Page 36 of 45 FirstFirst ... 263435363738 ... LastLast
Results 526 to 540 of 667

Thread: Lightwave 2020

  1. #526
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    French
    Posts
    29
    Quote Originally Posted by lwanmtr View Post
    Wasnt baked on either render. It is an Iradiance cache issue.

    If I set primary to Brute Force and secondary to Iradiance Cache, it reduces the amount of blotches, but they are still there. Setting both primary and secondary to Iradiance amplifies the problem on the Threadripper.
    2xGI Iradiance

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	GI 2xInter 2048.jpg 
Views:	124 
Size:	343.2 KB 
ID:	147518

  2. #527
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    6,970
    Quote Originally Posted by EBD3D View Post
    2xGI Iradiance
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	GI_2xIC_2048a.png 
Views:	106 
Size:	659.0 KB 
ID:	147519

    I'm seeing a bunch of minor issues (numbers correspond with image labels):

    1. Loss of detail in ceiling medallion (IC sampling too low or too broadly-spaced?).

    2. Odd shadow "edges" on coffered ceiling elements giving "outlined-shadow" effect (could also be sample spacing).

    3. Odd light area at bottom of table leg, doesn't seem to match shadowing. Similar odd "bright band" at top of lit region on leg.

    4. Though glossy, picture glass doesn't appear to be properly reflecting light back onto table, leaving table surface close to camera overly dark.

    5. Something very odd going on between floor "seams" and sampling causing artifacts (again, need more samples/tighter spacing?).

    Any chance we can see lossless PNG version of original image? Some of this (1-3) might just be due to JPG compression artifacts, difficult to tell for sure.
    Last edited by jwiede; 04-29-2020 at 01:15 PM.
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2019.1.5 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),64GB RAM, NV 980ti

  3. #528
    Quote Originally Posted by lardbros View Post
    Are you able to share the scene?
    Sure..... https://www.dropbox.com/s/bpjrpw172u...Scene.rar?dl=0


    Quote Originally Posted by rustythe1 View Post
    so have you not set a cache, from what I understand renders will be bad until you do, you need one for both primary and secondary for it to work properly
    But if no cache file exists, LW should create a new one... Of course, since I dont bake, LW has to make a new pass each time.
    Rob Depew
    Modeler/Animator/Editor
    Web Portfolio
    My Patreon
    YouTube
    Lightwave3D 2019, RF10, Gaea and more..
    Threadripper 32 core , 48gb, GTX-1070
    Asus 752vt i7 2.6 x 4, 48gb, GTX-970

  4. #529
    geo messy madno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    846
    Either 2020 has an issue with SSS in GI or I am doing something wrong. The curtain in the first image is thickened geo with sss and should contribute its color like the translucent flat curtain in the second image does.

    SSS:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2020_012_01.16.13.jpg 
Views:	107 
Size:	1.17 MB 
ID:	147527

    Translucent + Transparency:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2020_011_00.27.25.jpg 
Views:	106 
Size:	973.7 KB 
ID:	147528

    GI settings:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	GI-Settings.png 
Views:	64 
Size:	48.0 KB 
ID:	147526

  5. #530

    but did SSS ever work nicely on thin sheets ?
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LW Facebook   IKBooster   My vidz

  6. #531
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    French
    Posts
    29
    Quote Originally Posted by jwiede View Post
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	GI_2xIC_2048a.png 
Views:	106 
Size:	659.0 KB 
ID:	147519

    I'm seeing a bunch of minor issues (numbers correspond with image labels):

    1. Loss of detail in ceiling medallion (IC sampling too low or too broadly-spaced?).

    2. Odd shadow "edges" on coffered ceiling elements giving "outlined-shadow" effect (could also be sample spacing).

    3. Odd light area at bottom of table leg, doesn't seem to match shadowing. Similar odd "bright band" at top of lit region on leg.

    4. Though glossy, picture glass doesn't appear to be properly reflecting light back onto table, leaving table surface close to camera overly dark.

    5. Something very odd going on between floor "seams" and sampling causing artifacts (again, need more samples/tighter spacing?).

    Any chance we can see lossless PNG version of original image? Some of this (1-3) might just be due to JPG compression artifacts, difficult to tell for sure.


    Thank you for the comments.
    I fully agree with you. I just downloaded the scene as it was and put the materials in white.
    My test is only to see if there were still spots of gi.
    For glass there are no simple materials in white.
    The light only comes from the windows ... nothing inside.
    I will continue to manage the engine better.
    There is more detail on 2020, on the 2019 version the medallion was vying.
    It's very constructive thank you

    Merci pour les commentaires.
    Je suis entièrement d'accords avec toi. j'ai juste télècharger la scène comme elle était et mis les matériaux en blanc.
    Mon test est uniquement pour voir si il y avait encore des taches de gi.
    Pour le verre il y a pas de matériaux simple en blanc.
    La lumière vient uniquement des fenêtres... rien à l'intérieur.
    Je vais continué à mieux gerer le moteur.
    Il y a plus de détail sur 2020, sur la version 2019 le médallon était lice.
    C'est très constructif merci

  7. #532
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    16,792
    Anyone able to see if they fixed the convert edge to poly selection?

    After Lightwave 11.2 or 11.3 it was sort of broken...but you could camfer edges, and then convert to polyselection and it would be selected as polys...
    but since 2015 it´s been broken, making it impossible to do this model action with ease.


  8. #533
    Registered User Marty3DGuru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    42
    Hey everyone!!

    I just downloaded the trial of LW2020 today. I'm really liking the new render engine, great job!!! I'm just taking it for a spin on the 30-day trial.

    Did a few test renders later tonight. Only just gettting to grips with a few changes.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	test1.png 
Views:	117 
Size:	475.8 KB 
ID:	147529

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	test2.png 
Views:	122 
Size:	805.3 KB 
ID:	147530

  9. #534
    Quote Originally Posted by prometheus View Post
    Anyone able to see if they fixed the convert edge to poly selection?

    After Lightwave 11.2 or 11.3 it was sort of broken...but you could camfer edges, and then convert to polyselection and it would be selected as polys...
    but since 2015 it´s been broken, making it impossible to do this model action with ease.
    I think in this example its just a difference in the way chamfer works now - it doesn't select those intersecting edges anymore once the chamfer tool is activated and run.

  10. #535

    isn't that better tho' ?
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LW Facebook   IKBooster   My vidz

  11. #536
    Quote Originally Posted by erikals View Post
    isn't that better tho' ?
    Yes. But not in that scenario.

  12. #537
    pass:sword OFF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    1,087
    Quote Originally Posted by lwanmtr View Post
    Sure..... https://www.dropbox.com/s/bpjrpw172u...Scene.rar?dl=0




    But if no cache file exists, LW should create a new one... Of course, since I dont bake, LW has to make a new pass each time.
    I checked the scene on my computer (2xXeon E5-2692v2) - there are no blotches, there is simply overexposure due to the too high brightness of some light sources. Someone with the same processor as yours is needed to establish whether there is a bug here regarding AMD Threadripper.

  13. #538
    Quote Originally Posted by OFF View Post
    I checked the scene on my computer (2xXeon E5-2692v2) - there are no blotches, there is simply overexposure due to the too high brightness of some light sources. Someone with the same processor as yours is needed to establish whether there is a bug here regarding AMD Threadripper.

    Yeah could be a possibility, since laptop has an Intel I7 and doesnt get splotchy
    Rob Depew
    Modeler/Animator/Editor
    Web Portfolio
    My Patreon
    YouTube
    Lightwave3D 2019, RF10, Gaea and more..
    Threadripper 32 core , 48gb, GTX-1070
    Asus 752vt i7 2.6 x 4, 48gb, GTX-970

  14. #539
    geo messy madno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    846
    Quote Originally Posted by lwanmtr View Post
    Yeah could be a possibility, since laptop has an Intel I7 and doesnt get splotchy
    Here is a render strait out of Threadripper 3960x if that helps.
    I noticed your CS sertiings are all set to linear and the lights are very bright.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	test_threadripper.png 
Views:	127 
Size:	1.62 MB 
ID:	147534

  15. #540
    That looks good. Strange I cant seem to get my 2990wx to behave.

    Yeah, I leave the CS at default.

    Hoping the 3990x will drop in price soon...hehe
    Rob Depew
    Modeler/Animator/Editor
    Web Portfolio
    My Patreon
    YouTube
    Lightwave3D 2019, RF10, Gaea and more..
    Threadripper 32 core , 48gb, GTX-1070
    Asus 752vt i7 2.6 x 4, 48gb, GTX-970

Page 36 of 45 FirstFirst ... 263435363738 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •