Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Transfer Modes

  1. #1
    Visually Developed Monkey cholo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    636

    Transfer Modes

    I can't find anything on this from the features list, and it's been a biggie among feature requests with VT. Any chance this is being considered by the powers that be?

  2. #2
    XDCAM HD production ScorpioProd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    4,346
    OK, gotta ask... What do you mean, "transfer modes?"
    Eugene
    Scorpio Productions

  3. #3
    Creator of BobFX for VT Bobt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Plainfield, IL
    Posts
    1,319
    Get out your photoshop book Eugene.
    bobt_at_bobfx_com
    www.bobfx.com
    Bob Tasa

  4. #4
    We've talked about it actually.

    We weren't sure how useful it would be, so make sure you send in a request.

    [email protected]

    Thanks,
    John Perkins
    Software Engineer

    "No, it's my natural color..."

  5. #5
    XDCAM HD production ScorpioProd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    4,346
    Oh, I see... I've never gotten into Adobe stuff... Mirage is my tool for that kind of thing...
    Eugene
    Scorpio Productions

  6. #6
    Mirage can do it, they just present it differently.

    Examples of transfer modes would be dodge, burn, additive, subtract, multiply, lighten, etc.

    It's using the color/luminance of one layer to effect that of another basically.
    John Perkins
    Software Engineer

    "No, it's my natural color..."

  7. #7
    Visually Developed Monkey cholo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    636
    It would be very useful actually. For MTV style tiles, layering, etc...
    Just as an example, you can save yourself the alpha channel overhead for pure white titling by using additive as a transfer mode for a white text over black backgound video layer. I use transfer modes all the time, the effect is very different from just mixing layers via opacity. As of today, going over to After Effects to do it makes it a slow process, not to mention I need to render out all those segments when I do, using up valuable space. Tomorrow, with High def taking up even more space, particularly when rendering intermediates without compression, it will hurt even more.
    Last edited by cholo; 11-17-2006 at 01:51 PM.

  8. #8
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,355
    Quote Originally Posted by John Perkins
    Mirage can do it, they just present it differently.
    In Mirage and Aura both, the equivalent is "Merge" mode. Another difference is that Merges mode results in Aura are not visible until you actualy perform the Merge. (In Mirage, though I suspect few use it this way, you can preview them using the Keyframer.)
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •