Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 92

Thread: LW 2019.1.5 vs LW 2020 render time comparison

  1. #46
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    2,353
    Quote Originally Posted by Marty3DGuru View Post
    The 2020 glass material has not been set up correctly hence it doesn't look as good.
    should they not be setup correctly producing similar results to have a true comparison?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Marty3DGuru View Post
    The 2020 glass material has not been set up correctly hence it doesn't look as good.
    should they not be setup correctly producing similar results to have a true comparison?

  2. #47
    pass:sword OFF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    1,087
    Quote Originally Posted by Nicolas Jordan View Post
    Since there is no "sample backdrop" in LW2020 you are now required to use an environment light in place of that to get the same or similar result as using "sample backdrop" in previous versions.
    Env on. Time 8m 46s - 22 seconds more than without Enviro light, but still faster than lw 2018|19.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Bench_2020_Env_on.png 
Views:	84 
Size:	1.02 MB 
ID:	147798

    Link to benchmark scene archive:
    https://yadi.sk/d/kjBhCtLZJzbX0A

  3. #48
    Quote Originally Posted by OFF View Post
    Env on. Time 8m 46s - 22 seconds more than without Enviro light, but still faster than lw 2018|19.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Bench_2020_Env_on.png 
Views:	84 
Size:	1.02 MB 
ID:	147798

    Link to benchmark scene archive:
    https://yadi.sk/d/kjBhCtLZJzbX0A
    There is something different about your scene in 2020 as gar26lw indicated above. It may be that the environment is not be reflected on the surfaces of the items in your scene in 2020.
    Threadripper 2990WX, X399 MSI MEG Creation, 64GB 2400Mhz RAM, GTX 1070 Ti 8GB

    https://www.dynamicrenderings.com/

  4. #49
    I have noticed that loading a scene from 2019 and earlier into 2020 has lighting issues...pretty much have to replace any lights in the scene with 2020 lights...Dont know why this happens..but it was driving me mad while I was trying to check new skin shaders and hair from my Frozen project in 2020 and the lighting was just bjorked.

    Though honestly, it would have been nice if they had kept the option to use a backdrop as gi source because when you just want a simple gradient, it was fast.
    Rob Depew
    Modeler/Animator/Editor
    Web Portfolio
    My Patreon
    YouTube
    Lightwave3D 2019, RF10, Gaea and more..
    Threadripper 32 core , 48gb, GTX-1070
    Asus 752vt i7 2.6 x 4, 48gb, GTX-970

  5. #50
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    2,353
    yes i thin he backdrop needs reverted

  6. #51
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    133
    Another issue with the Environment Light and Backdrop is that the intensity of the backdrop is now linked to the intensity of the light itself. Meaning that when you increase the strength (lx) of the light, the backdrop gets brighter too. In 2018 that was not the case and I liked that as it gives you much more artistic control. If you wanted the acxtual backdrop lighter, just ramp up the opacity in the Environmental Texture.

  7. #52
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    2,353
    yeah another good point. i guess a case of engineers changing things without consideration or creative usage and bending the rules to gain a desired if not physically accurate outcome?

  8. #53
    Not so newbie member lardbros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    6,004
    The reason this was changed, was so we didn't have the raytrace and env light ball ache changing PER MATERIAL!
    Tonnes of users never even realised, even to this day, that if you used the env light, you HAD to change ALL material's tracing to "raytrace only" rather than raytrace and backdrop.

    I am really glad they made this change. If you want to change the backdrop brightness separately from the light, then add an env light that is visible to backdrop, but doesn't affect specular or diffuse. There you go.
    LairdSquared | 3D Design & Animation

    Desk Work:
    HP Z840, Dual Xeon E5-2690 v2, 32GB RAM, Quadro K5000 4GB
    Desk Home:
    HP Z620, Dual Xeon E5-2680, 80GB RAM, Geforce 1050 Ti 4GB

  9. #54
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    2,353
    Quote Originally Posted by lardbros View Post
    The reason this was changed, was so we didn't have the raytrace and env light ball ache changing PER MATERIAL!
    Tonnes of users never even realised, even to this day, that if you used the env light, you HAD to change ALL material's tracing to "raytrace only" rather than raytrace and backdrop.

    I am really glad they made this change. If you want to change the backdrop brightness separately from the light, then add an env light that is visible to backdrop, but doesn't affect specular or diffuse. There you go.
    I think most knew of that issue, if they read the forums.

    why not a global switch and leave background as is?
    and/or default materials to optimal setup ?

    either way, I think the old backdrop system is warranted.


    regarding the workaround: it creates a more convoluted workflow. I get why they did it and it is good for the fix but I do think that a reduction in functionality is best avoided while fixing things.

    maybe Dpont can do something.

    Small changes to workflow are a huge thing in aggregate. Something that needs to be given great consideration by the dev team.
    Last edited by gar26lw; 05-16-2020 at 04:14 AM.

  10. #55
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    133
    Quote Originally Posted by lardbros View Post
    The reason this was changed, was so we didn't have the raytrace and env light ball ache changing PER MATERIAL!
    Tonnes of users never even realised, even to this day, that if you used the env light, you HAD to change ALL material's tracing to "raytrace only" rather than raytrace and backdrop.

    I am really glad they made this change.
    I totally agree with the Raytrace + Backdrop vs Rayrtace Only thing... That was really tiresome to change all the time and is a logical thing to change.

    Quote Originally Posted by lardbros View Post
    If you want to change the backdrop brightness separately from the light, then add an env light that is visible to backdrop, but doesn't affect specular or diffuse. There you go.
    I tried to achieve this but wasn't able to any result. How do you 'add an env light that is visible to backdrop, but doesn't affect specular or diffuse'?? I can create an env light that does not affect spec and diff but as soon as I add a second env light that needs to sample the Env.Texture, it automatically overwrites the previous backdrop with a bright version of it?

    Can you share a setup how this is done?

    As a side note, even if you could do this, adding a light and setting it up as such is a lot more work than separating the brightness of the light and the beckground. If I need to change my background, I need to change it twice in this setup. Not very intuitive. Anyway, looking forward to your solution as it really bothers me.

  11. #56
    Quote Originally Posted by peebeearr View Post
    ...I tried to achieve this but wasn't able to any result. How do you 'add an env light that is visible to backdrop, but doesn't affect specular or diffuse'?
    You can switch off "Affect Diffuse" and "Affect Specular" for the light.

    ciao
    Thomas
    Web: www.dieleinwandhelden.com

    I use two pieces of the three-piece application with mocap module.

  12. #57
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    2,353
    Quote Originally Posted by peebeearr View Post
    As a side note, even if you could do this, adding a light and setting it up as such is a lot more work than separating the brightness of the light and the beckground. If I need to change my background, I need to change it twice in this setup. Not very intuitive. Anyway, looking forward to your solution as it really bothers me.
    exactly, you are illustrating my point about workflow and workarounds

  13. #58
    Quote Originally Posted by gar26lw View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by peebeearr View Post
    As a side note, even if you could do this, adding a light and setting it up as such is a lot more work than separating the brightness of the light and the beckground. If I need to change my background, I need to change it twice in this setup. Not very intuitive. Anyway, looking forward to your solution as it really bothers me.
    exactly, you are illustrating my point about workflow and workarounds
    Set up your Environment Light once and clone it. Turn off "Affect Diffuse" and "Affect Specular" and "Visible to Camera" for the other light - done.
    If you set up your background in the Backdrop tab as usual you can change it for all lights together.

    ciao
    Thomas
    Web: www.dieleinwandhelden.com

    I use two pieces of the three-piece application with mocap module.

  14. #59
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    2,353
    nah. simple background. easy to understand, no workarounds

  15. #60
    www.Digitawn.co.uk rustythe1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    england
    Posts
    1,401
    or just use inverted sphere with backdrop with ignore all lights/shadows/rays, 100% illum, you can then change it independently too. you could even use lscript to make a menu button to add a sphere etc with just one click (I think people forget its incredible easy to record lscript macros to save time!)
    Intel i9 7980xe, Asus Rampage Vi extreme, 2x NVIDIA GTX1070ti, 64GB DDR4 3200 corsair vengeance,
    http://digitawn.co.uk https://www.shapeways.com/shops/digi...ction=Cars&s=0

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •