Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: What happened to Advanced Edition?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Fergus Falls, Minnesota
    Posts
    15

    What happened to Advanced Edition?

    What has happened to Advanced Edition? It appears to be scrubbed from the website and store. I have a 410 still on Standard that I am interested in upgrading.

  2. #2
    All Advanced Edition versions are still available for download. AE2 has been moved to the legacy versions near the bottom of the page.
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Fergus Falls, Minnesota
    Posts
    15
    Yes, but is it available for purchase? The download doesn’t do me any good if I can’t license it.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Portland
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by ffhillcrest View Post
    Yes, but is it available for purchase? The download doesn’t do me any good if I can’t license it.

    I am also curious about getting a AE3 license

  5. #5
    Broadcast Services UK
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Chertsey UK
    Posts
    43
    This is the upgrade page which unfortunately tells you that it is no longer available:

    https://store.newtek.com/tcae/upgrade.html

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Portland
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by Scrut View Post
    This is the upgrade page which unfortunately tells you that it is no longer available:

    https://store.newtek.com/tcae/upgrade.html

    Why isn't it available anymore?

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    336
    I wonder if it has anything to do with the sunsetting of support for W7 based systems.

  8. #8
    Registered User Flegz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    37
    Quote Originally Posted by kanep View Post
    All Advanced Edition versions are still available for download. AE2 has been moved to the legacy versions near the bottom of the page.
    Hey Kane,
    Was regrouping the business and looking to upgrade my 460 AE2 to AE3, website says no longer available?
    Greg
    Pirate Moon Productions
    Tricaster 460 AE2 w/460 Control Surface
    Sony PXW-x70 (2) / Sony a6000 (2)
    PTZOptics 12x-sdi/ndi (2) / PTZOptics 20x-Sdi
    Adobe CC
    Audio ~ Midas M32

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    336
    The silence on this issue is deafening.
    @kane
    @steve

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    29
    From what I understand they gave AE3 "end of life" because older hardware cannot support all of its features and/or be upgraded to Win10. Win 7 apparently doesn't play nice with the TC. The expectation is that you upgrade to their newer units and they will give you a couple bucks for trading in your old one. Support mentioned that they alerted customers for a while about this change. I don't recall getting an email. Having a $10k plus system that can't be updated doesn't make much sense to me.

    I was hesitant to even upgrade my AE versions in general because they tend to cause more trouble than not.

  11. #11
    The AE3 upgrade is no longer available for purchase.
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •