Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 37

Thread: Screamernet tutorials

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    5,060

    Screamernet tutorials

    Hi all,

    Here's a thread dedicated to all those tutorials out there that teach people how to configure Screamernet. If I've missed any, please reply to this post with new links and I'll edit...

    PC:
    Matt Gorner's world-renowned PDF tutorial:
    http://www.newtek-europe.com/uk/comm.../gorner/3.html (bottom of the page)

    Matt's video tutorial:
    http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthre...threadid=24065

    Fabio's:
    http://www.firedragon.com/~fabio/screamer/screamer.htm

    Ours:
    http://www.newtek-europe.com/uk/support/download.html

    Kevin Phillips':
    http://forums.newtek.com/discus/messages/2/13419.html

    Mac:
    Worms of Art:
    http://www.the-worms-of-art.com/tuto...utes_221.html#

    Mike Scaramozzino's:
    http://dreamlight.com/insights/10/welcome.html

    Non-planar's:
    http://homepage.mac.com/nonplanar/ (click on the Scream! link)

    Ours:
    http://www.newtek-europe.com/uk/support/download.html


    For Linux?
    In my opinion, it's not worth using the Linux Screamernet. It will only work with the small number of plug-in that exist in the package. I think it's better to set up WINE and use the Windows render node under Linux. That way you have access to all the plug-ins that exist for Windows. In addition, I have received reports that it still doesn't lose the speed advantage given by the low overhead of Linux. I'm not sure how that can be the case since it is running Windows under emulation, but there you go...

    Third party controllers
    Amleto: (Win)
    http://www.nodalideas.com/amleto/index.html

    ButterflyNetRender: (Win)
    http://www.butterflynetrender.com/

    Mule: (win)
    [urlhttp://www.epicsoft.net/products/mule/[/url]

    LightNet: (Win)
    http://www.joejustice.org/lightwave/lightnet/

    Renderfarm Commander: (Mac OSX)
    http://www.brucerayne.com

    ScreamerNet Controller: (Mac OSX)
    http://www.catalystproductions.cc/screamernet/

    Spider: (Win)
    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/SXSpider/

    TequilaScream: (Win)
    http://www.digitaltoons.tv/shop/

    Misc
    A really good optimiser for rendering, whether through a single machine, or in preparation for distributed rendering, is Kevin Phillips' LCSM (Lean Clean Scene Machine), available for PC and Mac from the NewTek Europe website in our interview with him:
    http://www.newtek-europe.com/uk/comm...hillips/1.html


    Phew, think that's all. Let me know if I've missed any!

    B
    Last edited by BeeVee; 05-10-2006 at 01:54 AM. Reason: Added some items
    Ben Vost - NewTek LightWave 3D development
    LightWave 3D Trial Edition
    AMD Threadripper 1950X, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (4GB and 768 CUDA cores) and GTX 1080 (8GB and 2560 CUDA cores) driver version 430.86
    AMD FX8350 4.2 GHz, Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit, 16GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (416.34, 4GB and 768 CUDA cores)
    Dell Server, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Xeon E3-1220 @3.10 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Quadro K620
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  2. #2
    Krazy Kiwi kevman3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    892
    I did a really simple no-frills guide to setting up a small renderfarm on NewTek's old forum system. I still use this one - Its quick, simple and easy for most non-techies to follow...

    http://forums.newtek.com/discus/messages/2/13419.html?
    -- --
    100 Days challenge 2014 : 800 Bits

    Personal Blog :Personal Blog
    NZLWUG : Facebook / Blog
    -- --

  3. #3
    LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    5,060
    Added to the list!

    B
    PS. It was really good to meet you at Siggraph (even if it was for a short time) - how did that lady go away? Was she impressed?
    Ben Vost - NewTek LightWave 3D development
    LightWave 3D Trial Edition
    AMD Threadripper 1950X, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (4GB and 768 CUDA cores) and GTX 1080 (8GB and 2560 CUDA cores) driver version 430.86
    AMD FX8350 4.2 GHz, Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit, 16GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (416.34, 4GB and 768 CUDA cores)
    Dell Server, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Xeon E3-1220 @3.10 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Quadro K620
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  4. #4
    Krazy Kiwi kevman3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    892
    Cool! Yeh, was a good 30 second 'Hello', eh!

    I've sent you an email response to the second half of your question, since I figured wouldn't block up the forum here with chit-chat!

    PS. I just noted - there's TWO L's in Phillips - They also mispelt that in the 8 Reference Manual as well I noticed!
    -- --
    100 Days challenge 2014 : 800 Bits

    Personal Blog :Personal Blog
    NZLWUG : Facebook / Blog
    -- --

  5. #5

    'Nother Mac controller…

    BeeVee,

    Check out "Renderfarm Commander" for Mac OSX at http://www.brucerayne.com

    BZ

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    CTRL ALT DEL
    Posts
    176

    Matt Gorner's world-renowned PDF tutorial

    Hi, I have successfully used Matt Gorner's world-renowned PDF tutorial to setup Screameret II for Lightwave 8.2, using 20 nodes, and it is working very well, including usage with image maps, sequential image maps, and plug-ins. Thanks for the excellent tutorial.
    -qb

  7. #7
    can't.. re.. member stib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    [0,0,0]
    Posts
    958
    I'm not sure how that can be the case since it is running Windows under emulation, but there you go...
    According to the Winehq page:
    ..as the name says, Wine Is Not a (CPU) Emulator. Wine just provides the Windows API. This means that you will need an x86-compatible processor to run an x86 Windows application, for instance from Intel or AMD. The advantage is that, unlike solutions that rely on CPU emulation, Wine runs applications at full speed. Sometimes a program run under Wine will be slower than when run on a copy of Microsoft Windows, but this is more due to the fact that Microsoft has heavily optimized parts of their code, whereas mostly Wine is not well optimized (yet). Occasionally, an app may run faster under Wine than on Windows. Most apps run at roughly the same speed.

    So there y'go. I'm currently building a dual boot linux / windows render farm.. wel render garden, I'll do some tests with LWSN under linux, windows and wine and post the results, just as soon as I can get the **&@%^#$ LWSN network going. <tears more hair out>

    Hey does anyone know of any Linux LWSN documentation apart from the 7.5c release readme?
    I can't even find the executable file once I installed it, let alone set up all the configs. I've set up a cross platform network using OSX and windows machines before but the current install OSX and Linux is doing my head in.
    Last edited by stib; 05-19-2005 at 06:14 PM.
    2 × Xeon 2690 - 20 cores @ 3GHz, 2 × NVIDIA GeForce Titan Black 6GB, 64GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro
    MacBook Pro, Intel Core i7 2.6Ghz, El Capitan

    nerdiness and free stuff at my blob

  8. #8
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles CA USA
    Posts
    15

    Let's share our pain...

    Hello,

    I'm trying to setup a linux/windows renderfarm too.
    Shall we share our experience ?

    So far, I've been able to setup a windows render farm with 20+ nodes.
    I'm using Lightnet (joe justice) as controler, on a Win2K server hosting the scenes, renders and applications files

    I've installed linux as dual boot on my workstation.
    I've setup samba, and mounted the network drives
    I've installed the 7.5d RPM, and it runs fine, but...

    1 - Lightnet does not sees it.
    2 - The embeded LW Screamer controler sees it, and then freezes.

    I'll be happy to have some help past that point.
    Thanks
    /bernard/
    Last edited by mendiburu; 05-24-2005 at 06:38 PM.

  9. #9
    can't.. re.. member stib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    [0,0,0]
    Posts
    958

    Angry a pain shared is a pain doubled..

    Silly me. I thought that between OSX and linux all I'd have to do was plug the ethernet cable in and get to work. HA! To get the Apple box to see the linux box I've spent about three days crawling round the basement of my linux install trying to plug the right wires into the right sockets.

    I am so over linux. It was a good idea at the time when I was selling it to the suits: "Linux is so cool, it's really stable and there's lots of support and it's secure and best of all it's free!" forgot to mention that to do something like share a volume on the network you have to learn how to edit .conf files with a terminal based text editor, and manually start all the daemons (what planet are those linux geeks on "daemons"?! purleese) and the file servers and punch a hole in the firewall to let the connection get through.

    But now I can mount the volume on my mac desktop using flaky flaky afp. NFS? that would be nice but no can do. Even SMB doesn't want to work.

    So after learning more about linux networking than I really ever wanted to know I go to run the LWSN node.
    error while loading shared libraries: lwtools.8.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

    Ok that's why everyone doesn't use linux right there. It's a great operating system, but it doesn't work. Nothing ever just.. works. You ALWAYS end up reconfiguring some obscure config file using some instructions written in Old Icelandic with a text editor that came from the days when computers had valves.

    I'm giving up. I've ordered a copy of windoze for all my render nodes, the cost doesn't come close to the cost of me messing around with this confounded geekery for days on end. I feel defeated, and bad about myself for having to share the same room as a bunch of windows boxxen, but there you go. At least I'll know how to set up the network.
    Last edited by stib; 05-25-2005 at 12:13 AM.
    2 × Xeon 2690 - 20 cores @ 3GHz, 2 × NVIDIA GeForce Titan Black 6GB, 64GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro
    MacBook Pro, Intel Core i7 2.6Ghz, El Capitan

    nerdiness and free stuff at my blob

  10. #10
    Newbie Member Luv2Anim8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Tied To Desk!
    Posts
    28
    Lets not forget MULE, he's been my network rendering solution for over a year now. They also announced at their NAB booth, that 2.0 is coming out in Aug... theres some 2.0 info and screen shots on the site also...

    Check it [email protected]
    www.epicsoft.net/products/mule

    you should add their setup videos to the screamernet section also...One is by Don Balance from Toasterdudeds and the other by Ryan Moore from epicsoft...

    just giving a shoutout to my pipline peeps :-)
    "Your dead if you aim only for kids. Adults are only kids grown up, anyway." -Walt

  11. #11
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    6
    Linux render nodes can be done and I only have one issue left to solve before I know how to solve the rest of it. Currently I am getting .flx files as output from my linux render nodes. Does anyone know how to get linux to output something other than .flx files? If I can get this working I would be more than willing to put together a tutorial on how to create a linux render cluster with a windows master node.

    Just in case anyone is wondering I am using wine to run my lwsn.exe and samba to mount a common network drive to a wine drive.
    Last edited by Andruil; 05-11-2006 at 09:34 AM.

  12. #12
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Valencia
    Posts
    3,145
    Quote Originally Posted by Andruil
    Linux render nodes can be done and I only have one issue left to solve before I know how to solve the rest of it. Currently I am getting .flx files as output from my linux render nodes. Does anyone know how to get linux to output something other than .flx files? If I can get this working I would be more than willing to put together a tutorial on how to create a linux render cluster with a windows master node.

    Just in case anyone is wondering I am using wine to run my lwsn.exe and samba to mount a common network drive to a wine drive.

    If I remember well, I read somewhere that the .flx problems was due that the nodes wouldnt find the file format plugins.

    Best regards,
    David

  13. #13
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    6
    Thanks that has helped me out greatly. I just found a thread that talked about that issue and when I get a moment to revisit my cluster i'm going to try and get my paths straightened out.

    Sigh.... I hate finals.... I have no life during finals....

  14. #14
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Valencia
    Posts
    3,145
    Quote Originally Posted by Andruil
    Thanks that has helped me out greatly. I just found a thread that talked about that issue and when I get a moment to revisit my cluster i'm going to try and get my paths straightened out.

    Sigh.... I hate finals.... I have no life during finals....

    I am glad it helpes.

    I would like to see that tutorial about mount the renderfarm with Linux, maybe I would do that on my renderfarm at the office too, but it would help me a lot have instructions on how to do that, cause in Linux I am totally nerd!

    Best regards,
    David

  15. #15
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    1
    hey

    i was wondering if anyone has had luck with setting up Xgrid in LightWave... is there a plugin that i need to hunt down or is it some special ninja trick?

    thanks in advance for any help

    ~dinky

    ps

    i will be checking out the tutorials so if i am being redundant to something that has already been posted i apologize

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •