Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Final Cut Pro X & 1080p 30 Video Exports - Audio Drops on Output Files

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    20

    Final Cut Pro X & 1080p 30 Video Exports - Audio Drops on Output Files

    I can't imagine I am the only person with this issue but tech support appears stumped.

    I am running with a Tricaster Mini (HDMI) with the latest version of AE3. I shoot at 1080p 30. In the past I would simply grab the raw recording files off the Tricaster and bring them into Final Cut Pro. Since the latest AE3 update the codec used isn't compatible with FCP so I am now having to export all of my clips to ProRes first. My workflow is that I record a segment, drop it into DDR2 for review, select the files at the conclusion of the shoot and export to an attached SSD or my NAS drive as ProRes 422.

    Files playback fine in the Quicktime player on the Mac, no issues. When working with the files in FCP, however, many (though not all) of the files will have the last 1-2 seconds of audio drop out. If I zoom the timeline in and out a few times they'll playback fine. Sometimes exiting and re-entering FCP will fix the issue for one file but create a new problem on another. This is on multiple macs and even occurs with proxy files my editor works with remotely. Exported files from Final Cut playback just fine. I have tried other codecs and get the same result.

    Anyone else experiencing this or something similar? This was an issue with earlier versions of AE3 but I opted to just work with the raw recordings which I can no longer too. It's creating a real problem for my workflow here.

  2. #2
    Registered User Stream's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    543
    See if anything in this thread helps

    https://forums.newtek.com/showthread...300-SHQ2-Codec
    Tricaster 460 Advanced Edition 2, Tricaster 40 V1
    2 Sony PXW-X70 Cameras, 2 Panasonic AG-HMC40P Cameras
    VSE 2.5 - VSE Advanced Edition, A bunch of Doo-Dads and cables

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    20
    Unfortunately nothing in that thread is relevant to my issue. The codec pack is no longer needed because the Mac doesn't support Newtek's default codec any longer.. Exports to ProRes and Final Cut have been broken (for me at least) since AE3's release and I can't seem to get anyone at Newtek to rectify the issue. There's something wrong with how the Tricaster is closing files when exporting that is throwing off Final Cut Pro. Yesterday the issue got even worse as now my final exports are being impacted.

    I was about to upgrade to the new 4k Mini but am now holding off as I can't justify the expenditure given this problem.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    319
    IIRC, the "default codec" for the TC is an XDCam variant. Maybe someone from NT will jump in here. I would try a system restore next. Hassle, but it will solve 99.9% of the bugs like this

  5. #5
    The default codec depends on the version of TriCaster you are using.

    For TriCaster Rev 2 thru Rev 7-0 systems, the default codec is the MOV/XDCAM variant.

    Starting with TriCaster Rev 7-1, it has changed to the native NDI (MOV/SpeedHQ) recording system that supports growing files and uses almost no CPU in the process. However, since the codec is different, it has also changed the compatibility with applications. For the Adobe Premiere and After Effects, NewTek has written a plug-in to make these applications read the new format and it adds growing file support in Premiere.

    In testing, I have found that using the TriCaster export tool to create MXF media works correctly in FCP-X. ProRes mostly works, but you do get some frames of audio cut off the ends of the clips in FCP-X, I'm not sure why. These exact same ProRes exports will work in Premiere or any other application with no issues what so ever, it not that the audio isn't contained in the clips, but that FCP-X doesn't like some aspect of them.

    NewTek NDI Recording Formats.pdf
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    8
    I have the same issue. An engineer looked at this and said NewTek has some proprietary tweaks to the QT files so they're not 100 percent Apple standard. He suggested I download the latest NewTek codecs. I did, and nothing on any of our Macs can open the new QT files our Tricaster makes. Not cool, man. A .mov file should be a .mov file and not need plugins to recognize and read it. So there's all this extra time we waste just to edit on a Mac.

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by BBalser View Post
    I have the same issue. An engineer looked at this and said NewTek has some proprietary tweaks to the QT files so they're not 100 percent Apple standard. He suggested I download the latest NewTek codecs. I did, and nothing on any of our Macs can open the new QT files our Tricaster makes. Not cool, man. A .mov file should be a .mov file and not need plugins to recognize and read it. So there's all this extra time we waste just to edit on a Mac.
    The NewTek codec pack helps with applications that use the older 32-bit QuickTime library system, but that has all been depcated and replaced with Apple's AV Foundatation media playbak system. AV Foundataion doesn't support plug-ins and OSX Catalina has done away with 32-bit application support, so you can't even use the old QuickTime library system even if you wanted to on the most current Mac systems.

    I'm not aware of anything special about the native NDI MOV files, there is a sidecar .NDI file to include the additoinal information so that the .MOV is standard to keep it from being 'non-standard'. I've not had ANY program have issues opening the MOV, just not all support the codec inside the file. Being able to use custom codecs isn't anything new in QuickTime files, just that Apple no longer allows anyone to install new ones.
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    8
    I have installed the NewTek codecs, and can't open any .mov file created by our Tricaster. No app will open them on any of our Macs.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2020-04-28 at 1.45.42 PM.png 
Views:	5 
Size:	90.5 KB 
ID:	147507

  9. #9
    The NewTek QuickTime codecs are for applications that use the QuickTime Framework (which are all 32-bit). QuickTime X (which you are using above) uses AV Foundation, not the older QuickTime Framework and doesn't support 3rd party codecs. Instead use a non-QuickTime based application like VLC Player which will open the files. I tested many applications and there are some on OSX that will open the files. NewTek NDI Recording Formats.pdf

    You can also install QuickTime Player 7 which will use the codec, but that doesn't change other applications (but it will use the NewTek codecs). Also, QuickTime Player 7 is 32-bit and will not run on OSX Catalina.

    Beyond that, Apple has also removed the ability to convert these files on OSX Catalina using QuickTime. https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202884

    To make playback media use the TriCaster export tool or a 3rd party solution like FFWorks to convert these files on OSX.
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    8
    But why not use the current version of AV/Foundation for .mov files rather than EOL'ed formats? I don't understand the logic. Why not use a codec both understand like other vendors do?

  11. #11
    The new recording system uses NDI compression stored in a MOV file. This allows for much lower CPU processing as the hard part (the encoding) occurs in the cameras or other sources devices. In previous versions of software, TriCaster was converting to a XDCAM style codec, but this introduces limits in how many channels can be recorded and compression artifacts because of codec conversions. Other codecs like ProRes use a lot more CPU and would serverly limit how many channels of recording can be performed.

    Don't get me wrong. I understand not wanting to convert media into other formats. It will be impossible to support everything and there will always be requests about compatbility with some application. As of today, there appears to be pretty good compatibility with native NDI recording on the Windows applications that most broadcast people use, with some support on OSX. Hopefully this will expand over time. Adobe is probably the most used platform and the NDI plug-in that adds growning file support into that workflow.

    Something else I'd recommend is put in a request to the maker of the NLE for support. I was able to do that with Lightworks. I contacted the developers, sent them some sample recordings and the next version had NDI MOV support, on both Mac and Windows (probably on Linux too).
    Last edited by kanep; 04-30-2020 at 04:28 PM.
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •