Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Repair hole in UVmap

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    11

    Repair hole in UVmap

    I've been searching threads for a couple hours and can't find anything addressing this issue. It seams like it should be simple but I am not finding a way to do this.

    All I want to do is create a poly from the three points selected and have that poly also created in the UV map so that I can repair some small holes in my model.

    Creating a poly with the correct surface is simple. but getting the poly to align in the UV mesh is a real drag.

    Save me a headache and tell me there is a simple something I am missing.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	46 
Size:	415.6 KB 
ID:	147939

  2. #2

    not sure...
    bridge tool ?

    edit 1; nope didn't work.

    edit 2; hm, worked second time on a quad, not sure, but might work then.

    third option is to make the polys, then use "Heal UV"
    but it only seems to work sometimes, and not near UV borders.
    Last edited by erikals; 05-22-2020 at 03:19 PM.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    11

    Solved

    Thanks Erikals - that got me on the right track. Creating a single poly then "Heal uv" didn't really work. But, if I filled the entire hole with Polys then choose "Heal uv" it worked perfectly.

    DonClick image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture4.PNG 
Views:	24 
Size:	413.4 KB 
ID:	147940Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture3.PNG 
Views:	98 
Size:	446.6 KB 
ID:	147941

  4. #4
    fill the real mesh whichever way you like with geo, select it, uv it to the same uv map as the rest of the model, then with it still selected just scale rotate and move it roughly into place, then use the snap drag tool snap each vert to the rest of the uv's, either that repair and re uv. Modo is better at this sort of thing, when you add a new quad to an already uv mapped surface it adds it to the uv map.ok even I learnt something, still find LW grim for ups, rather go elswhere
    Last edited by gerry_g; 05-22-2020 at 03:46 PM.

  5. #5

    just testing, haven't done this a lot in LightWave, so chime in if one of you know of a faster smarter method.  




    tho' LightWave isn't a number Uno UV application, it does work for this and that.

    edit; yep, also follow gerry's trick.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  6. #6

    @ DCJ

    Awesome! 

    wasn't sure the polyflow you had would work out. Cool.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  7. #7
    pretty good, but I'm on the Mac and as far as I remember the relax tool is third party PLG I think and not usable for me

  8. #8
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    8,074
    Quote Originally Posted by DCJ View Post
    Thanks Erikals - that got me on the right track. Creating a single poly then "Heal uv" didn't really work. But, if I filled the entire hole with Polys then choose "Heal uv" it worked perfectly.
    There are two kinds of UVs: per-vertex UVs and per-polygon UVs. The red one dots tell it is per-polygon UV.

    Bridge works for filling gaps when there are used per-vertex UVs (because actually it has to do nothing, these per-vertex UVs are already there on these vertexes!).
    After making a new polygon, UVs must be copied from per-polygons to newly created polygon per-polygon UVs..

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by gerry_g View Post
    pretty good, but I'm on the Mac and as far as I remember the relax tool is third party PLG I think and not usable for me
    i think you already have the one i used tho', just seems it is not listed,
    C:\Program Files\NewTek\LightWave11.6.2\support\plugins\model \Modeling_Pack.p

    in Modeler, search for > Smooth UVs

    (missing in menu in 11.6, but checked LW2020, and it is present)


    another Mac alternative can be > Mike Green's - MG Smooth UV
    http://www.mikegreen.name/plugins.htm#UV_Relax
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NCrckvX6B5c
    Last edited by erikals; 05-22-2020 at 05:18 PM.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  10. #10
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    8,074
    Quote Originally Posted by gerry_g View Post
    Modo is better at this sort of thing, when you add a new quad to an already uv mapped surface it adds it to the uv map.
    It has nothing to do which app do you use..

    Bridge or Make Polygon tools would work, if he had per-vertex UVs. But if you have per-polygon UVs, it is too ambiguous e.g. if you have four quads, central shared by them vertex can have four per-polygon UVs.. what if they have completely different U & V values? Tool cannot decide for user about it.. Tool does not know what user wants..

    On the second screen-shot


    we can see that per-polygon UVs disappeared. There is no red dots anymore. Per-polygon UVs have been welded together.
    They could be, just because they had the same U & V values.
    If they would not be the same, welding their UVs would damage mesh.
    Last edited by Sensei; 05-22-2020 at 07:38 PM.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    2,282
    ah, so this is the problem that causes uv headaches in lw.

    any way to force per vertex uv’s all
    the time?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •