Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: TC1 loose NDI

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Porto
    Posts
    4

    TC1 loose NDI

    Hi,

    We are having some inconstant faults with NDI signal in Tricaster TC1 and I'm looking for some explanations that can help us solve the problem.

    We combine SDI inputs with NDI in TC1 using Birddogs Studio NDI to send signal from cameras or other sources. Last time, we had 3 cameras inputs via NDI, 2 external feeds also via NDI and 2 SDI inputs (one from a Teradek base and another from a Hollyland receiver). I think it's important to know that the 2 NDI inputs with the video feeds were at about 30 meters distance and crossed lots of cables from TV's and radio's.

    Everything was instaled and worked fine for 2 hours before the event started. In the exact moment the vent started one of the NDI inputs with video feed freezed and the others remained working with a very poor quality. The birddogs weren't recognized by the TC1 even if some were still working. After several atempts the NDI signal from the 3 cameras went up and only one of the NDI video feeds worked.

    Next day the problem was similar and we had to try to reboot the all system several times befere it worked. TC1 didn't contact de birddogs but the video from the cameras worked but the audio doesn't. The video feeds keeped freezing and had also a problem with the audio.

    On the third day we replaced the video feeds with SDI cables and managed to ketp working the cameras via NDI. Had to reboot one or two times the system...

    Anyone have experience with NDI connections that can help identify this problem? It's not the first time we experience such problems using NDI and most of the time they are inconstant and we can't find a common behavior...

    Thanks

  2. #2
    What is your networking configuration? NDI issues are almost always in the network setup which is there is no explanation of.
    Kane Peterson
    Solutions Architect
    NewTek, Inc.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Porto
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by kanep View Post
    What is your networking configuration? NDI issues are almost always in the network setup which is there is no explanation of.
    We use fixed ip address's in a local network on the same segment without routing.

    Is there any possibility of an electromagnetic interference messing with the NDI signal? The only pattern we could find was that the problem happens when everybody was on their busiest moment...

  4. #4
    Registered User Stream's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Did you have both Ethernet ports plugged in?
    Tricaster 460 Advanced Edition 2, Tricaster 40 V1
    2 Sony PXW-X70 Cameras, 2 Panasonic AG-HMC40P Cameras
    VSE 2.5 - VSE Advanced Edition, A bunch of Doo-Dads and cables

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Porto
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Stream View Post
    Did you have both Ethernet ports plugged in?
    Only one of the TC1 ethernet ports are plugged, connected to a switch.

  6. #6
    Registered User Stream's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Try plugging in both.
    When we were doing a big gaming event, maxing out sdi and ndi inputs on a TC1, we had some issues. Afterwards our Newtek rep said that having both ethernet ports plugged in would have helped.
    Give it a try, who knows.
    Tricaster 460 Advanced Edition 2, Tricaster 40 V1
    2 Sony PXW-X70 Cameras, 2 Panasonic AG-HMC40P Cameras
    VSE 2.5 - VSE Advanced Edition, A bunch of Doo-Dads and cables

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Porto
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Stream View Post
    Try plugging in both.
    When we were doing a big gaming event, maxing out sdi and ndi inputs on a TC1, we had some issues. Afterwards our Newtek rep said that having both ethernet ports plugged in would have helped.
    Give it a try, who knows.
    I'll try! Thanks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •