Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Single Point Polys

  1. #1
    Super Member avkills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    1,363

    Single Point Polys

    Single point polys do not render using Perspective or Advanced Camera. Any ideas? Render fine with Classic camera.

    -mark

  2. #2
    obfuscated SDK hacker Lightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,613
    Yes, this is a know limitation. two point polygons and edges don't render either.
    Basically, since these represent entities with no real "size", they can't be hit by rays, and the new cameras use raytracing exclusively.
    I think it was mentioned that a solution for rendering those entities using the new cameras is planned.

    Cheers,
    Mike

  3. #3
    Super Member avkills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    1,363
    Hmm, that is a major bummer. Although if the new cameras use Raytracing only, then why are the checkboxes for Raytracing still under the Globals?

    I wonder if there is a Node that can do it. Off to Nodal to play.

    -mark

  4. #4
    Super Member avkills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    1,363
    Well I guess this is a wash. Anyone know when point and line rendering will work in the new camera modes. My object is rendering completely different in Classic camera, which means I would need to tweak my nodes just for the different camera types.

    ** Edit; Ok I guess if I turn on the raytracing functions using classic camera it renders correctly, although it seems much much slower the the new cameras. Oh well.

    -mark
    Last edited by avkills; 08-13-2006 at 01:02 PM.

  5. #5
    You could always use very small objects/4-point polygons. Might turn out better too, since it's not being faked.
    Confirmed -
    No Weapons of Mass Destruction
    or links to Al Queda or 9/11. (Sep. 2003)

  6. #6
    I am Jack's cold sweat Karmacop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Bathurst, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    2,117
    Quote Originally Posted by avkills
    Well I guess this is a wash. Anyone know when point and line rendering will work in the new camera modes. My object is rendering completely different in Classic camera, which means I would need to tweak my nodes just for the different camera types.
    If you want single point polys to render then use can use pixie dust, but I think you'll need to set up a particle emitter.

  7. #7
    Super Member avkills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    1,363
    Well doing a starfield of actual polys would be pain, especially since I want them in the right place.

    I am just going to stick with the classic cam for now until they get it into the workings of the new cams.

    I may try pixie dust, although I am not sure if it will do what I want. I need them all colored by a Vertex color map.

    -mark

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by avkills
    Well doing a starfield of actual polys would be pain, especially since I want them in the right place.
    Point Clone Plus?
    Confirmed -
    No Weapons of Mass Destruction
    or links to Al Queda or 9/11. (Sep. 2003)

  9. #9
    Super Member avkills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    1,363
    Quote Originally Posted by toby
    Point Clone Plus?
    Hmmm.... does it run under OS X?

    -mark

  10. #10
    Ya it's been in modeler for years - just put your point cloud in the background, the object to be cloned in the foreground and apply PCP it's in the Duplicate section of the Multiply tab.
    Confirmed -
    No Weapons of Mass Destruction
    or links to Al Queda or 9/11. (Sep. 2003)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •