Thread: Expression help needed

Expression help needed

I'm trying to animate a scene where the client requires the shot to pan from an orthographic side view to an overhead orthographic view, but during the transition needs to show perspective.

I've been able to find some settings (thanks to the replies from my last post) that work for getting an ortho shot, but getting in and out of perspective and keeping the camera on the object is a real nightmare!

The extremes are silly so getting a nice smooth transition is problematic to say the least.

I was wondering if some kind of expression linked to the camera's FOV made do the trick, but I'm not good with those, so any help or alternate suggestions is much appreciated!
    i7 X3930/32GB/Quadro 4000

If you don't dig expressions you should do yourself a favor and familiarize yourself with Cycler.

I'm assuming you are moving the camera backwards in z and zooming in really hard to achieve the transition from perspective to something orthographic-like.