Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: LW2020 AMD GPU Choppy?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Delta Quadrant
    Posts
    243

    LW2020 AMD GPU Choppy?

    Hey Lightwavers! I'm trying to rally my AMD GPU peeps to see if anyone else is experiencing any choppy viewport issues with 2020.0.1?

    I've got a Radeon VII and getting choppy viewport pan, but super smooth perspective orbit.

    Talking with Lightwave Customer support now and they suggested to reach out and see if anyone else has experienced a similar issue, seen here:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mbtYCJG9AKM

    Everything works flawlessly in 2019, super smooth: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z8DUWtByX5k

    Big shoutout to Lewis, Sensi, jwiede, and allabulle for all the effort they've done to help me so far - we really have a great community here!!

  2. #2
    Old Dog Learns New Tricks RudySchneider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Lincoln, CA
    Posts
    1,311
    Just throwin' this one out there, cuz I don't have a Radeon GPU, but experienced some unrelated issues...

    I have Logitech mouse, and when I had pointer acceleration enabled, I noticed I got choppy lines, not necessarily the viewport choppiness. Do you have mouse pointer acceleration enabled?
    Last edited by RudySchneider; 07-06-2020 at 01:08 PM.
    There are no problems, only opportunities...

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Delta Quadrant
    Posts
    243
    Omfg it was mouse pointer acceleration

    Holy cow thank you Rudy!!

  4. #4
    Old Dog Learns New Tricks RudySchneider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Lincoln, CA
    Posts
    1,311
    Hey, even us old dogs can come up with a trick or two every once in a while. Glad it's sorted, 'cuz I know this sort of thing nags at me, too!
    There are no problems, only opportunities...

  5. #5
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    8,163
    Quote Originally Posted by Triodin View Post
    Omfg it was mouse pointer acceleration

    Holy cow thank you Rudy!!
    Who is using mouse pointer acceleration these days?
    Week ago I just bought the cheapest radio laser mouse for $10 for my new ultrabook and it has 1600 dpi.
    It has super smooth movements in the blink of an eye.
    ..and there are mouses with 2400 dpi, 7000 dpi, 12000 dpi...

    OTOH, people with mouse with too high dpi, might even decelerate it..

  6. #6
    Almost newbie Cageman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Malmö, SWEDEN
    Posts
    7,729
    I use mouse acceleration all the time. But there is a button on the mouse that controls it, so if I need fine movements, I just tap the button on the mouse. It has 4 layers of motion.

    I just don't want to spend 5 movements to move to the second screen... I use one movement and I am there.
    Senior Technical Supervisor
    Cinematics Department
    Massive - A Ubisoft Studio
    -----
    AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3990X (64 cores/ 128 threads)
    64GB Ram
    Quadro 620
    Windows 10 Pro x64

  7. #7
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    8,163
    Quote Originally Posted by Cageman View Post
    I use mouse acceleration all the time. But there is a button on the mouse that controls it, so if I need fine movements, I just tap the button on the mouse. It has 4 layers of motion.

    I just don't want to spend 5 movements to move to the second screen... I use one movement and I am there.
    1920 / 1600 dpi * 2.54 cm/inch = 3.048 cm to move through entire Full HD screen.. I checked it with scale on my bench..
    Buy modern mouse, like I did week ago.

  8. #8
    Almost newbie Cageman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Malmö, SWEDEN
    Posts
    7,729
    Quote Originally Posted by Sensei View Post
    1920 / 1600 dpi * 2.54 cm/inch = 3.048 cm to move through entire Full HD screen.. I checked it with scale on my bench..
    Buy modern mouse, like I did week ago.
    I do not use software based Mouse Acceleration. It is all in the hardware.

    My main screen is 3440x1440 sceen. and with no acceleration to my handmovements, it will take 5-6 handmovements to get to my second screen....

    I'm not sure if we are talking about the same thing though.
    Senior Technical Supervisor
    Cinematics Department
    Massive - A Ubisoft Studio
    -----
    AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3990X (64 cores/ 128 threads)
    64GB Ram
    Quadro 620
    Windows 10 Pro x64

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Right here
    Posts
    1,817
    Quote Originally Posted by Sensei View Post
    Buy modern mouse, like I did week ago.
    Cageman has probably the more modern or at least higher spec mouse than you because his mouse has a dpi switch like most high end mouses do have nowadays. This has nothing to do with software acceleration.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •