Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Ambient Occlusion Maps, and how to use them

  1. #1
    Super Member Kryslin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Prescott, IA
    Posts
    1,590

    Ambient Occlusion Maps, and how to use them

    Complete noob question :

    How does one / can one use an AO map in Lightwave?

    I've been playing with Materialize - Awesome little program - and for fun, I was making a set of textures for a new Minecraft texture, to be rendered out in Lightwave.

    Once I got around the various quirks of Materialize, everything worked pretty well, I managed to get everything hooked up correctly, except for the AO map.

    I did wind up feeding the luma output of the AO map into the brightness channel of a color tool node, and that produced acceptable results, but that got me curious, about what other uses there are...
    --------
    My Scripts for Lightwave
    Intel Core i7 960 @3.20 Ghz, 24 GB ram, EVGA 6GB GTX980Ti "Classified" driving 2 x HP LA2405.

  2. #2

    hi, might be more uses, smacked up a video >

    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  3. #3

    p.s. to do something similar in layout node editor >

    - open Node editor, go to Layers, choose Color Layer.

    there are also other ways of course / other node setups.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  4. #4
    Super Member Kryslin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Prescott, IA
    Posts
    1,590
    Thank you. So, in effect, an AO map is imply a precomputed Ambient Occluslon, and can be applied in any of the usual manners for a variety of effects, like dirt and grunge, etc.

    I thought there was some special use for surfacing or something.
    --------
    My Scripts for Lightwave
    Intel Core i7 960 @3.20 Ghz, 24 GB ram, EVGA 6GB GTX980Ti "Classified" driving 2 x HP LA2405.

  5. #5
    Curmudgeon in Training Ma3rk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Near Beaverton, OR
    Posts
    1,785
    Quote Originally Posted by erikals View Post
    hi, might be more uses, smacked up a video >

    Have a question for you erikals. When you upload a vid to Youtube, what format are you sending them?

    It seems of late that YT is converting everything to MKV. I've yet to find a player that will play these now if the vid is saved, nor have a successful download & convert. MakeMKV won't recognize them as valid either.

    Just curious if others are having these issues.

    Here's a bit of the header MediaInfo sees:

    Video
    ID : 1
    Format : AVC
    Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
    Format profile : [email protected]
    Format settings : CABAC / 1 Ref Frames
    Format settings, CABAC : Yes
    Format settings, Reference frames : 1 frame
    Codec ID : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
    Width : 1 280 pixels
    Height : 720 pixels
    Display aspect ratio : 16:9
    Frame rate mode : Constant
    Color space : YUV
    Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
    Bit depth : 8 bits
    Scan type : Progressive
    Title : ISO Media file produced by Google Inc. Created on: 03/22020.
    Default : Yes
    Forced : No
    Color range : Limited
    Color primaries : BT.709
    Transfer characteristics : BT.709
    Matrix coefficients : BT.709
    "Never be a cat in a cartoon. Never." Chief Wiggum

    The Big Apexx System:
    AMD RYZEN THREADRIPPER 2990WX Processor (3.00GHz)
    64GB DDR4-2666
    2x NVIDIA Quadro RTX 4000 8GB 32 Core (64 cores avail)

  6. #6

    When you upload a vid to Youtube, what format are you sending them?
    Hi, strange, just regular .mp4 from OBS Studio (open source)
    Stream 0
    Codec H264 - MPEG4 AVC (part 10) (avc1)
    Type: Video
    Video resolution: 1920x1080
    Suffer dimensions: 1920x1090
    Frame rate: 20
    Decoded format: Planar 4:20 YUV
    Orientation: Top left
    Chroma location: Left
    Stream 1
    Codec MPEG AAC Audio (mp4a)
    Type: Audio
    Channels: Stereo
    Sample rate: 44100 Hz
    Bits per sample: 32


    Thank you. So, in effect, an AO map is imply a precomputed Ambient Occluslon, and can be applied in any of the usual manners for a variety of effects, like dirt and grunge, etc.

    I thought there was some special use for surfacing or something.
    yep, spot on.   it is often also used as Fake Global illumination. (or a layer on top of a Gi render, to make shadow areas more prominent.)
    there is also SSAO (real time screen space ambient occlusion) that is used for games.



    and once in a blue moon, the artist will put a color to the AO layer, making the "shadow" areas colored.



    also see >

    Last edited by erikals; 03-29-2020 at 12:33 PM.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  7. #7
    Curmudgeon in Training Ma3rk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Near Beaverton, OR
    Posts
    1,785
    Quote Originally Posted by erikals View Post


    Hi, strange, just regular .mp4 from OBS Studio (open source)
    Stream 0
    Codec H264 - MPEG4 AVC (part 10) (avc1)
    Type: Video
    Video resolution: 1920x1080
    Suffer dimensions: 1920x1090
    Frame rate: 20
    Decoded format: Planar 4:20 YUV
    Orientation: Top left
    Chroma location: Left
    Stream 1
    Codec MPEG AAC Audio (mp4a)
    Type: Audio
    Channels: Stereo
    Sample rate: 44100 Hz
    Bits per sample: 32
    So looks like YT is re-encoding & using a new codec.

    Ya, OBS is what I have to use in order to record & save off anything now days.

    OK, thanks. Just wondering.
    "Never be a cat in a cartoon. Never." Chief Wiggum

    The Big Apexx System:
    AMD RYZEN THREADRIPPER 2990WX Processor (3.00GHz)
    64GB DDR4-2666
    2x NVIDIA Quadro RTX 4000 8GB 32 Core (64 cores avail)

  8. #8

    Yes, it does seems like YouTube always re-code videos.

    i usually use this for Firefox to do the downloads.
    https://www.yourvideofile.org
    since many videos disappear from YouTube after some years.
    mostly due to the user deleting the channel or video.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  9. #9
    Super Member Kryslin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Prescott, IA
    Posts
    1,590
    I believe Media Player Classic and VLC will both play MKV files. Both are free Open Source players.
    --------
    My Scripts for Lightwave
    Intel Core i7 960 @3.20 Ghz, 24 GB ram, EVGA 6GB GTX980Ti "Classified" driving 2 x HP LA2405.

  10. #10
    Curmudgeon in Training Ma3rk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Near Beaverton, OR
    Posts
    1,785
    Quote Originally Posted by Kryslin View Post
    I believe Media Player Classic and VLC will both play MKV files. Both are free Open Source players.
    Tried both + a couple converters. Nada. So unless I'm missing a codec ...
    "Never be a cat in a cartoon. Never." Chief Wiggum

    The Big Apexx System:
    AMD RYZEN THREADRIPPER 2990WX Processor (3.00GHz)
    64GB DDR4-2666
    2x NVIDIA Quadro RTX 4000 8GB 32 Core (64 cores avail)

  11. #11
    Curmudgeon in Training Ma3rk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Near Beaverton, OR
    Posts
    1,785
    Quote Originally Posted by erikals View Post
    Yes, it does seems like YouTube always re-code videos.

    i usually use this for Firefox to do the downloads.
    https://www.yourvideofile.org
    since many videos disappear from YouTube after some years.
    mostly due to the user deleting the channel or video.
    Will give it a try.
    "Never be a cat in a cartoon. Never." Chief Wiggum

    The Big Apexx System:
    AMD RYZEN THREADRIPPER 2990WX Processor (3.00GHz)
    64GB DDR4-2666
    2x NVIDIA Quadro RTX 4000 8GB 32 Core (64 cores avail)

  12. #12
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    16,751
    Quote Originally Posted by erikals View Post
    Yes, it does seems like YouTube always re-code videos.

    i usually use this for Firefox to do the downloads.
    https://www.yourvideofile.org
    since many videos disappear from YouTube after some years.
    mostly due to the user deleting the channel or video.
    if you use jdownloader..you can stand on
    the adress for all videos in the channel..copy the adress..and it will add all videos from that youtube cannels..you then select all of them with shift mouse mark..and right click and set download folder.
    then start download and all videos will start to download...so you do not need to download each video manually.

    it can also retrieve the highest resolution uploaded...even though youtube presents a lower version.

    so thats how you can rip a whole site..channel...without going through each and one of them all, but you need HD space

  13. #13
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    16,751
    And for a single video, I can just hover with the mouse over the video, right click and copy videoadress, jdownloader will add it to the download list, and from there I will have all files accompanied, as can be seen..erikals vid shows as mkv when trying to download from a firefox addon, but with jdownloader it will most often be mp4.




    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	jdownloader.jpg 
Views:	93 
Size:	84.0 KB 
ID:	147173


    And vlc usually manage to play MKV formats, itīs possible that the free davinci resolve can handle that as well.

  14. #14

    @Ma3rk

    the strange thing is that you cannot make VLC play the .mkv file, it should play fine.
    maybe something goes wrong with the video download process.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  15. #15
    Founding member raymondtrace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,106
    MKV is just a container format for other media, just like AVI, and it can hold media of various codecs. No player is guaranteed to play all MKV files. The player must support the codecs within.

    It is unlikely that YouTube is using MKV. MKV is a product of whatever tool you use to pull down YouTube's content. Use something else to download the video if you're not getting what you expect...or at least update whatever tool you use. YouTube frequently tweaks their delivery method and these unauthorized video download tools need to keep up.

    I use "Video Download Helper" for Firefox browser and "4K video downloader" as a standalone option.
    LW4, 7.5D, 2015, 2018, 2019, 2020 running portably on a USB drive on an Amiga 2500 running Wine.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •