Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Lightwave and Laptop - no numeric keypad

  1. #1

    Lightwave and Laptop - no numeric keypad

    I just purchased a Dell M1710 laptop and after installing Lightwave, I realize I have no numeric keypad on the laptop to use for changing views. Is there any other way to do this in modeller other than using the numeric keypad?

    Thanks for help,
    Jgary

  2. #2
    Old Dog Learns New Tricks RudySchneider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Lincoln, CA
    Posts
    1,309
    As far as I know, there's no difference between the numeric pad and the number keys directly above your QWERTY keys. On the otherhand, I've got an Inspiron 8500, which has blue "Fn" key that allows a set of keys to be used as a numeric pad. Didn't Dell continue this feature on the M1710?
    There are no problems, only opportunities...

  3. #3
    Yes the fn key is there, and I just figured out how to use it to get the numeric keypad. I'm new to laptops, so I'm just getting this thing figured out.
    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Unregistered Guest Sarford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    1,187
    you could also use this icon, above every viewport
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Sarford; 12-12-2006 at 03:12 PM.

  5. #5
    Super Member CAClark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Blackburn, UK
    Posts
    1,591
    I think you'll find he's referring to the shading mode, which could still be done from the viewport title bar of course, but anyway..........

    Cheers!
    Craig A Clark
    Scorpio CGI
    My TWITTER

  6. #6
    Nothing ado about much Exception's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    5,560
    I'd get myself an external USB numerical keypad for the price of a sandwich.

  7. #7
    Registered User Seraph77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Poland, Sopot
    Posts
    160
    Yeah, the external numeric keyboard for laptops with mouse from logitech costs about 60 euro here. I cant imagine working with laptop - its nice to show he client something in progress, but modeling... arghh... my wife uses this for online shopping

    cheers

    Seraph
    The time is always against us...

    Take a look at my Architectural Tutorial

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •