Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: JPEG files again

  1. #1
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    57

    JPEG files again

    I canīt use any jpeg image neither as a backdrop or texture in Modeler or Layout. The input output folder in the plugins directory really have a jpeg.p file along with a png.p file. LW opens a png file and canīt read a jpeg file. I never saw an application running in Windows XP that canīt see jpeg files and, for sure LW is not that one. So, whats wrong?
    Thanks for any help.

  2. #2
    This may be a silly question but did you actually install the plug-in or just verify that it's in the plugin folder?
    Between the eyes and ears there lie the sounds of color and the light of a sigh.

  3. #3
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    57
    Robewil,

    maybe that'īs not a silly question, since Iīm quite new to Lightwave. In all other packages that I use, the installation of the program installs the image filters, but maybe....
    Should I reinstall the program or there is another way?
    Thank you

  4. #4
    In both Layout and Modeler, go to the Utilities tab. Click the Add Plugins button. A file requester will appear. Go to the input-output directory and select all the files and open. This will install all the input-output plug-ins. While you're at it, go to the other folders and install those plug-ins as well.

    Again, do this in Layout and Modeler.
    Between the eyes and ears there lie the sounds of color and the light of a sigh.

  5. #5
    Better that you don't use JPGs with Lightwave anyway. They cause instability, and sacrifice quality too. PNG is the best format to use, and also supports 8-bit color, which can save lots of texture memory.
    Confirmed -
    No Weapons of Mass Destruction
    or links to Al Queda or 9/11. (Sep. 2003)

  6. #6
    Working Monkey StereoMike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Luebeck, Germany
    Posts
    1,931
    Never had any problems with jpeg. Just make sure, you added all plugins.
    I use png too, if possible (e.g. generating images in photoshop by myself), but it's not necessary to convert jpgs from e.g. texture cds to use them in LW.

    Mike
    If you are not paying for it, you’re not the customer; you’re the product being sold.

  7. #7
    Nothing ado about much Exception's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    5,560
    You also dont need to scan for plugins in both applications. Open up one of them, scan for plugins, and close it. They should be added in the other too, Don't forget to reset your menus.

  8. #8
    Actually you don't need to scan any longer AT ALL.

    That's right LW now autoscans plug-ins by default every
    time you run it!

    You can also turn this feature off if you don't want it
    doing that.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by StereoMike
    Never had any problems with jpeg. Just make sure, you added all plugins.
    I use png too, if possible (e.g. generating images in photoshop by myself), but it's not necessary to convert jpgs from e.g. texture cds to use them in LW.

    Mike
    No it's not neccessary, but it is better without them.
    I've had problems that were a direct result of JPGs, they're not allowed where I work, and several people here on the forums have solved their problems by switching -
    http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=50921
    http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthr...&highlight=JPG
    http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthr...&highlight=JPG
    http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthr...&highlight=JPG
    Confirmed -
    No Weapons of Mass Destruction
    or links to Al Queda or 9/11. (Sep. 2003)

  10. #10
    Nothing ado about much Exception's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    5,560
    Quote Originally Posted by Tesselator
    Actually you don't need to scan any longer AT ALL.

    That's right LW now autoscans plug-ins by default every
    time you run it!

    You can also turn this feature off if you don't want it
    doing that.
    Like, if you don't want your LW cluttered with buggy Legacy plugins, or when you don't want the 30 second startup delay, or when LW crashes because of a faulty plugin. And this is only in lw 9 ladies and gentlemen, which makes it pretty irrelevant here.

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by Exception
    Like, if you don't want your LW cluttered with buggy Legacy plugins, or when you don't want the 30 second startup delay, or when LW crashes because of a faulty plugin. And this is only in lw 9 ladies and gentlemen, which makes it pretty irrelevant here.
    You're just a ray of sunshine today, aren't you?
    Confirmed -
    No Weapons of Mass Destruction
    or links to Al Queda or 9/11. (Sep. 2003)

  12. #12
    Nothing ado about much Exception's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    5,560
    Just trying to balance out the scales in terms of the boundless fantastic-wow-super-bestthingunderthesun-therehasneverbeenabetterpieceofsoftwareEVER reactions on lw 9 outside of the beta forums. It's a good program, but the propaganda is just going up the wrong alley. Creating anticipation and excitement is fine, but you need to be honest about both sides of the story. If Tess wants to be the sun, I'll be the moon.

  13. #13
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    57

    No solution

    "Better that you don't use JPGs with Lightwave anyway. They cause instability, and sacrifice quality too. PNG is the best format to use, and also supports 8-bit color, which can save lots of texture memory".

    "Never had any problems with jpeg. Just make sure, you added all plugins.
    I use png too, if possible (e.g. generating images in photoshop by myself), but it's not necessary to convert jpgs from e.g. texture cds to use them in LW".


    So it seems that, unlike every app around, LW 8 canīt handle jpegīs... Something is wrong here. Example: Dan Ablanīs book, relly all its images in this "non acceptable" jpg format instead of the PNG recomended. Some people say "never use jpeg", others use it always, "no problem"... Something is very wrong here. For me, the only file format LW accepts is tga, good, but big format. Untill I solve this, not even think of LW9, although the edge manipulation seems wonderfull. And the reason is simple: how many more of that "surprises" will find? I have others 3D apps but even still learning LW Iīm sure its the best of all, so my preoccupation....

  14. #14
    Nothing ado about much Exception's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    5,560
    Nelson,
    I dont think many people have problems with the image formats. But if you cannot load them at all, you just need to scan for plugins, that's all. I can tell you there are currently hardly any bug reports about image formats watsoever. It is one of the best applications in terms of image format support. What was voiced here was personal preference, don't worry about it.

    Make sure modeler is not running. Open layout, go to 'utilities' tab, under 'additional' choose 'edit plugins', a panel opens up, a few plugins will already be present, but hit the 'scan for plugins' button, and select the 'plugins' folder in your lighwave folder. It will search for a while, then tell you it found X plugins.
    Open up the Edit > 'Edit menu layout', and at the top switch to 7.5 style and then back to default, this will reset the menus to include all the plugins. Now close layout to save the configs.

    This happened probably because your configuration files were accidentally erased. They reside in your personal data folder. If they get erased, lw loses its configs, and you need to do this. There's goo reasons for it and is actually a good system. you can back up those config files and edit them by hand too.
    Last edited by Exception; 06-03-2006 at 09:10 AM.

  15. #15
    Audere-Est-Facere adrian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    Posts
    2,463
    In my experience, I only had problems with JPG files was when I was using very texture-intensive models.... because JPEGS within LW use a lot more memory compared to PNG.

    I recently posted a PDF file(http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthr...t=50921&page=2) that goes into great depth about image formats (and the best use of them) in LW.

    Toby is right... best not to use JPGs at all.
    Adrian.

    "Dreams are good, but memories are better"

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •