Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Dialectric node problem

  1. #1
    Newbie Member claudioarchi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    montreal
    Posts
    40

    Dialectric node problem

    Hi guys,
    I just render this scene with fprime 3.01 i was testing the dialectric node. And it gives me a nice result, but even if double sided material is on, i still don't see the inside of the glasses. Also the refraction look strange. Does anybody know what the problem is?

    Thank you
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Test_diaelec.jpg 
Views:	184 
Size:	59.1 KB 
ID:	47436  
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    How Old? Really? Aww Heck colkai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Staffordshire
    Posts
    7,809
    first things first, check your raytrace options in the render globals and also check the recursion limit is at least 8. does seem like something is missing.
    Too old to die young.

  3. #3
    Newbie Member claudioarchi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    montreal
    Posts
    40
    Thanks Colkai, the raytrace options are on as well as refraction, but recursion limit is at 4. i'll change it to 8. I also model a third glass with a double skin to see what happen. I'll see if i can post somethig o got to get back to work dull!!!!!

  4. #4
    How Old? Really? Aww Heck colkai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Staffordshire
    Posts
    7,809
    oh jeez, tell me about it, all day online to thicko clients who realyl should not be allowed near a computer.
    Too old to die young.

  5. #5
    Newbie Member claudioarchi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    montreal
    Posts
    40
    Ok i've got the double sided object, i just modeled a solid glass, solve the problem for the reflections. BUT NO SHADOWS....what the hek?!!!!!, i'm using an area light, if i change it for a spot or point light, the glasses will cast shadows....hmmm!!!!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Test_diaelec_02.jpg 
Views:	163 
Size:	200.7 KB 
ID:	47444  

  6. #6
    Two questions, Do you have the dielectric plugged into mixer with a standard air surface and Polyside info switch? and do you have raytrace shadows on?
    Dug

  7. #7
    Newbie Member claudioarchi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    montreal
    Posts
    40
    Yes to both questions dog her is the node tree...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	NODE_TREE.jpg 
Views:	156 
Size:	183.5 KB 
ID:	47449  

  8. #8
    I am Jack's cold sweat Karmacop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Bathurst, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    2,117
    How big is your area light? Maybe it's to big to cause visible shadows?

  9. #9
    Newbie Member claudioarchi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    montreal
    Posts
    40
    karmacop you were so right!!!! it was too big. thank you all for your help

    see ya

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •