Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 58

Thread: Babylon 5 returns!

  1. #1
    stee+cat
    real name: steve gilbert
    http://www.cresshead.com/

    Q - How many polys?
    A - All of them!

  2. #2
    Rasterbator Bog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles, USA
    Posts
    4,096
    Reactions:

    1) "Oh, my!"
    2) "Er."
    3) "Why is it lit like Star Trek?"

    Don't get me wrong, that's gorgeous. B5 has never looked more detailey... but why in Valen's Name is it lit with so much ambient??
    Last edited by Bog; 03-09-2007 at 01:11 PM.
    Mark Hennessy-Barrett
    www.imaginetix.co.uk
    www.shaxam.com
    ...and then I was on fire.

  3. #3
    not usre this is anything in the actual show..just a banner!

    note that all star trek spaceships had their own external lighting rigs attatched!

    looks only to be 2 shows so far...but GEEŽ...super cool to see B5 coming back in any shape or form
    as it was instrumental in me getting int 3d...first with inspire 3d...then 3dsmax and lightwave as an
    additional app to complement my 3dsmax.
    stee+cat
    real name: steve gilbert
    http://www.cresshead.com/

    Q - How many polys?
    A - All of them!

  4. #4
    Heffalump
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Away
    Posts
    3,897
    It's certainly a little troubling that the station seems to be glowing. Perhaps it's part of the story? A beacon of light in the darkness....or something.

    Then again, looking back at the old series, the station seemed to take up some very strange orbital positions in order to get lit correctly.
    Inactive.

  5. #5
    Heffalump
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Away
    Posts
    3,897
    I should read the article, but I'm actually surprised. Didn't Netter Digital lose all the models (and I seemed to remember that Foundation shipped them all mangled to Netter Digital in the first place)? Have they rebuilt them all?
    Inactive.

  6. #6
    Rasterbator Bog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles, USA
    Posts
    4,096
    It certainly sounds like ground-up rebuilds of all the models, from the way the article's written. Which is right and proper, as they'd probably look a bit dated now.
    Mark Hennessy-Barrett
    www.imaginetix.co.uk
    www.shaxam.com
    ...and then I was on fire.

  7. #7
    yeah re built with the help of detailed reference models made by fans of the show in lightwave!...and shipped to atmosphere fx studios to help them re make the models!

    amazing in it!...3d fan models help bring the show back!
    soooooo cool!
    stee+cat
    real name: steve gilbert
    http://www.cresshead.com/

    Q - How many polys?
    A - All of them!

  8. #8
    Super Member Red_Oddity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    A thousand years from here
    Posts
    3,352
    I thought they would only redo the FX for HD releases.
    I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious. - Albert Einstein
    visit my company site : House of Secrets
    visit my personal site : svenneve.com

  9. #9
    Rasterbator Bog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles, USA
    Posts
    4,096
    Quote Originally Posted by Red_Oddity
    I thought they would only redo the FX for HD releases.
    They've said this'll be in HD.


    Woot.
    Mark Hennessy-Barrett
    www.imaginetix.co.uk
    www.shaxam.com
    ...and then I was on fire.

  10. #10
    just need to add...

    stee+cat
    real name: steve gilbert
    http://www.cresshead.com/

    Q - How many polys?
    A - All of them!

  11. #11
    Rasterbator Bog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles, USA
    Posts
    4,096
    And I have to add:

    Richard Biggs.
    Andreas Katsulas.
    Tim Choate.


    To absent friends. We will see you again in a place where no shadows fall.

    *raises glass*
    Mark Hennessy-Barrett
    www.imaginetix.co.uk
    www.shaxam.com
    ...and then I was on fire.

  12. #12
    Worms no more! Free fun! Dodgy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    8,284
    Excellent
    Push the software, don't let it push YOU!
    My own plugins and work:www.mikegreen.name
    LaptopSetup:corei7 2.4GHz nvidia GT 650M 8Gig win8 64
    WorkSetup:core i7 3.4Ghz nvidia Quadro 2000 12Gig Ram Win7

  13. #13
    Registered User Kuzey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    5,262
    That was a very strange article. I just don't get it, is it about how they did the old show, is a about a new series...a movie??

    All I got out of it was a directors cut being talked about.

    Anybody got any clue as to what it's all about

    Kuzey

  14. #14
    they've DEEEEFFFFFFFIIIIINIIITELY have to remodel everything to get it up to today's snuff.

    they gotta really get in to all the nooks and crannies and really just nurnie the living f out of everything. more port holes and onboard light sources and retexture....

    hope they get rid of those ships that looked like BSG base stars (why DO lw cg shows have such similar production design... and in regards to these gooey, pointy looking structures, such OBJECTIONABLE production design... blech.... alien ships should look cool too)

    jin

  15. #15
    Almost newbie Cageman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Malmö, SWEDEN
    Posts
    7,781
    Quote Originally Posted by Kuzey
    That was a very strange article. I just don't get it, is it about how they did the old show, is a about a new series...a movie??

    All I got out of it was a directors cut being talked about.

    Anybody got any clue as to what it's all about

    Kuzey
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0871427/

    Directors Cut was probably used to refer to a cut that includes all the scenes the director want to use, but without any post-production or 3D-effects (but maybe animatics as placeholders for 3D).
    Senior Technical Supervisor
    Cinematics Department
    Massive - A Ubisoft Studio
    -----
    AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3990X (64 cores/ 128 threads)
    64GB Ram
    Quadro 620
    Windows 10 Pro x64

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •