Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: open cell foam?

  1. #1
    Registered User Captain Chaos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    153

    open cell foam?

    I have a client whose product is an open cell foam similar to a dish sponge. They want something where the camera can actually go inside of the cells. Anyone here tried to model something like this?

  2. #2
    pass:sword OFF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    1,080
    The easiest way (except for specific programs) is to use the VDB Evaluator tool.
    Example scene attached.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_1.png 
Views:	143 
Size:	366.8 KB 
ID:	146999

    Sponge.rar

  3. #3

    They want something where the camera can actually go inside of the cells
    HyperVoxels
    https://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php/59693


    But this is a tricky one, it will not look perfect.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  4. #4

    my tweak...
    credit... :  [RedOddity]

    Attached Files Attached Files
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  5. #5

    another idea could be cloning an extremely detailed closeup and using instancing.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  6. #6
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    16,751
    You could probably even use the new primiteive type shape, with infinite detail and using textures on that.

    But the problem with that..And hypervoxels.. is that you would risc having blobs textures disconnected from the item, sort of floating in the air..if not set up with gradients etc.

    And there would also be an issue with the main shape which for hyper voxels would be very limited, the new primitive shape has sphere, cube, cylinder, torus, cone, plane and empty volume for scripting your own shapes I think.

    I would probably look in to vdb as mentioned.
    A tricky part may be to get the desired pattern/texture..and not just any fancy texture.

  7. #7
    Registered User Captain Chaos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    153
    Quote Originally Posted by OFF View Post
    The easiest way (except for specific programs) is to use the VDB Evaluator tool.
    Example scene attached.
    I tried this and got a couple of errors. Are these things I should already have? Buying them isn't a problem if necessary.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2020-03-05 at 10.29.56 AM.png 
Views:	31 
Size:	16.6 KB 
ID:	147011
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2020-03-05 at 10.30.53 AM.png 
Views:	26 
Size:	19.2 KB 
ID:	147012

  8. #8
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    16,751
    Quote Originally Posted by Captain Chaos View Post
    I tried this and got a couple of errors. Are these things I should already have? Buying them isn't a problem if necessary.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2020-03-05 at 10.29.56 AM.png 
Views:	31 
Size:	16.6 KB 
ID:	147011
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2020-03-05 at 10.30.53 AM.png 
Views:	26 
Size:	19.2 KB 
ID:	147012
    No..assuming you are using the full 2019 versions, vdb evaluator, and mesh to vdb etc is part of it all natively, no need to buy plugins.
    I suspect you tried loading another ones scene that may have additional plugin, or you have simply tried to set it up the wrong way.

    Edit..just downloaded that sample scene, in 2019.1.1 and it works here without error.
    Mac?
    or earlier lightwave version?

  9. #9
    Registered User Captain Chaos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    153
    Quote Originally Posted by prometheus View Post
    No..assuming you are using the full 2019 versions, vdb evaluator, and mesh to vdb etc is part of it all natively, no need to buy plugins.
    I suspect you tried loading another ones scene that may have additional plugin, or you have simply tried to set it up the wrong way.

    Edit..just downloaded that sample scene, in 2019.1.1 and it works here without error.
    Mac?
    or earlier lightwave version?
    I'm on a Mac

  10. #10
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    16,751
    Quote Originally Posted by Captain Chaos View Post
    I'm on a Mac
    Just guessing that is the issue unfortunately, but you would need responses from the Lightwave team or other Mac users.
    Turn to the support.

  11. #11
    Electron wrangler jwiede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    6,897
    Quote Originally Posted by prometheus View Post
    Edit..just downloaded that sample scene, in 2019.1.1 and it works here without error.
    Mac?
    or earlier lightwave version?
    Just tested here with LW2019.1.5 Mac (on OSX 10.13.6) and it loaded without errors.

    Cpt. Chaos, what version of LW are you using? You have to be on a LW2019 version release for that scene.
    Last edited by jwiede; 03-06-2020 at 07:16 PM.
    John W.
    LW2015.3UB/2019.1.5 on MacPro(12C/24T/10.13.6),64GB RAM, NV 980ti

  12. #12

    actually, camera flying through Foam has some of the same challenges as camera flying through a Nebula.

    ~unlimited resolution is needed.

    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    1,855
    As prometheus mentioned, you might be able to use a Textured displacement in a Shape-type Null to get adequate results:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Final_Render_000.jpg 
Views:	36 
Size:	135.7 KB 
ID:	147018 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Final_Render_060.jpg 
Views:	46 
Size:	229.1 KB 
ID:	147019

    MOV file: ShapeNull_OpenCellFoam_1.mov

    The problem as erikals said is that as the Camera gets closer, the resolution of the Texture needs to go up causing the render times to go WAY up. On the Shape-type Null, the texture resolution is controlled with the Accuracy. With the above example, it was set to 0.05 and on my old, clunky rendering system the final frames were taking about 27 minutes apiece, and rendering a later frame at 0.01 Accuracy would be over an hour:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	OpenCellFoam_CameraGettingCloser.jpg 
Views:	35 
Size:	1.60 MB 
ID:	147021

    I've attached the sample scene to play with if you want. Here's the basic setup:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ShapeNull_OpenCellFoam_Setup.jpg 
Views:	30 
Size:	1.10 MB 
ID:	147023

    mTp
    Attached Files Attached Files

  14. #14

    Looks good.

    Darn Heavy Rendertimes!   
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  15. #15
    RETROGRADER prometheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    sweden stockholm
    Posts
    16,751
    Quote Originally Posted by erikals View Post
    Looks good.

    Darn Heavy Rendertimes!   
    That is the issue with that new feature, and also for a sponge, the structure doesnīt fload freely in air disconnected from the main sponge, that is a problem when using textures like this, you would need to adress that with some gradient or function to clamp it so it disintergrate properly further away from the main sponge.

    Would have loved this feature if it was a bit faster to render, and also...completly horrible in interface, you should be able to set it up and access a displacement texture from the item shape directly, which brings you to the surface editor and that nodal displacement texture needed, not jump in to the surface editor after you add this.

    So that is also a question of making the workflow easier with the new features, I bet there has been a lof ot folks trying it out, just to discover..aha, and where is the texture, or aha...and itīs darn slow.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •