Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Forgets where texture files are stored...

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    25

    Forgets where texture files are stored...

    This started recently for no apparent reason.
    Working in modeler and after applying a texture map to a model.
    I save the model, close the model, then quit the program to do something else.
    Later I go back to work on the model some more and open it.
    Odds are it cannot find the texture map I had applied and asks me to find it.
    I've reset the Content Directory and reloaded the configs several times.
    Have also found the texture file and resaved the model with a different name.
    But it continues, it's getting really annoying.

    LW 2020, Sys Win 10 Pro

    Any ideas?

    Thank for any and all help!

    BradC

  2. #2
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    8,471
    Normally textures are stored inside of LWO. (unless you're using Global Materials)

    Image maps are stored in PNG, JPEG etc. files.

    There are several reasons why Image file can't be found like: movement of file somewhere else, corruption of file, relative path to file, network or mapped drive no longer available..

    Every time you make change to object, you need to save object. It is often forgotten step in Layout.

    Are you working in Layout or Modeler or both at the same time? Somebody here complained recently that Hub has issue and you can't have LWO object open in both at the same time, because they will occasionally desynchronize.

    Can you make screen-shot when this happens, and attach in the reply?
    So we can see how such error message looks like.
    Last edited by Sensei; 12-04-2020 at 12:03 AM.

  3. #3
    I have this happen occasionally too. I'm using LW2015.3. It doesn't happen all of the time. I have to say that my objects are stored most of the time in a sub-folder of a named project such as

    Dummy Project/

    Scenes/
    Object/
    Images/

    But sometimes some of the objects and image textures get stored elsewhere in their own locations. This is usually the case when importing models from several sources [Daz 3D models, Poser., etc.]

    Package Scene should help with this, but it doesn't always work right. At least im my experience. I tend to use it once I have all of the project completed.

    It is frustrating when it happens, to be sure.
    Last edited by JamesCurtis; 12-04-2020 at 12:55 AM.

  4. #4
    Intermediate User Shloime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    162
    Hi,

    Where do you save your projects? Is it a local drive or a removeable media? Maybe the drive letter is changing.
    Did you change something in the custom paths in the options menu?
    Do you have "Auto detect" checked? ( Options - Content directory )
    Greetings, Shloime
    ----------------------------
    Win10 64, Ryzen 5 1600x, GTX 980 ti, 64 GB, LW 2018

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    25
    Thank you all for taking the time.



    I am working in Modeler. It only happens in Modeler, has never occurred in Layout.
    I apply a texture map and then immediately save the object.

    My Content Directory is on an external drive.
    In it there is a general folder marked Lightwave, within that folder are folders for Objects, Images, and Scenes.
    All of the various files are stored in their respective folders.
    The image maps are either JPG or PNG.

    Nothing changes after I apply a texture map, save the object and close Modeler.
    I can then open Modeler, open the same object file and get, as an example, an error message like the above.

    The really odd thing I've noticed is the texture files it cannot find vary from one or another with no rhyme or reason.
    When opened an object file cannot find say, a brick texture map, the next time that same object file is opened it cannot find a wood texture map, then the next time that object file again cannot find the brick map!
    I am baffled.

    BradC
    Last edited by BradC; 12-05-2020 at 12:47 AM.

  6. #6
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    8,471
    Suggestion, make your project like:
    Images/[image file.jpg|png]
    Objects/[object].lwo
    Scenes/[scene].lws

    Save them this way, move the all other files from original locations,
    so they are truly not found,
    then select new one, but within such file structure,
    and then save everything.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    25
    Sensei,
    I don't quit understand...
    Are you saying that in the Content Folder, I save the image files to the Images folder as say, Wall.jpg?
    The same for objects in the Object folder as say, Wall.lwo?
    And the scene in the Scenes folder as Wall.lws?

    That is how I save everything.
    If that's not what you mean please explain.

    I noticed something just a minute ago.
    LW was searching for the image files in the Objects folder when I opened the object.
    I then moved the images from the Images folder to the Objects folder and it open the object with the images fine.

  8. #8
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    8,471
    LW expects certain structure of directories. i.e.
    Objects/
    Images/
    Scenes/
    If file is relative path,
    it has to search for it.
    Like I mentioned in my the first post.
    Use FileMon or alternative app to check where it is searching..

  9. #9
    Male Modeler ccclarke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    139
    Have you set the Content Path under the General Options (O) General Content Directory tab? Every time you load a model from a different directory than the last, LW looks at the last set path, (it is saved when you close Modeler.) if it doesn't see your image file, you'll get that prompt.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    25
    Thank all of you for taking the time to help, I much appreciate it.

    I went through pretty much all of your suggestions.

    I did download and run Microsoft's Process Monitor.
    That was pretty much complicated and for me not helpful as all it could find was that Newtek Lightwave was active.
    But I could not find file paths or where Modeler was searching.

    Ran a check on the external drive, there were a few errors with file names corrected. Probably should have done that at the beginning.
    I moved all the image and object files from their folders and created new folders and replaced the image and object files into the new folders.
    Have no idea if that was worth anything but did it anyway.
    I dumped the config files, started Modeler and reset the Content Directory and in Preferences Reverted to Startup Preferences.
    Have no idea what the problem was or what corrected it but when I opened the object file the images loaded correctly.
    Saved the object and quit Modeler, restarted Modeler and it opened the file fine and did that several times to make sure.
    That was a big relief!

    Thanks again for all of you taking the time and for all of your suggestions.
    Cheers, BradC

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •