be in a week or so, the VT/SE is growing into VT5 very fast on my VT system. Just like stolen Mirage and LW interfaces to UV map.

    Hackers promoing stolen software anywhere, will get caught, it is just a matter of time, the victim would ask all their registard owners to submit their names to a law suit on behalf of the victim.

    So back to the issue, Yes I can see a reg problem from 32bit to 64bit registration. Patches were posted I thought. But all along installing to another drive has been able, not thumb drives, and SE is a kick-arse fully BLOWN for content creation with BobFX.com.

    This Choice of work is not without expenses, and anyone in this work know, they have to invest back into their studio's.

    Now who won, Harrington or Garcia? LOL
    GoodLuck KiloVideo

    Digitizing video since 1984
    HyMPG Designer since 1997
    Avatar says, 89.3 MPG Avg.
    [email protected]

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •