Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Hub

  1. #1
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    london
    Posts
    18

    Angry Hub

    I am just getting started on Lightwave 3D seven for macintosh. I am currently going through various tutorials and finding my way round, however i can not get my hub to launch modeler and layout. What am i doing wrong? So I am now currently working in the programmes independently.
    Also when i try to render added cameras to a scene they revert back to there default location.
    Any pointers would be of great help. Thanks Matt.

  2. #2
    I've found that in my case, I have to have both applications open at least once before the hub will launch either of them.

    As far as your camera relocating after you move it, you probably have "auto key" turned off. You need to either manually create a key-frame after you position your camera (by pressing the 'Enter' key) or turn on autokey. Autokey is a button at the bottom around the middle of the bottom bar.

    -tm

  3. #3
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    london
    Posts
    18
    Thanks, I will give it a go.

  4. #4
    suspended in Gaffa noiseboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    London,UK
    Posts
    438
    It may be that the hub isnt being activated by the application. Check the two LW cmdline and modeller cmdline files in the program directory, if the hub is inactive then there will be a -0 line in each file. If there is the hub wont start, If you remove the -0 from each file then the hub will start when you launch either App.

  5. #5
    self flagellating LW monk
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    philadelphia
    Posts
    1,708
    the hub is Shoddy software. it is bug ridden and poorly designed, i suggest avoiding it altogether.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    33
    Perhaps there is something to what you say
    about the quality of the Hub's code, but avoiding
    it is a ludicrous suggestion, being a critical element
    to workflow. I would think it should be a paramount
    item on the development teams agenda.

  7. #7
    self flagellating LW monk
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    philadelphia
    Posts
    1,708
    "but avoiding it is a ludicrous suggestion, being a critical element to workflow"

    ok. I can see your point even if i dont agree with it, but even if the hub is a "critical element to workflow" then all the more reason to avoid it since it :
    1. loses data
    2. causes crashes
    3. confuses the user, and causes data loss bc the user winds up saving over changes.
    4. cant launch applications
    5. has trouble updating between the applications

    I wish the hub worked, heck I wish I didnt Need the hub, and LW and Modeller just Knew when the other had done something (go see my thread in the feature request section, make comments). The plain truth is, the hub is not designed with Os X in mind, and its not implemented correctly. Its a hammer with broken glass glued to it, when all you need tweasers.

  8. #8
    Originally posted by eblu

    I wish the hub worked, heck I wish I didnt Need the hub, and LW and Modeller just Knew when the other had done something
    man, I'll drink to that! if that's the way NT intend for Layout and Modeler to communicate, then by all means, it ought to work, or be fixed.

    s

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    33
    Don't get me wrong elbu, I'm right there with you,
    and a bit out of line... no disrespect. I'm just hoping that
    somebody at Corporate is hearing all this. I run LW
    on four machines, three of which have different versions
    of X. The hub seems the most stable in 10.1.4 here
    at the shop. I've writ to everyone at Newtek that
    I can find an address for, (the Europeans seem the most
    interested BTW). A reply from Texas came back mirroring
    your suggestion, "we recommend not using it". Don't "use" it?
    Well, now, that's an interesting suggestion...
    (Of course, that's the truth, it being the reality).

    The Hub is at the root of the software. It seems that if anything
    should work with reliability it would be the Hub.

    It's been two months since the Mac version was pulled.
    More than a little embarrassing.... "We're sorry, it really
    doesn't work so well, we recommend not using it".

    It is no secret that every software manufacturer is taking
    massive hits from the update of Apple's new OS. And
    everyone who is a part of the issue is right there in the
    heat with it. I just cannot figure how there is not more
    honest feedback from the manufacturer concerning the above.
    The loyalty is huge. Everyone that uses LW on a Mac
    wants it to be fluid. I would say that most of us have
    a great deal of bravado for the people that are trying
    to effort that success, and I would say, that there would
    be a whole lot more if people knew what was really going on.

    You can buy the program. But you can't buy a new Mac and
    run an early version of the OSX that it runs well on,
    can you? No. You can't. (Anyone want to talk 9?)

    People have a lot of empathy for a situation when there is
    the courage to say, "this is killing us, you have no idea".
    That, is acceptable. That's actually very cool. But, "we recommend
    not using it"? Newtek, that is not who you are. Your software
    is brilliant. You just have to decide in the morning that you
    want to live up to it, and if you don't, please, let the folks
    that pay their hard earned for it, know what the real deal is.

  10. #10
    self flagellating LW monk
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    philadelphia
    Posts
    1,708
    amen keith.
    the hub never worked right, it is essential to workflow, so we get stuck either working in the stone age without it, or losing data. I have chosen to protect myself from the hub, Down with the Hub!

    personally i see many caveats like this one in LW, it has ceased to surprise me. I've never compiled a list of Lightwave gotchas, but i suspect that if you were to subtract all the little snags and gotchas from the package (things that tech support suggests that you dont use), youd find that the only stuff that works properly is 10 - 15 years old.

    thats right, I went there. I just said that Lightwave 3d is only as good/useful as it was 10 - 15 years ago. take a good look at screamernet... 10 years ago it was state of the art. but i digress. this says it all:
    "A reply from Texas came back mirroring
    your suggestion, 'we recommend not using it'."

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •