Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Help needed with weight maps

  1. #1
    Registered User Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Visby, Sweden
    Posts
    165

    Help needed with weight maps

    Ok, I just can't figure out these nodes...

    I've fiddled with a few surfaces, tried, retried but can't get weightmaps to work in the node editor. In the "good 'ol days" you added a weightmap-layer, set it's mode to Alpha and of you went. But how do I do that now?

    Let's say that I've created a weightmap on an object where I want the placement of a bump-map/texture.

    How do I do this? The weightmap node only has an output named "Value". Where does it go? What should I do?




    Regards
    Thomas
    Last edited by Thomas; 12-14-2006 at 06:33 AM.
    Time is life, use it wisely...

  2. #2
    Worms no more! Free fun! Dodgy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    8,276
    Plug it into a mixer node and plug your two surfaces into the inputs, then feed the mixer into something else?
    Push the software, don't let it push YOU!
    My own plugins and work:www.mikegreen.name
    LaptopSetup:corei7 2.4GHz nvidia GT 650M 8Gig win8 64
    WorkSetup:core i7 3.4Ghz nvidia Quadro 2000 12Gig Ram Win7

  3. #3
    Registered User Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Visby, Sweden
    Posts
    165
    Thanks for a fast reply!

    But, I must be missing something.

    This is what I do but it isn't working.

    Do weightmaps have to have values from -100 to 100?

    Mine is just 100% where it needs to be.


    Regards
    Thomas
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Bild 3.png 
Views:	341 
Size:	25.3 KB 
ID:	39914  
    Time is life, use it wisely...

  4. #4
    Worms no more! Free fun! Dodgy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    8,276
    Have you rendered the scene? Mine works but it doesn't display in the preview...
    Push the software, don't let it push YOU!
    My own plugins and work:www.mikegreen.name
    LaptopSetup:corei7 2.4GHz nvidia GT 650M 8Gig win8 64
    WorkSetup:core i7 3.4Ghz nvidia Quadro 2000 12Gig Ram Win7

  5. #5
    Registered User Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Visby, Sweden
    Posts
    165


    That was it! Thank you! Could have been fooling around forever.

    Thanks Dodgy!


    Regards
    Thomas
    Time is life, use it wisely...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •