Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29

Thread: New plugin "Select Doubled Polys"

  1. #1
    Child of time Nitisara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ekaterinburg, Russia
    Posts
    597

    New plugin "Select Doubled Polys"

    This plugin selects polygons which are doubled (for example copied and pasted on the same place).

    Best regards,
    Nitisara.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Nitisara; 10-28-2005 at 01:56 AM.

  2. #2
    DragonFist WyrmFriend
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Sunland, CA
    Posts
    1,172
    Holy freaking cow! I can't even begin to count the number of times I did something that resulted in double polygons that I did not want and I did not want to go back and redo all the work I did since and had a **** of a time selecting those buggers right.

    Assuming it it works, thanks much in advance
    _____________________________________________

    Shawn "DragonFist" Smith

  3. #3
    Partially Baked blabberlicious's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    678
    Plug-a-licious

    s'all I can say

    Steve Williams | d i g f r e a k | UK

    Mac: Dual 2.5GHZ G5, 2g Ram, ATi 128 OSX 10.3.7

    PC: AMD 64 X2 Dual Core +3800, Quadro FX 1300, 2 GiG Ram

  4. #4
    Super Member nemac4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    562
    Nitisara,.. you are quickly becoming one of my favorite plug-in creators.

  5. #5
    Valiant NewTeKnight Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas, USA
    Posts
    13,056
    Have to say, this has happened to me a number of times! Will try it out!
    UI / UX Designer @ NewTek
    __________________________________________________
    www.pixsim.co.uk : LightWave Video Tutorials & Tools


  6. #6
    World Builder Rich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    353
    Tried it out and I like it because it is different then the one currently in LW. There is a command in LW that elminatates doubled polys if the points are merged it is Shift-i. This plugin does not require the points to be merged.

  7. #7
    Child of time Nitisara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ekaterinburg, Russia
    Posts
    597
    Quote Originally Posted by Rich
    it is different then the one currently in LW
    It also works with skelegons and faces with reverse normals.

  8. #8
    Valiant NewTeKnight Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas, USA
    Posts
    13,056
    I can confirm, it works brilliantly, thanks Nitisara!
    UI / UX Designer @ NewTek
    __________________________________________________
    www.pixsim.co.uk : LightWave Video Tutorials & Tools


  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by nemac4
    Nitisara,.. you are quickly becoming one of my favorite plug-in creators.
    same here, same here

  10. #10
    One of my ever searched for plugin! Many thanks Nitisara. You are fast an precious!
    Gianandrea aka LAV aka gigionaz'
    the ever changing collage of our avatars

    my site

    LW is the zen way to 3D

  11. #11
    Chief Noob Hoopti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Mooresville, NC
    Posts
    435
    Excellent job! Love it! Cleans up stuff that can take alot of time nicely. Thanks for making me more efficient.

    Hoop
    www.mean3d.com

    "Problems worthy of attack, prove their worth by hitting back." -- Piet Hein

  12. #12
    I AM THE Action_Bob
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Aurora, Colorado
    Posts
    398
    I taught an intro lightwave class some years ago. I had a student that had doubled polys and He could have used this plug-in then. However, I could never figure why anyone would ever have two polys in the same place....

    tsk tsk... people - you all need to model cleaner and be more tidy! LOL...

    -Adrian (the guy that has never had doubled polys)...



    p.s.

    Thanks anyway for the plug - you are definitely carving out your niche as a valuable resource to the community.

  13. #13
    Super Member nemac4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    562
    Quote Originally Posted by ACLOBO
    I taught an intro lightwave class some years ago. I had a student that had doubled polys and He could have used this plug-in then. However, I could never figure why anyone would ever have two polys in the same place....

    tsk tsk... people - you all need to model cleaner and be more tidy! LOL...

    -Adrian (the guy that has never had doubled polys)...



    p.s.

    Thanks anyway for the plug - you are definitely carving out your niche as a valuable resource to the community.
    I'm sure that some of us model doubled polys by accident but sometimes they occur from conversions.

    I know for me,.. this plug did wonders for saving hours of work with repairing models converted from Autocad Mechanical Desktop to 3ds to LWO,.. where nearly all of the polys were doubled on 5 different models.

  14. #14
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    75
    Sign me up on the list of satisfied users of this excellent plugin!
    Thank you.

  15. #15
    Nothing ado about much Exception's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    5,560
    thanks for the handy plugin!
    sounds like people need to discover LW's unify tool though from the responses...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •