Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I'm basically retired now anyway...

I'm basically retired now anyway...

I guess Lightwave3D is a fun hobby, I still do an occasional book cover or such. Are there any people that will actually lose a job that they've been using Lightwave on? (I don't mean NT employees.)
    shrox www.shrox.com
    -----------------------
    Heavy Metal Landing

-----------------------
    I build the best spaceships, the biggest spaceships, they're great, you'll love them.

I'll be using Lightwave until it doesn't run anymore on my computer. Ive been using it for 30 years. I won't lose any jobs unless the software magically stops working. Heck, I still know someone that uses Softimage.

Quote Originally Posted by Axis3d View Post
    I'll be using Lightwave until it doesn't run anymore on my computer. Ive been using it for 30 years. I won't lose any jobs unless the software magically stops working. Heck, I still know someone that uses Softimage.
    That's exactly my plan as well. I have only been using it for the last 21 years and only regret not discovering it sooner than I did. Heck my Lightwave will still run on Windows long after I'm dead, who knows.
    Threadripper 2990WX, X399 MSI MEG Creation, 64GB 2400Mhz RAM, GTX 1070 Ti 8GB

https://www.dynamicrenderings.com/

LW's always been more of a way to noodle out ideas more than anything, so not using it as primary income source at this point.

I am currently in Retirement Limbo though. I'm in the Hollywood Set Lighting union & only need a few hundred hours more to retire with full Health benefits. In prior years, that would have meant 2-3 months of work; I was typically getting 50-60 hrs/week.

BUT, those hours have to be on a signatory show based in the LA jurisdiction. And of course pretty much everything is shut down in Tinselburg. No new shows, just returning with existing crews; no add'l day players & limited hours. No 2nd unit work. Little if any location work.