Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Capturing TC-1 workspace

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    34

    Capturing TC-1 workspace

    Has anyone tried to capture the actual Tricaster workspace for training purposes ? Im trying to create a tutorial of what I do within the tricaster interface. I open scan converter in Windows. But when I start a session it seems to close what's running in the background (which makes sense). How do I run a scan converter on my TC1, so that I can capture what I am doing in a session? Does that make sense? Thanks for the help.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Carrollton, Ga
    Posts
    421
    Simple way is to just run your UI cable in to an HDMI converter and then get that in to an input (physical or NDI) in to your switcher or recording device. You can then chose that as a source or record that in Studio Monitor.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    34
    I should know what that is -- but what are you referring to as UI? That is a good solution if I hear you right. So send an HDMI cable to a birddog encoder? I will try that and see what happens.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Carrollton, Ga
    Posts
    421
    Quote Originally Posted by hockettmatt View Post
    I should know what that is -- but what are you referring to as UI? That is a good solution if I hear you right. So send an HDMI cable to a birddog encoder? I will try that and see what happens.
    UI=User Interface
    Yes, I have a birddog mini and can just run one of the splitter outputs in to that. Then it becomes an NDI source and you can do a number of this with it. Remember you can also assign it as an output and configure a separate audio channel if you need that.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Winter Park
    Posts
    497
    Quote Originally Posted by hockettmatt View Post
    Has anyone tried to capture the actual Tricaster workspace for training purposes ? Im trying to create a tutorial of what I do within the tricaster interface. I open scan converter in Windows. But when I start a session it seems to close what's running in the background (which makes sense). How do I run a scan converter on my TC1, so that I can capture what I am doing in a session? Does that make sense? Thanks for the help.
    I use a MD-HX (sub $300 and worth every penny) to take the HDMI port out of my tricaster for the interface, pass it to my monitor and then loop back via SDI to one of my inputs which I set to record. I can then leave that on the MV or take it off if need be. The result works out well. I used that setup to record one of my replay workflows.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1OsMvg41DNI

    I think I got the highest quality recording from the SDI output of the Decimator when it comes to handling all the text on screen. ( I have a external SDI recorder) The example was recording internal on the Tricaster.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Carrollton, Ga
    Posts
    421
    What a tutorial. You obviously are a really experienced Tricaster TD to setup all those macros in the way that you did. I used to run replay off my TC Mini but even just using two angles it would slow or crash my machine. I eventually bought a dedicated replay machine. Thanks for sharing that video though. I have seen a few Replay tutorials but not one near the level of this.

    As for capturing the UI screen, I think the newer MD-LX might be able to do this and only cost $100. Looks to have and HDMI In, HDMI out, and SDI out assuming they can be used at the same time.
    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...8aAqqEEALw_wcB

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Winter Park
    Posts
    497
    Thank you for the kind words. My TC1 also had some trouble at times with doing 4 streams of replay but usually kept up. Eventually the spinning drives did slow down too much to do that consistently so I switched them all out for SSDs.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	tc1-ssds.jpg 
Views:	29 
Size:	680.0 KB 
ID:	147172

    I have done several streams with the 7-1 NDI recording. You are also correct that the Decimator you listed will take HDMI to SDI. The difference with that version and mine is that this one is just HDMI to SDI etc no scaling. I use my Decimators to grab laptops on gigs as well and hook into projectors. Being able to specify the desired output has saved me numerous times so the cost was well worth. I have 3 of them in my Kit on any job.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Carrollton, Ga
    Posts
    421
    Thanks for that pic. Obviously a risk if still under warranty to switch over but I could imagine the SSD work a lot better. I am hoping Newtek will rethink the current 3 Play system and make the move to a SSD based system in the future. Also add in some expanded replay features we see in other windows based replay machines. Maybe the ability to share files/clips would be cool.

    Glad that cheaper model will work assuming you dont need scaling. I am so used now to converting things to NDI that I forget about scaling. Very nice work!

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Winter Park
    Posts
    497
    Quote Originally Posted by Radio_TVPat1982 View Post
    Thanks for that pic. Obviously a risk if still under warranty to switch over but I could imagine the SSD work a lot better. I am hoping Newtek will rethink the current 3 Play system and make the move to a SSD based system in the future. Also add in some expanded replay features we see in other windows based replay machines. Maybe the ability to share files/clips would be cool.

    Glad that cheaper model will work assuming you dont need scaling. I am so used now to converting things to NDI that I forget about scaling. Very nice work!
    Yeah My system is out of warranty from the 1 year mark regardless but SSDs (assuming supported with proper TRIM etc on mobo) would usually perform much better than any spinning drives and survive better too for systems that are not in a stationary rack. The current generation of SSDs also can perform a huge amount of writes/re-writes etc I calculated the "expected" and warranty time to failure in terms of hours of recorded video and sadly my TC1 is not in use often enough to where I was worried about that within a few years. Either way any important footage is duplicated after the fact and recorded during the event to camera memory as well.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    258
    Hi STP,

    I looked at your YT video, your replay workflow is nice. I appreciated the selection by tag to move to another DDR bank , this gives some ideas... I'll go through the commands dictionnary to find which one it is.

    You don't have request to get a video file at end of the show with every specific action ? I guess there is no other way than recording your highlight playlist in realtime, trim and export the result to any video file format....

    Thanks for sharing !

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Winter Park
    Posts
    497
    If you mean the team asking for all goals or all saves I do get them sometimes. In that case I have two options. If they just want a melt with transitions then yes, I can set that up, play it back and record in real time. If they are OK just getting the clips then I use the export feature which I can do in the same quality if they can handle the NDI formatted files (i have helped most install the plugins for Premiere). If its for a random team I export at a high quality h264 file which they take. This is faster than playing out all the clips.

  12. #12
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NewTek
    Posts
    1,725
    The easiest way to capture the UI of a TriCaster is using NDI KVM which is available with Premium access.
    Zane Condren
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Winter Park
    Posts
    497
    Quote Originally Posted by Zane Condren View Post
    The easiest way to capture the UI of a TriCaster is using NDI KVM which is available with Premium access.
    Yeah that makes sense if you can make use of the other features to pay the $199 a month. If not an HDMI to SDI device can run you half or less as a one time fee and you are good to go!

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    258
    You're right, that was just a kind of business-related post, but not that constructive.

    Newtek staff might consider releasing NDI KVM on tricaster for free, as it's a feature already available for free on NC IO and scan converter ...
    Don't understand why you should for using it on a tricaster , for which you already had to spend a lot of money.

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Carrollton, Ga
    Posts
    421
    Quote Originally Posted by Zane Condren View Post
    The easiest way to capture the UI of a TriCaster is using NDI KVM which is available with Premium access.
    Right, pay a monthly fee to do this or just buy an external device one time for half the price of one month's service.

    I would be more in favor or premium access if you could independently buy just one service at a time.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •