Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: NDI Test Patterns

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Bradford, UK
    Posts
    4

    NDI Test Patterns

    Using the NDI Test pattern generator in NDI Tools creates a 1080 test signal at 29.97fps. Can the output be forced to 10808i50, PAl or other settings for UK workflow use? There's no controls in the app.

    Thanks,
    Mat.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    london
    Posts
    296
    Quote Originally Posted by maniacpony View Post
    Using the NDI Test pattern generator in NDI Tools creates a 1080 test signal at 29.97fps. Can the output be forced to 10808i50, PAl or other settings for UK workflow use? There's no controls in the app.

    Thanks,
    Mat.
    Mat

    if you have a Mac, you may like to add the Sienna Signal Generator to your toolkit.

    http://www.sienna-tv.com/ndi/ndi-signal-gen.html

    its free.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    676
    It would also be really cool if there was a way to have some motion or time clock in the video feed to confirm solid, non jumpy feed.

    A lot of signal generators put up a bouncing box or such.

    Just my $0.02.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Bradford, UK
    Posts
    4
    Thanks livepad. I'm on my home PC with windows at the moment, but have downloaded the Sienna toolkit to try when I get back to work!

    fgolman - I was thinking the same, and planned on doing my own moving testcard, by creating a video in Premiere, and saving it as a short looping video. I can then use VLC to play it back outputting it as NDI. I've not tested yet, so didn't know if I'd get a seemless loop without a blank frame at the end when it jumps back to the start.

  5. #5
    Post-LW Engineer Jarno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    626
    I have tried a test loop like that in VLC. It takes VLC about half a second to jump back to the start, unfortunately. So I suggest you loop it a lot of times in Premiere and accept a bit of a delay every once in a while when VLC restarts the playback.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    676
    Yep, I tried the VLC loop playback. Same results as you guys with the little hiccup.

    Fritz

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •