Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: NDI for MS Teams Released!

  1. #1
    Registered User Red Dog Records's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    333

    NDI for MS Teams Released!

    Good news - You can now use NDI with teams.
    Bad News - If you thought the SKYPE watermark was big...Now they have the words "Microsoft Teams" on each video feed.

    We are still messing around with it, but it looks promising - IF we can get rid of the built in endorsement.

    I am hoping the admin level of bandwidth control will apply to all participants.
    More testing this week...

    Andrew
    Tricaster 460AE3 + Mini 4K
    Flypack: Router, switch, backup encoders, captioning devices, audio mixer, UPS, etc
    Cameras: Sony Z280, Z150, PTZ1, Multiple Spark & Bird Dog converters
    reddogrecords.com

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Red Dog Records View Post
    Good news - You can now use NDI with teams.
    Bad News - If you thought the SKYPE watermark was big...Now they have the words "Microsoft Teams" on each video feed.

    We are still messing around with it, but it looks promising - IF we can get rid of the built in endorsement.

    I am hoping the admin level of bandwidth control will apply to all participants.
    More testing this week...

    Andrew
    I'm dying to unlock this functionality. Question: did you or your Teams admin have to do anything other than toggle in on in the Permissions, as described here?

  3. #3
    Registered User Red Dog Records's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    333
    I had to turn it on as an admin first, then individual users had to turn it on in settings. I have not gotten all of the features to work yet. I got a feed from a remote participant, but my local machine (host of the meeting) did not want to send my local camera, it just sent the animated TEAMS logo.
    Still testing though.

    Still very unhappy with the size of the watermark.
    Tricaster 460AE3 + Mini 4K
    Flypack: Router, switch, backup encoders, captioning devices, audio mixer, UPS, etc
    Cameras: Sony Z280, Z150, PTZ1, Multiple Spark & Bird Dog converters
    reddogrecords.com

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    peru
    Posts
    387
    Quote Originally Posted by Red Dog Records View Post
    I had to turn it on as an admin first, then individual users had to turn it on in settings. I have not gotten all of the features to work yet. I got a feed from a remote participant, but my local machine (host of the meeting) did not want to send my local camera, it just sent the animated TEAMS logo.
    Still testing though.

    Still very unhappy with the size of the watermark.
    Hi friend. do you have a screen of the administrator configuration were ndi need to be On? i work for a university so I assume that IT department needs to turn on NDI, on my screen as normal user dont see anything

    Tricaster is the best thing that i've used since I played with my atari
    Gear Used:
    Tricaster: All 3Play:440
    Cam: JVC GY-HM600, GY-HM150U
    Facebook
    Twitter

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by alonso View Post
    Hi friend. do you have a screen of the administrator configuration were ndi need to be On? i work for a university so I assume that IT department needs to turn on NDI, on my screen as normal user dont see anything
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...ocal%20network

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Red Dog Records View Post
    I had to turn it on as an admin first, then individual users had to turn it on in settings. I have not gotten all of the features to work yet. I got a feed from a remote participant, but my local machine (host of the meeting) did not want to send my local camera, it just sent the animated TEAMS logo.
    Still testing though.

    Still very unhappy with the size of the watermark.
    I have seen other users in the Microsoft users forum report the same dissatisfaction. Hopefully they correct that in a hot fix. Do you have a screenshot that you can share that shows this?

  6. #6
    Registered User Red Dog Records's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    333
    Mark,

    That screen shot is what the individual users need to adjust in their settings.
    I will try to get the Admin view and show you a sample of the watermark sometime over the weekend.

    Andrew
    Tricaster 460AE3 + Mini 4K
    Flypack: Router, switch, backup encoders, captioning devices, audio mixer, UPS, etc
    Cameras: Sony Z280, Z150, PTZ1, Multiple Spark & Bird Dog converters
    reddogrecords.com

  7. #7
    Registered User Red Dog Records's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    333
    On the Admin page (at least for Office 365), go to Teams to open the Teams admin page.
    On the left side click Meetings, then select Meeting Policies.
    Then click on "Global (Org-wide default)"
    Under the Audio & Video group, you will find "Allow NDI Streaming"

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	MS Teams NDI option.png 
Views:	88 
Size:	182.3 KB 
ID:	148577

    Hope that helps!

    Andrew
    Last edited by Red Dog Records; 08-29-2020 at 05:28 PM.
    Tricaster 460AE3 + Mini 4K
    Flypack: Router, switch, backup encoders, captioning devices, audio mixer, UPS, etc
    Cameras: Sony Z280, Z150, PTZ1, Multiple Spark & Bird Dog converters
    reddogrecords.com

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    2
    Hi,
    Has anyone worked out if the streams that Teams sends out are NDI HX or full NDI? I guess they must be HX to get so many streams out of one Nic. I am trying to work out if its possible to route the teams NDI to a bird-dog reciever (I am guessing no).
    Still trying to persuade our Teams admin to turn on NDI. . . . .
    Cheers for any help

  9. #9
    Teams outputs high bandwidth NDI.
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    11
    Hi everyone, it looks like NDI for Teams on Mac OS X is finally getting rolled out. My company's IT team turned it on globally on Friday, and the option to turn it on popped up in my Permissions folder sometime between last night and today. I successfully tested it with another Mac user, as well.

  11. #11
    Dazey77,
    Hi. I work for a state and am trying to communicate my needs to them. Your note has made a question for me.
    Your teams admin: someone at your network-level needs to flip a switch for this to happen in an MS admin panel, of some sort, for this to work? That thought may help me.
    What else does the MS Office team need to turn on for NDI useage? Where might I find this info?
    Thanks.
    Robert
    Robert Wilson
    i-7-4770k @3.5ghz, Titan, GTX 1660 Ti, et al

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •