Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Conversion from Daz Studio to Lightwave

  1. #1
    May the sauce be with you starbase1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    5,663

    Conversion from Daz Studio to Lightwave

    Conversion of Stonemason's Urban Future 7 from Daz Studio to Lightwave.

    Done as an exercise in using strong colour and night lighting

    In the end about 3.5 minutes a frame, of which about 25 seconds was radiosity.

    https://vimeo.com/430955798
    Specialist subjects: Unflown space projects, and the space program of the Soviet Union.

    My main Web site

  2. #2
    Registered User Oldcode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    476
    Hey Nick!

    That looks amazing, and with that much radiosity, 3.5 minutes is not that unreasonable at all.

    Which version of Lightwave are you using?

    Did you simply export the geometry as an OBJ or something else?

    Thanks for showing us this!

  3. #3
    Curmudgeon in Training Ma3rk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Near Beaverton, OR
    Posts
    2,089
    That is quite nicely done. Also one of Stonemason's I don't have.

    We'll probably want more details on your render settings, etc.
    Earth can't be flat otherwise cats would have pushed everything off the edge!

    The Big Apexx System:
    AMD RYZEN THREADRIPPER 2990WX Processor (3.00GHz)
    64GB
    2x NVIDIA Quadro RTX 4000 8GB 32 Core

  4. #4
    May the sauce be with you starbase1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    5,663
    Here are the GI settings...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	gi.jpg 
Views:	34 
Size:	71.7 KB 
ID:	148186  
    Specialist subjects: Unflown space projects, and the space program of the Soviet Union.

    My main Web site

  5. #5
    Curmudgeon in Training Ma3rk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Near Beaverton, OR
    Posts
    2,089
    Thanks.

    On Vimeo, you mentioned:

    Identify reflective surfaces, and add a reflection with a gradient on incidence angle.

    Any details on that?
    Earth can't be flat otherwise cats would have pushed everything off the edge!

    The Big Apexx System:
    AMD RYZEN THREADRIPPER 2990WX Processor (3.00GHz)
    64GB
    2x NVIDIA Quadro RTX 4000 8GB 32 Core

  6. #6
    May the sauce be with you starbase1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    5,663
    Sure. For things like the puddles, set the reflection strength on a gradient keyed to incidence angle. In this case something like 100% at 0, and 5% at 1.

    It's something I pretty much always to some degree with reflection strength, for example on shiny metals.

    It would probably make sense to key the transparency the other way around!
    Specialist subjects: Unflown space projects, and the space program of the Soviet Union.

    My main Web site

  7. #7
    geo messy madno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    848
    Cool,
    I am sure Rick Deckard is hiding somewhere there.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •