Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Great MPEG2 encoding!

  1. #1
    Visually Developed Monkey cholo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    636

    Great MPEG2 encoding!

    Just encoded a 10 minute program I did using 2-pass VBR. To my eyes it looks as god as anything Tmpegenc does. It's not the fastest, but the quality is right there. Btw... All my source material was uncompressed rtv, and the quality really held up. Congrats NewTek.

  2. #2
    We've got it simple. Jim_C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Thee cool evening breezes of Anytown, USA
    Posts
    4,028
    Hey Cholo,

    That's great news to hear!

    What bitrates did you use for the 2 pass?

    Just wondering why you did a 2 pass on a 10 minute encode?

    Since you are using RTV you must be doing a SD DVD?
    Everything I have learned and read says that length would just be a CBR at 8k.

    I really respect your opinions and knowledge on things and just wondering why the 2 pass...


    Jim
    Last edited by Jim_C; 01-26-2007 at 07:05 AM.

  3. #3
    IMHO, the reason for 2 pass VBR is that for CBR, you can't go above your set bitrate.

    If you have an occasional, hard to compress scene, VBR can go above the average bitrate by borrowing bits from another, easier to compress scene.

    The 2 passes give the encoder a better idea of how to distribute the bits to get the best quality and still average out.

    2 pass on CBR just makes the bitrate more constant. There is always a little bitrate fluctuation in CBR and this minimizes it, but it's rarely useful IMHO.
    John Perkins
    Software Engineer

    "No, it's my natural color..."

  4. #4
    Visually Developed Monkey cholo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    636
    It was 2-pass 7mbps VBR. This is what I usually compress to. I've always felt it gives me the best quality vs single pass CBR, but of course this is not objective by any means. It's based on pure eye and gut feeling more than objective measuring tools and analysis. In any case, you expect a 10 hour render to be of higher quality than a 10 minute render of exactly the same thing right?

  5. #5
    NewTek Managment pnelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    726
    John Perkins can be thanked for his extra efforts in getting those render presets top notch!

    Way to go Perkins!
    Philip Nelson
    NewTek
    CRO - Chief Relationship Officer
    [email protected]
    http://www.newtek.com

    Follow NewTek on Twitter!
    @PhilipNelson

    Following on Facebook
    /Philip.Nelson

  6. #6
    We've got it simple. Jim_C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Thee cool evening breezes of Anytown, USA
    Posts
    4,028
    My question tho is this.,....

    If you are doing VBR and your Average is 7k, what is your max?

    From what I understand it would 8k correct? Since that is the safety point for player compatibility?

    If so why would you just not make the entire clip 8k and CBR, the max bitrate allowed? Since you have plenty of space on the DVD.

    Why sacrifice going down to 7k when you don't need to?

  7. #7
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,376
    Quote Originally Posted by pnelson
    Way to go Perkins!
    Not 'just another pretty face' ...
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by pnelson
    John Perkins can be thanked for his extra efforts in getting those render presets top notch!

    Way to go Perkins!
    Actually that was Brian. I don't want to take false credit.

    John
    John Perkins
    Software Engineer

    "No, it's my natural color..."

  9. #9
    NewTek Managment pnelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    726
    Oh yeah... Way to go Brian.
    Philip Nelson
    NewTek
    CRO - Chief Relationship Officer
    [email protected]
    http://www.newtek.com

    Follow NewTek on Twitter!
    @PhilipNelson

    Following on Facebook
    /Philip.Nelson

  10. #10
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,333
    Can the encoder force i-frames to markers in the project time line?

    Thank you,
    Last edited by joseburgos; 02-01-2007 at 11:05 AM.
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  11. #11
    Valiant NewTeKnight Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas, USA
    Posts
    13,055
    Speaking of encoding and bitrates etc. Anyone know of a good tutorial on the dark art for MPEG1/2/DVD? That covers the concepts in a friendly manner?

    The process always puzzles me, I never quite know what are the best settings to use. I realise it's content dependent, but there must be some good starting points to work from?

    Cheers
    Matt
    UI / UX Designer @ NewTek
    __________________________________________________
    www.pixsim.co.uk : LightWave Video Tutorials & Tools


  12. #12
    We've got it simple. Jim_C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Thee cool evening breezes of Anytown, USA
    Posts
    4,028
    http://dvd-hq.info/Site.html

    Some real good info on that site, including a handy dandy bitrate calculator under utilities.

  13. #13
    Registered User KiloWatkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    New MexKilo
    Posts
    1,029
    Thanks Cholo for confirming what EYE have seen. Did you set/try the 10bit setting?

    BestWishes
    GoodLuck KiloVideo

    Digitizing video since 1984
    HyMPG Designer since 1997
    Avatar says, 89.3 MPG Avg.
    [email protected]

  14. #14
    Registered User KiloWatkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    New MexKilo
    Posts
    1,029
    There was some concern about the file size of the presets, vs. TMPG. Well what happens to TMPG when adjusting the High quality settings? The file size increases as well as the encoding time. Newtek gave us this codec so I will use it, and figured out how to make chapters as render SaveAs for a burning app. Are they on an I frame? Doubt it. But what do you do if an I frame is half a word of audio? To each their own, I will still use TMPG when needed, but I'd rather render from SE Mpeg2 or sometime soon .m2v to save a step.

    My .05
    GoodLuck KiloVideo

    Digitizing video since 1984
    HyMPG Designer since 1997
    Avatar says, 89.3 MPG Avg.
    [email protected]

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by KiloWatkins
    There was some concern about the file size of the presets, vs. TMPG. Well what happens to TMPG when adjusting the High quality settings? The file size increases as well as the encoding time. Newtek gave us this codec so I will use it, and figured out how to make chapters as render SaveAs for a burning app. Are they on an I frame? Doubt it. But what do you do if an I frame is half a word of audio? To each their own, I will still use TMPG when needed, but I'd rather render from SE Mpeg2 or sometime soon .m2v to save a step.
    My .05
    I must say I've not seen size issues, granted I have not done much in the way of comparison work, but have found SpeedEdits output size very acceptable for what the presets put out quality wise.
    Definitely not bloated etc.

    But I wish I could get SpeedEdit to output to elementary streams (separate m2v/m2a etc.) but it refuses to do so

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •