Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Apparent V8 Bugs...

  1. #1

    Exclamation Apparent V8 Bugs...

    I am using Mac G5 Dual 2.0/4.5GB RAM/OS 10.3.6, LW 8.0.1.

    I am having the following problems:

    1) MODELER I am unable to import AI files of any type. Upon attempted import, I receive 2 different types of messages: a) "Cannot open the EPSF File. Please check the file permission" and b) "The program does not support AI9 or later please resave to AI8".

    The first message (a) makes no sense. I have altered "file permissions" until my fingers were blue from typing attempting to affect this message---with no avail. I set the files permissions so that they are readable and writable by anyone....and I still get this message. The error message does not appear to reflect the true problem. (baffled)

    The second message (b) I understand the intent...however it gives me this message when I try to open AI8 or AI3 files as well....(I am working in AI CS and the legacy export does not seem to work in this instance.)

    I am only able to import (legacy) EPS files. This does not seem to be right.

    2) MODELER I am receiving an "out of memory error" when I try to perform a simple boolean subtract on 2 (simple eps imported outline (an oval), then simple extruded) objects. I have 4.5 GB of RAM. Something smells funny here...

    Any insight or suggestions would be helpful. I am exceedingly frustrated that I can't perform these basic tasks.

  2. #2
    Super Member Silkrooster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Northern New York
    Posts
    5,254
    I just tried importing an ai file with a circle created in Corel Draw 12. I used ai ver. 7 format. I had no problems importing the file. I have a feeling your problems lies with the plugin. try reloading your plug ins and see if that helps or not.
    Silk
    Silkrooster.com - temporarily offline due to updating...
    Spinquad Forum - Closed Sorry...
    lightwave-resources.pdf - - temporarily offline due to updating...

  3. #3
    LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    5,051
    Silkrooster, it's a Mac-only problem. cclephane, go here:

    http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?t=28419

    B
    Ben Vost - NewTek LightWave 3D development
    LightWave 3D Trial Edition
    AMD Threadripper 1950X, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (4GB and 768 CUDA cores) and GTX 1080 (8GB and 2560 CUDA cores) driver version 430.86
    AMD FX8350 4.2 GHz, Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit, 16GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (416.34, 4GB and 768 CUDA cores)
    Dell Server, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Xeon E3-1220 @3.10 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Quadro K620
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  4. #4
    Code Muppet evenflcw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    2,642
    Despite the error message talking about "memory", perhaps the boolean problem is related to pointcount. LW has a limit on thousand-something points per polygon. Perhaps by trying to boolean you are exceeding this limit? If so try to split the polygon into smaller parts before the boolean.
    Last edited by evenflcw; 11-16-2004 at 02:43 AM.

  5. #5
    LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    5,051
    no, it isn't. It's a Mac problem that has been discussed a lot... Have a look at that thread...

    B
    Ben Vost - NewTek LightWave 3D development
    LightWave 3D Trial Edition
    AMD Threadripper 1950X, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (4GB and 768 CUDA cores) and GTX 1080 (8GB and 2560 CUDA cores) driver version 430.86
    AMD FX8350 4.2 GHz, Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit, 16GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (416.34, 4GB and 768 CUDA cores)
    Dell Server, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Xeon E3-1220 @3.10 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Quadro K620
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  6. #6
    Code Muppet evenflcw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    2,642
    Ah ok, sorry for spoiling the thread. I had a quick look at that thread and thought it only covered the first question.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •