Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Why is this happening ?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1

    Question Why is this happening ?

    Hey I cant figure out why this is happening.
    the polys look fine until I flip them or extrude them.
    Its that triangle poly on the f and the H . I cant figure out why its there.
    Ive tried to delete the ploy and reselect the points in order and create new poly but it gives same result.
    Any Ideas?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by malikai666; 05-07-2003 at 11:29 AM.

  2. #2
    heres pic
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by malikai666; 05-07-2003 at 11:30 AM.

  3. #3
    ShortsightedSithAssassin
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,948
    I've had the same thing with text - it doesn't appear or render in Layout, so often you can just forget about it.

  4. #4
    Can U guys see the pics?
    for some reason I cant.
    well just in case you cant
    Im getting a triangle poly on my F's and H's
    and it seems to be on the back side of my letters wich were imported from illustrator EPS file.
    It starts from the bottom of letter and goes to top right of arm from F
    Hopefully u can see the pic, Ive posted pics before with no problems Im not sure whats up today.
    Last edited by malikai666; 05-07-2003 at 11:35 AM.

  5. #5
    self flagellating LW monk
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    philadelphia
    Posts
    1,708
    render it... tell me if it shows up in the render.

  6. #6
    i have that happen all the time when i import text from illustrator and bevel or extrude it. it's always been the backside polys in my cases. i've just deleted them (the backside polys) when they aren't being seen. if you must have them i'd try looking around the backside real close and merging some points.

  7. #7
    Ok u were right,
    when I render them in layout they are not there anymore
    its still pretty weird though
    anyone know what causes that?

  8. #8
    d i g i t a l u k a luka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    297
    Hi
    Yes I have that happen to me all the time as I have done a few logo's. I just trippled the polys and it went away.
    ::::::::::::::::::::::
    D I G I T A L U K A
    ::::::::::::::::::::::

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    33
    I would think it is an OpenGL error.

  10. #10
    self flagellating LW monk
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    philadelphia
    Posts
    1,708
    it Is a display error.
    there are ways of avoiding this behavior, but as long as it looks good in the render, I suggest you accept it.

  11. #11
    Cocktail me!
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Posts
    260
    It is a display error, but you can get rid of it easily. It happens on really complicated faces. (ie lots of points)

    Add a few joints in the offending poly by using the Spolit command (control-L) and the problem will go away.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •