Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 40

Thread: Quicktime Stutters

  1. #16

    Clarification: 7.0.4 does NOT resolve audio stutter at the VT card output.

    You're saying you are now getting 7.0.4 to play QT audio through VT's audio outputs without stuttering?
    Rats. I just double-checked this. Unfortunately, the answer to your question is no. When playing back a Quicktime movie in Quicktime player, while using the VT3 card's audio output, I still get a stutter with 7.0.4.

    However, and this is where I saw "progress" on my workstation, if I change my Windoze "Sounds and Audio Devices" settings to use my onboard audio chip, I am able to play Quicktime moves with the 7.0.4 player without stutters. I was not able to do this with 7.0.3. My enthusiasm superceded a more thorough confirmation of the VT card issue. The installation of 7.0.4 clearly doesn't represent a solution on the VT side of things.

    The NewTek crew will need to look out for this going forward with VT[5], SpeedEdit VT and the standalone SpeedEdit if they haven't fixed it already.

  2. #17
    Broadcast Engineer tonsofpcs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    213
    Has anyone resolved this issue or found a viable workaround yet?
    tonsofpcs (Eric Adler)
    http://www.videoproductionsupport.com/

    Amiga will last Forever!

  3. #18
    I'm using 6.5.1 - still stutters - any suggestions?
    “The Difficult is that which can be done immediately; the Impossible is that which takes a little longer.”
    - George Santayana ...

  4. #19
    I'm not the expert on this, but my understanding is that this is an issue that NewTek is aware of and something that they will be taking care of on their end. I.e., it's not an Apple issue per se.

    Option 1:Use a different sound card to view and listen to quicktime movies.
    Option 2:Purchase Quicktime Pro and export move to AVI prior to playback.

    That's about all I have for now.

  5. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    US
    Posts
    859
    well will NT be resolving this issue? because now we have this to worry about


    http://www.us-cert.gov/cas/techalerts/TA06-132B.html

    and what about VT5 will VT5 also have an issue w/ quicktime?

  6. #21
    XDCAM HD production ScorpioProd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    4,346
    "Worry about?" This is GREAT news! This means there's a brand new QT 7.1 to try and see if that works with VT now!

    Yes, I'll try it and report back!

    As for VT[5], since the audio hardware isn't changing, if there is a problem in VT[4], there will be in VT[5] as well unless Newtek fixes it.
    Eugene
    Scorpio Productions

  7. #22
    I installed 7.1.

    As expected, the playback of Quicktime audio still stutters when playing back audio with the VT card.

    Given the improved QT support promised in SpeedEdit, chances must be good that the crew will be addressing this issue in the next release.

  8. #23
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    US
    Posts
    859
    Thanks for the report. Too bad we have these issues.

  9. #24
    XDCAM HD production ScorpioProd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    4,346
    Well, OK, then the ball is back in Newtek's court. It's up to them to solve it.
    Eugene
    Scorpio Productions

  10. #25
    Registered User sierra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Posts
    122
    I too have this problem ever since I upgraded to QT7Pro. Before I wave goodby to the thirty bucks I spent to upgrade to QTPro, I am willing to convert to AVI. I just tried it and it works fine.

    At least I can end the problem of having to download to the other computer to hear any MOV's with sound.

    Thanks for this helpful thread.
    Last edited by sierra; 07-27-2006 at 03:55 PM.
    Sierra Rose

    sierrandipity.com

  11. #26
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    US
    Posts
    859
    yes, one of those things that seems have been pushed under the rug.

  12. #27
    XDCAM HD production ScorpioProd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    4,346
    Well, you're not gonna see anything happen with QT 7.x working with VT[4] 4.6c, but it should work with SpeedEDIT and VT[5].
    Eugene
    Scorpio Productions

  13. #28

    QT downloads

    I'm running into the same stuttering problem.

    Does anyone know a FREE download to QT6?

    I've found lots of sites which need you to subscribe and pay as the LAST step, of course!

    Thanks~

    Ty

  14. #29
    Registered User KSTAR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    527
    Since this hasn't been fixed yet.

    If I enable and configure my onboard audio to work with QT 7.1 will this cause any conflict with VT 4.6? Right now its disabled because I thought thats what VT required?
    Kevin Washington

  15. #30
    XDCAM HD production ScorpioProd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    4,346
    Nope, VT doesn't care where you route your system sounds.

    Go ahead and turn on your on-board audio for everything except VT.
    Eugene
    Scorpio Productions

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •